We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Memory”
Review of Castello di Meleto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello di Meleto
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Memory”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I spent our fourth anniversary with Anthony at Castello di Meleto. During our two week stay in Italy, of all the places we visited and all the sites we saw, Meleto was one of the highlights!! The views were spectacular, the wine was delicious and the company was one in a million!! Anthony was a pure joy - knowledgeable yet personable, a teacher and a friend. Thank you, Anthony. We hope to see you again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElissandDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    100
    26
    17
    11
See reviews for
63
208
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

although we only visited Castello di Meleto on a wine tasting and castle tour, getting to meet Anthony, Becca and the rest of the staff made us decide to book our return to Tuscany here in September.
Me, my wife and two of our friends totally enjoyed the Castello Di Meleto experience. who would not when you have a very warm friendly and accommodating guide like Anthony? his humorous and engaging nature made the tour of the castle that much more interesting and enjoyable he took the time to explain the winemaking process and answered our questions during the castle tour to set us up for the amazing wine tasting that was to follow. here we were joined by Becca the other half of this dynamic duo who asked Anthony the questions about the wine we were drinking we did not think to ask. the wine that was served for tasting was extra ordinary. we've had other wine tastings during our stay in Tuscany but nothing beats the Melleto experience. we never felt rushed, or pressured as everything was just great and groovy, like a Bob Marley Record. we left Meleto more informed about wine, the process, and with a deeper appreciation for how awesome it tasted. we drove away from Meleto with about 5 cases of wine knowing fully well we'd go back there soon. so thanks, Anthony, Becca and the rest of the Castello Di Meleto staff! see you september!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

During our October 2010 visit to Castello di Meleto we were greeted and warmly welcomed by Anthony Freveletti. From the very first moment of making eye contact with him we immediately knew that we wanted Anthony to be our tour guide of Castello di Meleto. Usually you know within the first few minutes of meeting a tour guide whether or not you are going to be bored. In this opportunity for a tour of Castello di Meleto we knew we would not be bored with Anthony's presentation. Anthony's enthusiasm and knowledge of the subject matter of Castello di Meleto filled the air with excitement as we were led from room to room. As if a fairy tale was unfolding, Anthony's knowledge took you back to the time of the Medieval and Renaissance Eras as he showed us the beautifully preserved decorations within the castle. Also worth mentioning are the breathtaking views of the scenery from the ramparts of the castle. We were impressed by Anthony's warm hospitality. The way in which Anthony presented the fine wine tasting at the conclusion of the tour made each and every individual feel very special and a part of the experience. We also felt very comfortable as if at home. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in tasting exquisitely fine wine. For those not interested in wine tasting, the tour presentation provides a unique historical account of what the Castello di Meleto Estate represents. We would highly recommend Anthony Freveletti to be your tour guide. Richard and Darla Barker, New Castle, PA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapabarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

What could one say about Anthony, the wine of Castello di Meleto and the courtesy of this fantastic staff? I could tell you a few things but I will only say two words. The Best! You will feel at home, you will feel apart of history and you will ulitmatley feel the feeling of total relaxation. Whether swimming in the pool, lounging in the Tuscan sun or sipping the best wine your time will be a perfect 10. Tell Anthony Larry say's hi and I gurantee he throws in a free bottle of wine at dinner. These folks are the best

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were 4 persons traveling together. On arrival at night we found our room was actually one in the castle itself, not one of the surrounding buildings. In through the massive wooden doors, up several flights of stone steps, down a dark corridor and then we had to insert the massive iron key into the old wooden door (which creaked). We were greeted by a very large stone-floored room, 2 beds draped in white cloth and a large sofa-bed. On the old wooden desk was a bottle of the castle's wine. Wow, what a great impression!

It was the height of summer, temperatures were around 38C and the castle room was just too warm, even to sleep. There was no air conditioning and the fan just pushed around the warm air. However, the infinity pool was very welcoming.

Breakfast were excellent and the coffee especially was good. One evening we had a castle tour, wine and chocolate tasting and a dinner in one of the dining rooms. All for Eur38 per person. Great value and great fun. We all felt just a little bit royal that evening!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AstroSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
1.8 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
5.8 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
73 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
118 reviews
5.7 km away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Meleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Meleto

Property: Castello di Meleto
Address: Loc. Meleto | 53013, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price range (per night): RM532 - RM2,146
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castello di Meleto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castello di Meleto is in the center of an ideal geographical triangle formed by the cities of Siena, Florence and Arezzo. Surrounded by six beautiful houses, painstakingly restored in 2000, preserving its rustic Tuscan style. Each house has a private garden or terrace that overlooks the countryside surrounded by green vineyards and olive groves.Easily accessible and close to the accommodation we have two infinity pools from which you can enjoy an unforgettable view. In the basement of the castle, a real historical monument, a charming wine shop allows you to taste our wines, our organic extra virgin olive oil and salami of Cinta Senese from our farm. On request we can organize banquets in medieval and Renaissance style in the picturesque setting of the frescoed rooms. In addition, daily guided tours of the ground floor of the castle, the eighteenth-century theater, the dungeons with ancient cellars, prisons and the secret tunnel to escape from the Castle .. will make you to live an unique and unforgettable experience in a real castle in the Chianti area.Daily walks are possible on roads and paths in the area.From the same roads, the "Eroica”, an fascinating extreme racing with vintage bikes, takes place every year.The staff of the Reception of the Castle will be pleased to arrange excursions departing from the Castello di Meleto to major art centers such as Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Arezzo and Val D'Orcia. On the territory of the Castle of Meleto guests can enjoy cycling, horse riding and walking, immersed in pristine nature of the Chianti hills. Our restaurant, “ La Fornace di Meleto” , at the bottom of the hill, offers typical Tuscan menu and innovative dishes.The Castle's history is also a history of Weddings, such as those of Alberto Ridolfi's daughter Lucrezia and, in 1852, Baron Bettino's daughter Elisabetta: it could also become the history of Your wedding, against a background imbued with extraordinary beauty.Meleto Castle can offer Religious ceremonies in its catholic church, the Pieve di Spaltenna.The Celebrations can be organized as you wish: the entire Piano Nobile (a series of furnished and frescoed rooms) can be put at Guests' disposal together with the garden, a splendid terrace overlooking the unspoilt panorama of the Chianti hills for enjoying a touch of sun, and the Stables ( Scuderia in Italian) , where guests can relax or let themself go in dancing.We specialise in providing the perfect atmosphere for a truly unique party, whether a Tuscan Castle wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Castello di Meleto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Meleto Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Meleto Italy/Gaiole In Chianti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing