We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“well equipped, comfortable and lovely pool”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Descartes, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

horacesmu...
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“well equipped, comfortable and lovely pool”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very helpful owners made booking this site an easy and stress free experience. The site fulfilled our need for a downstairs bathroom, shower and bedroom for my disabled mum.Three extra bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs catered for the rest of the family. It was very warm whilst we were there but the 1st floor could be cooled by air conditioning units before bedtime and velux windows had blinds to keep out hot daytime sun.
The garden was private and peaceful and equipped with a large gazebo and garden table for eating outdoors which we did most evenings, making use of the charcoal barbeque.
The pool shared with the smaller gite was a pleasant temperature, very clean and provided with loungers and inflatable toys.
The kitchen had everything imaginable you could wish for and the open plan living area has a large table for meals - excellent for a large group.
There is a very good market in Descartes ( five minutes drive) on a Sunday morning and a decent sized supermarket. The family enjoyed a visit to the outdoor pool there, also kayaking and a very long, very expensive day at Futuroscope. For dining, we chose to stay in the garden as it was very hot although we did have decent pizzas one night from a takeaway in Descartes. A very restful week before returning to the UK to move house!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely garden and pool
Liked least: Room with four beds meant child sharing with parents but we knew that when we booked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathiLock
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything a family could want from a holiday home!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Unfortunately the weather wasn't as nice as we had hoped ....... we would have been perfectly happy in and around the gite every day; enjoying the gardens and pool. There wasn't a thing we needed which wasn't provided..... very thoughtful of the owners. The rooms themselves were much larger than appeared on the website..... a lovely place for an extended family to stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: wi-fi problems on last 2 days..... not in control of owners I believe
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan P
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing spot for a large group”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A total of 10 of us stayed for one week. We were there with 3 generations of the family, including 4 children under the age of 12. Our stay was outstanding. The property is spotless. Lots of room for everybody. A beautiful backyard to lounge in. The pool was a highlight for sure. This is one of those rare cases where the photos and information about the place were bang on. If anything, they don't do it justice.

We used the gite as our base for day trips. It was so nice to return to such a great place to relax at the end of the day. The owners were always nearby to help if needed but were never hovering and respected our privacy. Staying at such a great place contributed greatly to such an awesome holiday.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and pool.
Liked least: We only stayed for a week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sue and Trev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tigers200...
Umina Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, excellent accommodation, lovely hosts”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our extended family of 10 adults stayed at the farmhouse for 1 week to celebrate the wife's 60th birthday. A better location/accommodation we could not ask for and Trev and Sue were such wonderful hosts to go with it! The farmhouse has been beautifully restored and is very spacious inside which was important for us with 10 adults. The 2 bathrooms and additional toilet in laundry easily accommodated us and the kitchen/dining area was again excellent in both seating and space needs. The kitchen also covered all our cooking requirements which were aplenty for our group. Bedrooms, like other areas, were excellent and the configurations easily met our needs.
Outside area is also set up for both lazing around on deck lounges or eating under a lovely covered area. Whilst we didn't utilise the pool, it was definitely meticulous in presentation and perfect for visitors in the warmer months.
The farmhouse is located very close to the town of Descartes and yet is in the heart of the very tranquil countryside with its farms and vineyards. A great location no matter what your needs. Descartes also provides comfortable driving access to various famous chateaus in the Loire Valley as well as some lovely villages.
Finally the hosts.....Trev and Sue were such wonderful,friendly hosts! They were always there when you needed advice or directions or ideas about what to do and where to go-thanks to their warm and caring attitude we experienced some adventures that we would never have otherwise known about. They take great pride and work hard to keep the farmhouse in the lovely manner that it is and this together with their helpful and caring ways has given our family a special memory that will be with us forever.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review.
It reminds us that all our hard work and effort over the years has been worth it. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and hopefully we'll see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.