We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We spent 7 nights in the Honeymoon suite during August 2008, the venue was exactly as posted on the website (itself a refreshing change) and the owner Emiliano couldn't have been more helpful.

An example of this was immediately evident, as we have arrived from a long drive from Milan without any luggage due to the airline having lost our bags. Having checked in, Emiliano found us some spare clothes and arranged to have our only clothing washed and dried, allowing us to relax at the pool side, with a bottle of wine produced on the resort. Emiliano also assisted in reuniting us with our luggage some 3 days later.

This provides merely an example of Emiliano attitude and this customer service approach was evident throughout the stay.

I would have no hesitation in recommending staying at the Historical Resort Pieve di Caminino, nor using Emilianos inside knowledge of local restaurants to get the very best out of the area.

Enjoy your stay . . .

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank whateverwhatever_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2008

From the moment one sets foot in this medieval monastery turned demesne, the step back in time is overwhelming. Tastefully transformed from a large country home with outbuildings to a magnificent tourist location, history is all about. One could spend a week delving into the past alone.

The resort manager and latest in the long family line, Emy, is the essence of professionalism. He sets the visitor at ease with an excellent outline of necessary information on arrival. Nothing is too much trouble or seen as an imposition.

Having shown the visitor to their accomodation, the management and staff seem to disappear for the duration of one's stay unless needed. They are however, always at hand when required. Advice is availble at all times.

The location is stunning. The apartments are wonderfully incorporated and presented. Cleanliness is all around. Air conditioning is available.

The estate is enclosed by a security system allowing one to roam at will. The olive groves and vineyard are great attractions. The swimming pool and surrounds are perfection itself, including a view of the historic walled town of Montmassi.

The self catering aspect is a plus, reducing the feeling that one is in a holiday resort.

The beach is 30 minutes away. The magnificent city of Siena one hour at most. All roads are good and the Autostrada is literally minutes away.

Historic walled towns dot the landscape as one looks from the property accross the large valley.

The restaurants recommended by Emy were excellent. The food was beautiful and reasonable priced. Eating out in Tuscany is an occasion not to be rushed so allow two to three hours for a full menu.

Located in a strong farming area the local Co-op store (7 minutes drive) provides top class produce including locally produced wine, all at reasonable prices.

For a quiet, relaxing holiday with heavenly surroundings, and plenty to discover within an hours drive I can highly recommend Pieve di Caminino.

I can't wait to return and experience other aspects that time did'nt allow me to explore.

6  Thank Donal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We just returned from our Honeymoon. The incredible service and most amazing suroundings could not be beat! We would recomend this to anyone looking for Charm, character and the ultimate experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AandKBouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed for a week in early September and the first thing that struck us even before we arrived was the personal touches of Emy, the owner. On arrival checking in was more of a casual chat over a glass of wine/ espresso in the cathedral sized office. First impressions are the wow factor. The fact that the property has been in his family for many generations combined with the other fact that Emy is a professional architect and renovated the property with his father , was the start of several fascinating conversations. The apartment we had, had its own roof terrace which made it all too easy to do the Wine and Dinner thing there rather than drive out locally. Lunchtimes were the time for exploring and eating out.
The swimming pool was the other attraction that saw a great deal of use. The area surrounding Caminino has a wealth of historic towns and wineries that could keep you busy for weeks. We were made to feel extremely welcome and no request was to difficult to deal with. Emy's hospitality is probably the single most unique aspect of Caminino and it certainly deserves every compliment paid. We will be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Monty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Resort Pieve di Caminino
25 August, 2008 - Demetrios and Christina, Violetta and Litsa from GREECE

Pieve di Caminino is a wonderful place to stay. Even though it is an old monastery of 11 century it has all the facilities for a pleasant stay. First of all you will find the warm hospitality of Emiliano.
We highly recommend!!!! A very romantic place with a beautiful forest. Also it is so nice to sleep without noise - only the birds....
From the Resort you have the opportunity to visit easily Siena and other villages at Tuscany's hills.
If somebody wants to swim, there is also a nice big swimming pool. Everything were perfect. Bravo!!!!!

Stayed: August 2008
4  Thank AtrhensJilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm

Address: Strada Provinciale 89 snc, 58036 Roccatederighi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccatederighi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Roccatederighi
Price Range: RM414 - RM1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminino is an antique farm estate of 200 hectares (500 acres), completely fenced, access to which is reserved exclusively for guests with reservations. A centenary olive grove, a panoramic vineyard where walking or jogging at the sight of the Montemassi castle, and a legendary cork oak forest surround the old exclusive private village, now offering agriturismo hospitality, with swimming pool (in warm season) and two ponds. Silence dominates, pleasantly interrupted by the sounds of nature. The view stretches, on clear days, to the sea, where the horizon is marked by the island of Giglio. The ancient villages of Roccatederighi, Montemassi, Sticciano and Montepescali are nearby located, crowning the landscape with their fortfied walls: they area reachable driving afew minutes and all offer a delicious choice of typical restaurants and wine bars.Not to miss & easily reachable: Massa Marittima, Siena, Montalcino, Pitigliano, Castiglione della Pescaia, Populonia, Bolgheri, the Maremma National Park, The Tarot Garden, Mount Amiata, the Terme di Saturnia, Roselle, S. Galgano, S. Antimo ... The total lack of traffic makes Caminino easy to be reached, both from Rome Leonardo da Vinci (200km / 124mi) and from Pisa Galileo Galilei (140km / 87mi), or from Florence Amerigo Vespucci Airport (128km /80mi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Resort Pieve Di Caminino Hotel Roccatederighi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing