We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
236
14
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
14
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive oilthe ownerour honeymoonhistoric resorttuscan countrysidemain buildingspecial placeswimming poolformer churchmagical placefascinating historypastasmall kitchenil corsoboarevery cornerlocal area
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived at the gates of Pieve di Caminino a little later than planned, after a slightly trying drive down from Florence. We pressed the buzzer and were immediately greeted with a hearty 'hello' from Emiliano. We were warmly welcomed, shown to our apartment (Bifora) and helped with luggage. Bifora is on the first floor of the main building and has a delightful little terrace overlooking the estate's olive groves and vineyards, and beyond. Walking into the apartment and out onto the terrace for the first time was a definite 'wow' moment. We were then offered a glass of wine while the local shops and attractions were pointed out on maps given to us. The apartment was simply furnished with antique furniture and the walls were hung with art, mostly by the family. We stayed for a total of two weeks and anytime we had a question or needed something, the family couldn't have been more helpful. We were often offered an espresso or glass of the delicious organic white wine produced on the estate. There were several other holiday guests staying at Caminino, but it always felt a place of calm and tranquility. Guests have use of the swimming pool, cleverly placed to take advantage of the often stunning sunsets and are free to wander through the forest, olive groves and vineyards that are part of the estate. After days out exploring picturesque historic hilltop villages, the beach or some other attraction, our favourite time of day was early evening, watching the sun setting from the terrace (obviously with a glass of the estate wine!) and waiting for the bats to start their nightly excursions. We loved our stay and definitely intend to return. The only thing I might ask for next time would be a feather pillow!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Superb facility consisting in an old middle age church now used as resort's hall, surrounded by many, unique and very nice apartments having originally been the priest's ones.
Everything is restored with a wonderful taste, preserving the original atmosphere of the site (owner's family is an architect and artists one).
Final feeling is to live into a middle age tale, with all current comforts.
Every apartment is fitted with its own kitchen, bathroom and living room.
Furnishing is made of restored antique-trade, conferring to each apartment a very unique and special atmosphere.
In addition, for warm periods, there is an outside pool immersed into the superb olive trees garden.
We spent a long weekend together with two couple of friends.
We had an excellent, warm welcome by the owner who explained us everything about the fascinating history of the site, about the facility and about what/where to do, immediately transmitting a "feel at home" sensation.
In-room served breakfast with freshly pressed orange juice, coffee and brioches, eaten on the terrace with all Maremma "at your feet" is a must.
The bottle of Morisfarms wine, we were gifted of has been a nice and appreciated surprise.
Unforgettable will also remain the visit, organized for and with us at the Morisfarms, 15 mins, by car from the resort, one of Maremma's most famous wine producer, belonging to the owner's wife family and actually managed by his brother in law.
There we were offered an excellent lunch based up on local dishes as tagliatelle with boar, roasted boar...everything literally "submerged" by a rain of their excellent wines, under these also the world famous well known "Avvoltore".
At Morisfarms there also is a wine shop (with all local specialities as honey, olive oil…), we of course visited for a long time :)
During our stay, it was also olive pressing time, so we had the possibility to see and learn how does it happen, right at resort: they have a huge olive oil plantation.
And of course to taste their (and Morisfarms's) excellent oil.
Finally, resort is very conveniently located, 20 mins. by car from the nice Massa Marittima and 20 mins. by car from the sea and the famous Castiglione della Pescaia and Punta Ala.
Ideal for relaxing, trekking, biking, hunting, visiting surroundings, spending time into the nature.

Definitely, a where-to-go place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razlupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Imagine to sleep in a perfectly and in al details authentic refurbished 12th century landmark on the feet of tuscany's hills. Hidden behind a rusty gate, covered from bushes and old olive trees lays the resort. Family owned farm since ever offers this special place wonderful cosy, spacious and unique apartements. We stay some nights and feel as prince and princess in every way. Trully the place to stay for encounter the beautiful region around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auer_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for a week at Caminio and were greeted with a big smile from Emy and a glass of wine from the Vinyard! If you like a beautiful setting and historic building and furniture then this is the place for you.

We shared a 2 bedroom apartment with friends and had our own private terrace with great views to the countryside. Although small it was well equipped if we wanted to cook a little pasta and eat at the big kitchen table! My only complaint (outwith managements control) is the mozzies which come out at sunset - damn those things!

Emy is very thoughtful and gives you a couple of information sheets when you check in recommending local restaurants, vineyards, places to grocery shop (even on a Sunday) etc. We ticked off most of his recommendations and each day we spent in the local area was a joy!

The pool is just beautiful with enough sun loungers that you can have your own space if any other guests venture down.

They grow their own olive oil on the grounds too and when we enquired, a bottle appeared to our room (you do have to pay but that's obviously fair enough). It's delicious stuff!

Another small thing I love is that when you return at night there are candles lit outside each room which adds to the magic!

I would certainly love to go back one day and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: If you are there in hot weather try for a room with air conditioning - we had a twin room in our apartment and did melt one evening as a storm hit overhead!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks in Tuscany last July. We have visited Italy throughout the years....but never returning to the same Inn/Resort. After our beautiful stay at Caminino, however, this need to search out something "new" will no longer be what guides us. Caminino and our lovely host Emy, made our (too short) 4 night stay no less than utterly magical.
As an avid traveler and someone who has been fortunate to enjoy 5 star experiences throughout the world, i can tell you, hands down, that this place is a gem. And an affordable one, at that!
From the Art that adorns the walls (the talent in this family spans generations and is as worth seeing as anything hanging in nearby florentine museum) to the wine produced by an ancient on-site vineyards.....you'll enjoy ALL there is to be discovered. The property has wonderful grounds to explore, as well.

I will be returning. Maybe even gathering friends and family for my upcoming wedding. This should tell you something! You'll leave with a happy heart.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews