We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Residence Il Ciliegio(Roccatederighi)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
231
14
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
14
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive oilthe owneropen firepieve dievery morningsmall kitchenromantic placea wonderful stayitalian countrysidespent a weekcoffee makerprivate balconygreeted us warmlyliving room with fireplaceyogurtloved every minuteemiliano
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2008

From the moment one sets foot in this medieval monastery turned demesne, the step back in time is overwhelming. Tastefully transformed from a large country home with outbuildings to a magnificent tourist location, history is all about. One could spend a week delving into the past alone.

The resort manager and latest in the long family line, Emy, is the essence of professionalism. He sets the visitor at ease with an excellent outline of necessary information on arrival. Nothing is too much trouble or seen as an imposition.

Having shown the visitor to their accomodation, the management and staff seem to disappear for the duration of one's stay unless needed. They are however, always at hand when required. Advice is availble at all times.

The location is stunning. The apartments are wonderfully incorporated and presented. Cleanliness is all around. Air conditioning is available.

The estate is enclosed by a security system allowing one to roam at will. The olive groves and vineyard are great attractions. The swimming pool and surrounds are perfection itself, including a view of the historic walled town of Montmassi.

The self catering aspect is a plus, reducing the feeling that one is in a holiday resort.

The beach is 30 minutes away. The magnificent city of Siena one hour at most. All roads are good and the Autostrada is literally minutes away.

Historic walled towns dot the landscape as one looks from the property accross the large valley.

The restaurants recommended by Emy were excellent. The food was beautiful and reasonable priced. Eating out in Tuscany is an occasion not to be rushed so allow two to three hours for a full menu.

Located in a strong farming area the local Co-op store (7 minutes drive) provides top class produce including locally produced wine, all at reasonable prices.

For a quiet, relaxing holiday with heavenly surroundings, and plenty to discover within an hours drive I can highly recommend Pieve di Caminino.

I can't wait to return and experience other aspects that time did'nt allow me to explore.

6  Thank Donal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We just returned from our Honeymoon. The incredible service and most amazing suroundings could not be beat! We would recomend this to anyone looking for Charm, character and the ultimate experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AandKBouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed for a week in early September and the first thing that struck us even before we arrived was the personal touches of Emy, the owner. On arrival checking in was more of a casual chat over a glass of wine/ espresso in the cathedral sized office. First impressions are the wow factor. The fact that the property has been in his family for many generations combined with the other fact that Emy is a professional architect and renovated the property with his father , was the start of several fascinating conversations. The apartment we had, had its own roof terrace which made it all too easy to do the Wine and Dinner thing there rather than drive out locally. Lunchtimes were the time for exploring and eating out.
The swimming pool was the other attraction that saw a great deal of use. The area surrounding Caminino has a wealth of historic towns and wineries that could keep you busy for weeks. We were made to feel extremely welcome and no request was to difficult to deal with. Emy's hospitality is probably the single most unique aspect of Caminino and it certainly deserves every compliment paid. We will be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Monty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Resort Pieve di Caminino
25 August, 2008 - Demetrios and Christina, Violetta and Litsa from GREECE

Pieve di Caminino is a wonderful place to stay. Even though it is an old monastery of 11 century it has all the facilities for a pleasant stay. First of all you will find the warm hospitality of Emiliano.
We highly recommend!!!! A very romantic place with a beautiful forest. Also it is so nice to sleep without noise - only the birds....
From the Resort you have the opportunity to visit easily Siena and other villages at Tuscany's hills.
If somebody wants to swim, there is also a nice big swimming pool. Everything were perfect. Bravo!!!!!

Stayed: August 2008
4  Thank AtrhensJilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Hallo from Greece,

This August for 5 days me and my girlfriend visited Tuscany with our motorbike.

We had beautiful times and the area was unbelievable. Traditional villages into castles, amazing landscapes and medieval cities with architectonical monuments travel the visitor in other ages. Fine wines and excellent local cuisine.

Our residence was in Pieve di Caminino,an old monastery of 11 century south of Siena between Roccastrada and Montemassi.

We are impressed from the facilities and the hospitality in combination with the politeness of owner Emiliano is at high level. His suggestions-information for places to visit are very useful and really worth.

The apartments were cozy with old furniture’s and very clean. Also the swimming pool was a small heaven between trees and panoramic view to the hills.

We enjoy any moment of our stay and give a promise to come back at the future.

Thank you for everything Emi,

Thank you Tuscany.

Sincerely
George-Anna

more pfotos from our trip
at:
http://www.bikepics.com/members/manianis321/

Stayed: August 2008
6  Thank geor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews