We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Experience of a lifetime - not to be missed!”
La Colle: A Special Place for Special People
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Colle: A Special Place for Special People
Pool overlooking the valley A Real country kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
La Colle: A Special Place for Special People
Pool overlooking the valley
A Real country kitchen
Discover the 60m2 Provencial natural stone Vout
Great skill taken in restoring the old
In a totally natural landscape
Comfort however is still important - The Master Bedroom
Second bedroom: Double or two singles yet very comfortable
A Guests' Eye View of La Colle made while staying on Holiday.
A very Spacious bathroom
Third bedroom which can also have the 6th Bed space.
A place where you can ' Al feshcoe dine'
Watch amazing sunrises
Wonder through fantastic towns
See the famous Provence
Discover the wild Provence
Morning views
and relax o max
Or discover Provence
A photographers paradise
Where nature rules
In all its' forms
Throughout the seasons
Are you ready to take a 10 minute ride?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Forcalquier, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lvalcourt
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime - not to be missed!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As I sit here by the pool, sipping rosé, I am trying to come up with words to adequately describe our experience here at La Colle en Provence for the last four months.
There are so many things to say! Where to begin? At the beginning, I guess.
We arrived here at the beginning of March for a four month stay. This long term rental is new to Rod, the owner, so we were the first of hopefully many.
We were (somewhat) adequately prepared for the distance on a farm track from the nearest town, so we stocked up on groceries. We were highly rewarded for the drive up by the amazing views. Rod was gracious and welcoming and let us know he was here for us, but would also respect our privacy. We spent three days recovering from the jet lag of a 24 hour journey from Canada here to La Colle.
Upon arrival, I thought I wouldn't be able to do the drive on the track every day, but I did indeed get used to it as we travelled it a few times a day. Because of the trek up here, you get to experience the country side without hordes of people also enjoying it and it feels quite "exclusive". There is no noise here from traffic and words and pictures cannot capture the views of the Alps to the northeast, the rolling hills, the farmhouses in the valley below and the nearby town of Lurs perched on a neighbouring hill.
First on our list of things to do was to register our children in school. Rod was so helpful and patient with the process - even going down to the town hall for us to help straighten things out. This was above and beyond the call of duty and we couldn't have faced and dealt with the bureaucracy without his help.
Four months later, Rod and his two lovely neighbours have become our friends and we have so many great memories!
We have travelled to nearby (and far away) places from here and have come to the conclusion, somewhat belatedly that we really needn't have left the surrounding area of the department of Forcalquier. There is everything one needs here - old monasteries, roman bridges, bories, winding roads, a first class market and magnificent views, to mention a few.
After an amazing 10 day trip to Morocco, we couldn't wait to get "home" - I think this says it all. Our children have built forts here, raised tadpoles, picked cherries and enjoyed math instruction from the neighbour, Bob. All authentic experiences that they won't ever forget.
It is with great regret that we leave this haven of solitude and beauty. Hopefully, we continue to return here in the years to come....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2013
It is so nice to have you stay and live in the house the way it was meant to be. A real family home. Seeing you explore and learn about the area over the past four months has been a real pleasure. The way you adapted to the vagaries of the weather this year and the surprises of country living has been fantastic. For you to be able to call The Main House your “home” says everything and justifies the years of continuous work. Thank you, and I will miss the daily football matches in the yard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P
Henderson NV
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special place in Provence!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This is a special place.
It is both beautiful and secluded.
The track to the property can be a bit challenging, but it is absolutely worth the trip. In fact it’s part of the charm of the location, because once you arrive there is no traffic.
The view across the valley is magnificent. In fact the whole surrounding country-side is gorgeous.
The local village of Forcalquier is well worth several visits, in fact the whole region deserves a few days exploration.
The “main house” (where we stayed), is charming and well appointed. The big flat screen TV is excellent and Rod has a good collection of DVD’s. The internet connection is also excellent.
The master bedroom is private and has a wonderful set of windows that look out to the valley. When you awake in the morning, you see beauty of the trees, and hear the birds. Magnificent.
We enjoyed both cooking in the kitchen and spending time in the spacious and pleasant living area.
And Rod is a great host. Interesting and well-traveled.
All in all, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and main house
Liked least: Was winter so couldn't enjoy the pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is nice to know that while you are on your one year trip around Europe that you value so highly this little gem in Provence. It was a pleasure to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, peace and quiet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Feb 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words. I am glade that you were able to relax so much after the stress of preparing the move to Canada, especially with a new little one.

Having raised my youngest here from two years old, I fully understand parents needs and many families have found this to have been an advantage to them.

I have now bought two car seats for the main family vehicle so that it will help during any transfers if the 4×4 is used. Just another little detail which could help. Wishing you the best with your new life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unspoilt countryside the views, the pool and the wildlife
Liked least: leaving it!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jan 2013
Thanks for being a guest that understands the purpose of putting a quality property in the middle of nowhere, yet is still accessible to all that Provence has to offer, from impressive cities to vast lakes.

The step through the doorway needs, as you say, just a little courage but once taken becomes a natural path. A path that can reward you with outstanding beauty plus a chance to wind down and resource. For those of us that are high performers this is especially valuable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daichef2
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Overpriced and unacceptable access issues to the property”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

It was the second time to visit this lovely part of France and the weekly market in Forcalquier is the best we've been to.
The property was excellent although overpriced In my opinion. It was also very remote.
The wasps and midges were a nuisance in and around the house and we had a freak power cut on the first day caused by a mouse on the cable!!!
My main objection was access to the house. It was only after we'd paid the full cost of the rental, days only before our departure on holiday, that the owner contacted us to say the road was unsuitable for all but 4x4 vehicles and so we would have to leave our car some 2k away and reload into an old 4x4 provided by the owner, to access the house. The road was very rough indeed and we arrived after dark.
The explanation was that a flood had swept the road away but this was not a recent occurrence, and no attempt had been made to rectify or fill the large crater-like holes in the road.
On our departure we had to leave cash to pay for the fuel for the 4x4 and a compulsory cleaning fee!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Provence and Forcalquier is a lovely part of France and highly recommended is Gorge de Verdon.
Liked least: Access and not being able to take our car to the rental property.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2012
I am sorry that you now feel this way, especially since I received such a complimentary email from your partner and a lovely note in the guest book from another member of your party.

We are not responsible for maintaining the French road system, yet we appreciate that as this is the entrance to the hamlet we try to support it. The two free 4×4s are provided to assist you, as storms tend to wash away repairs each year. The 5000€ spent this year only covered the first half of the route and yet it is still feasible and many guests have used their own cars. The 15€ /£12 charged for petrol goes directly into the tank to ensure that the next guest has sufficient for their stay.

We share the countryside with a multitude of species, each year at least two different species are prominent. We market this property as “a lost in the countryside Farmhouse in 75 acres of grounds”. I am surprised that you did not also see: deer, wild boar, a multitude of rare birds and owls who love the odd country mouse.

The cleaning fee, paid directly to the cleaners, is our way of ensuring that they do their jobs properly : so that they make the beds, put out flowers, set up the free welcome packs, chill the water and milk, put out the wine & glasses plus other items and ensure that the large number of initial starter products are available to the property.

All of the above and much more is detailed in our main European site which is linked to every main correspondence with you, prior to and during your booking, including the link on this web site. The main site also has positive quotes from many guests of the past 12 years verifiable in hand written guest books.

The price charged for the one week in the high season is directly related to the cost of 12 months needed to sustain the property. This is “very subjective”. We have had many return guests and those that wished to stay longer. The past few years of continuous “desperation sales” and “two for one” offers has created unrealistic low prises resulting in many concerns going out of business. We are sorry that our continuous efforts have not pleased you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing