We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Boathouse was a perfect little getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Front deck View from upstairs loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Front deck
View from upstairs loft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eagle Head, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bobbie O
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Boathouse was a perfect little getaway!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Boathouse was a pleasure in every way... great location right on the water, waves crashing on the rocks below. The decor was lovely seaside vernacular, with all the cottage basics (including a lobster steaming pot). Lovely!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephbee7...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Boathouse Cottage was everything and so much more than I had hoped it would be!! Delightfully quaint and perfectly decorated, this cottage proved to be exactly what was needed to unwind! The front deck, overlooking the ocean, was perfect for morning coffee with the smell of wonderful salt air and at the end of the day, enjoying a glass of wine and the beautiful sunsets.

The beach, only a one minute walk from the cottage, was so nice. Walking on the sand or wadding in the warm ocean water during low tide was certainly a highlight for me.

This cottage has to be visited to appreciate the amount love and care that Carol and John took in the building and the decorating. It was in the smallest details that I got the greatest pleasure! It truly is a hidden gem!!

Thank you John and Carol for creating a small but beautiful piece of heaven for people to enjoy, it truly was good for my soul!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g0rd63
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Boathouse Cottage is a hidden gem.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Boathouse Cottage and we both want to say how much we enjoyed it. If you want to experience the real north atlantic in a cottage by the sea, this is your place. This Nova Scotia gem is clean, cozy, and very beautiful. It is very close to the ocean with great sunsets. The beach walks were awesome and the sound of the ocean will be missed by both of us. The owners were also extremely helpful and really looked after us as well. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who loves the sea and we will be definitely be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We liked it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaDT...
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful, ocean-view, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for the weekend at the Boathouse Cottage and had a lovely stay. It is a beautiful cottage, we loved every detail the owners put in, in a beautiful location.

The cottage is just the right size for two. It provided everything we needed including a full kitchen, barbeque, wood stove, boardgames, books, cards. The weather wasn't the best but it didn't matter. You're so close to the water, you can see and hear the waves right from the living room! One night it the weather cleared and we got to see a beautiful sunset right from the front porch. We walked on the rocks and actually saw a seal. It also has an awesome loft where we sat and read our books.

I would definitely recommend this cottage. It is beautiful, clean, and has everything you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress seemed a little old but still comfy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice A
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and homey ocean-front cottage with the most incredible views and scenery!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed at The Boathouse Cottage for a much needed weekend getaway, and it could not have been more perfect! It is apparent in every last detail of the cottage itself that much thought went into the comfort and tranquillity guests would experience. Every amenity you might need for an authentic East Coast vacation is available to you. Eagle Head is quiet and picturesque, the locals are so friendly, and there are great beaches all around the area. If you love nature, majestic views, and warm hospitality, do not hesitate to book! Our only regret during our stay was that it was not a longer one. We will be sure to make our next visit last. Thank you Carol and John for such a wonderful stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing