We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 night stay on the way from Sweden to England”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carat Golf & Sporthotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gromitz
Reviewed 29 August 2014

After 5 hours drive we were quickly checked in but advised that as the resort is now upgraded we would have to pay the extra tourist tax, and that the free car park was well away from the hotel. After that everything went well including as we could see our car from our 9th floor room about 500 metres away up a hill. Room and breakfast excellent, only beaten a little bit by Dubai, and staff friendly even though we appeared to be the only native English speakers in this large hotel. We wished to play golf and on the two days the hotel arranged it at the excellent Gromitz course and we paid through the hotel bill and received 50% off the usual green fees. The town is all tourism and we had excellent dinners at three different restaurants including one run by a lady with a look and manner that resembles Rosa Krebs from James Bond. We will use it again when we drive to visit family in Sweden.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidheysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice, situated close to the beach. Breakfast is of good quality and the service was good. Little ventilation made the temperature inside our room quite high. Small indoor pool. Hotel bar with quiet atmosphere and attentive employees. German language Kids club in the morning and the evening (disco) was good for the kids. A good choice of hotel in Grömitz. NB: the hotel is expanding and the construction work could be noisy at times, but this was not a major issue.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Finn Ansgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We spent 3 days (2 adult w 1 child) in early April. The hotel will not win any architectural prizes but it hs an excellent sea view and is run with German spotless service. There is a nice pool and spa area in the basement. Great breakfast buffet. At dinner time the hotel hosts a sort of free Kindergarten (probably best for German speaking kids) to allow the parents to have a quiet meal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea gets morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterplys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Arrived at this hotel and just walked in. Met a lovely receptionist who quoted us a room rate for three people. Its a large hotel with a pool etc. Our rate included breakfast but parking was extra. Its right on the seafront. Our room was extra large and comfortable and had two beds plus a pop up one. We went of a walk on the seafront and ended up in the Boating Harbour . Lots of lovely dining available here.

Next morning, breakfast was large and excellent.

Hotel is quite near Hansa Park and is worth a visit if you have children and is not expensive. Its also very close to the ferry for Denmark. The only downside is the sea itself. Its so shallow and the sand is a type of mud . We did swim -- on our knees as we are all over 6' tall and we tehn used the swimming pool at the hotel which was very good and contained a full range of spa items -sauna and steam rooms. All spotless.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clorane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gromitz
0 km away
a-ja Gromitz. Das Resort.
0.8 km away
Hotel Strandidyll
Hotel Strandidyll
#4 of 16 in Gromitz
22 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Hof Kraehenberg
Hotel Hof Kraehenberg
#2 of 16 in Gromitz
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Restaurant Zur schonen Aussicht
0.4 km away
Hotel Ostseeresidenz Cammann
19.9 km away
Grand Hotel Seeschloesschen SPA & Golf Resort
Grand Hotel Seeschloesschen SPA ...
#3 of 31 in Timmendorfer Strand
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Golf & Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Golf & Sporthotel

Address: Strandallee 4, 23743 Gromitz, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Gromitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gromitz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gromitz
Price Range: RM 551 - RM 1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carat Golf & Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The attractive Holiday Resort/Oasis in Grömitz.Our Hotel is directly situated on a gorgeous, 8 km long, white sand beach. The refreshing Baltic Sea is only two minutes from our doorstep. The newly, Boardwalk with its many Boutiques, Cafes, Restaurants and Bars provides a continual source of interest and amusement.Our Hotel has 157 stylishly modern rooms complete with TV, radio, balcony, telephone, bathrooms with shower and hairdryer. Restaurant, Pizzeria, Conservatory, Pub, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Steam Room, HotSpot access in all areas open to the public.Wellness becomes an experience to savor. Experienced Therapists and Cosmeticians will look after your well being. Aroma Oil, Hot Chocolate, Silk Glove Massages and many other therapies are on offer for your relaxation.For a Fee: Skittles, Billiards, Solarium, Whirlpool, Internet Cafe, Tennis courts 10 Euro.Two golf courses close by 2× Green Fee 30 € - 40 €, Golf lessons with Starters/Beginners/Test courses starting at 25 Euro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carat Golf & Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel Sporthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing