We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
B&B Dieci(Arona)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
US$117
B&B.it
View Deal
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
37
75
54
32
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
75
54
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini fridgehotel is locatedrecommend this hotelexcellent stafflake maggiorerailway stationfree wifiwalking distancedated hotelbig thankscakestop floorwould stay againexcellent foodthe main roadfabioac
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2015

4 star hotel better rated at 3 star. We visited for the last new year. We were very disappointed by the quality of the room and bathroom. The furniture was laterally falling to pieces. Bathroom needed to be replaced and shower installed instead of bath, since too high. We were assured via email that hot water was available 24 hrs. Instead hot water was available for the first two nights also. Explanation was that boilers were damaged and no spare parts were available. So, we had cold showers from then on, including new year's eve. Lift was not maintained. It was not a question of if the lift broke down, but when. In fact it broke down on the 30th December and was fixed by our departure on 2nd January. Due to safety reasons service lift could not be used to carry baggages.

On the other side, service provided by the staff was excellent and it compensated a bit for the disastrous infrastructure. HOTEL NEEDS AN URGENT RESTRUCTURE!

Room Tip: Recommend that you confirm that upgrades where done before visiting!
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MN712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Revisited again, grateful to Hotel's Director, Staff and Group Leader for their hospitality, professionalism and attention best treatment ever. My room was comfortable overlooking the lake felt like home, wi-fi 24 hrs, sat tv, mini-fridge. Breakfast spread plated/buffet dinner expertly provided by attentive waiting staff. New Year's eve gala dinner extraordinary, pre buffet reception/beverages in the lounge area, followed by 4 course plated dinner/wine/champagne at L'Arc en Ciel Restaurant accompanied by live music/dancing. 01 00am came the traditional treat of Zampone & Lenticchie/sweet specialities.

Room Tip: Was happy on the first floor, close to lift and staircase.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

I spent a week for the New Year and it was fantastic. The staff of this hotel are all professional in their work & you feel as you are at home. The rooms are good with TV, mini-fridge & free Wi-Fi, the breakfast and dinner are very good. Personally I was impressed by the New year gala dinner, it was amazing, we spent a lovely evening with very good food & wine & also live music. A big thanks to the management & all the staff for their excellent work

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

The hotel is in desperate need of a refurbishment:
The lifts were a torment.
The shower and bathroom fixtures leave much to be desired.
Cold creeps in from the old apertures.
Air-conditioning noisy (which needs to be set to max to compensate the losses from the apertures).

Nevertheless, all the personnel more than compensate for the structure's deficiencies.
Food was tasty and well presented.
Rooms and common areas were clean.
All personnel were very cordial and helpful.
Good food variety for breakfast. (Breakfast room was rather tight).

The hotel is also well located. Next to the train station and a pleasant walk from the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank difermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We give this a one star rating for the rooms. They were inexcusable, outdated, dirty, worn out. We traveled here this month with a group and it was booked by a tour company for only one night or we would never have agreed to it. STAY AWAY! The reception area was nice and the bar/restaurant area was also fine. The employees in all of these areas were polite and helpful. The issue was purely with the rooms but they were bad enough to override anything else positive. We hardly slept although we sprayed the bed and sheets with disinfectant as soon as we saw them. The ceiling tiles were filthy and hanging down in the foyer area of the rooms. The grouting around the bathroom was moldy and brown and I won't even begin to mention the filth around the shower stall. We opened the windows to air it out and the smell as we moved the curtains was disgusting. There is no excuse for any hotel room to be in this kind of decay and disrepair. Our advice? Fire the chambermaid staff and wash the curtains, fix the broken tiles, regrout and put a fresh coat of paint before renting any more rooms out. Definitely inquire about room renovations before considering booking this hotel.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WhereToNextThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews