We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni(Roccastrada)(Great Value!)
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Melosa Resort(Roccastrada)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Santo Pietro(Chiusdino)
US$626
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,016/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Residence Il Ciliegio(Roccatederighi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
231
14
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
14
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive oilthe owneropen firepieve dievery morningsmall kitchenromantic placea wonderful stayitalian countrysidespent a weekcoffee makerprivate balconygreeted us warmlyliving room with fireplaceyogurtloved every minuteemiliano
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've been travelling in Italy for the last 3 years, sometimes alone and last visit with my husband. This is my 2nd stay at Pieve and it is my favourite place in all of Tuscany for lots of reasons, the beautiful location, the genuine warmth of the Locatelli family, and the beautiful peace - you rarely see other guests it's as if the whole place (which is an ancient estate) is yours alone. This visit we were lucky to see an entire family of chingale (wild boar) mom and all the babies, one night returning from dinner, crossing the road just past the entry gate, don't worry they are shy. It was magical. The Grosetto plain is a beautiful area and not too touristed. Siena is only 1 hour away. I do miss the family duck however, which was absent this year. A lovely artistic family past and present and this is reflected in the feeling of the place which could itself be called a work of art I. Emy and family, thank you for another memorable visit to your home. Fondly, Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoveNatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at Pieve Di Caminino for 10 days as the second part of our honeymoon (after staying in Florence) and it was by far our most favorite part of the entire trip! It is really easy to get to Pieve from either Pisa or Florence by hire car (which is what we did)...and as soon as you enter Tuscany...and in particular the Maremma, it is just magical!

Pieve is tucked away in a lovely secluded spot, from which the views are stunning and the landscape incredibly peaceful and relaxing. The owner, Emi is an absolute star - the perfect host...plying us with amazing wine and his own delicious olive oil throughout the entirety of our stay (you really must try it and buy several bottles to take home!). Nothing was ever too much trouble and Emi was always on hand when needed, although was discrete and not intrusive the rest of the time (plus, his English is excellent). In fact, Emi helped us out of a very tricky situation when we missed our flights home by an entire day (we were sooo relaxed!) and he arranged our extended car hire for us and put us up for an additional night! The staff at Pieve are also wonderful and attend to your every need.

We stayed in both the Library Loft and La Foresteria during our stay and both are completely stunning...and enormous! There is no way you could be underwhelmed by either choice of room. Both are decorated in a beautiful rustic way, with lovely antiques and old maps and deeds of the Pieve estate. The beauty of La Foresteria is the outdoor space...but there are so many lovely secluded sitting spots throughout the grounds that you are somewhat spoilt for choice.

Our suggestion would be to listen to Emi's local recommendations, as our very best dining out experiences were those that he gave us - the quality of the local 'real-Italian' food was just amazing. We also enjoyed many a night eating simple pasta dishes we made in the ample kitchen, sourced locally, on the outside terrace of La Foresteria drinking Emi's own vineyards' wine.

This is such a special place that we will definately be going back.

Room Tip: La Foresteria and the Library Loft are both enormous and beautiful. The Library Loft doesnt have any private outside space of its own, but is truly huge and gorgeously decorated...complete with its own architects drawing board! We also found it quieter than La Foresteria (the Library Loft is above La Foresteria and if there are guests upstairs, you can hear them). However, La Foresteria has the most beautiful 4-poster romantic bed and a lovely seperation of spaces...it's really hard to pick between the two!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittycatKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I visited here in September 2013, not quite knowing quite what to expect. It turned out to be possibly the best holiday of my life. Part of that was attributable to the beauty and historical interest of Tuscany but the accommodation here played a major part too. It is located in a large estate on a wooded hillside, with its own olive groves and vineyard. The accommodation itself is located in what appears to have been an ancient monastery, which the owner, architect Emiliano Locatelli (what a splendid name!), has converted lovingly into holiday apartments. We stayed in the charming one bedroom apartment "Le Bifora" tastefully furnished and decorated with what I believe are original artworks from the Locatelli family who number artists amongst the ancestors. The kitchen is small but functional and it was great to be up in the roof of the old church, with its terrace area, providing stupendous views over a wide area. We loved sitting up there during the evening drinking the excellent estate organic white wine, available to guests for a small charge, admiring the stupendous sunsets and watching the bats flitting around as dusk descended. The owner and his family are a delight too. Emiliano is extremely friendly and helpful with brilliant suggestions for days out and recommendations of local restaurants. He would also invite us in to the main part of the old monastery (a fabulously interesting room) to share an espresso or glass of wine and have a general chat (his English is excellent). If you like walking, this is a superb location. There are pleasant walks around the estate and long distance footpaths cross it too. For an energetic excursion take the long distance route on footpaths no 308/307/ 304/ 308 up to Roccatederighi, which boasts an excellent trattoria and stunning views from its rocky outcrops. It is a round trip of about 12 miles, so allow plenty of time. You could also walk or drive to the nearby pretty little hilltop village of Montemassi and enjoy the solitude of its ruined fort. It also has a reasonable restaurant. There is a vast range of possibilities in this area and we easily found enough to keep us occupied for two weeks. I cannot recommend this place highly enough - would give it six stars if that were an option! We are of course intending to go back and see what it is like at a different time of year, perhaps May would be pleasant.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived at the gates of Pieve di Caminino a little later than planned, after a slightly trying drive down from Florence. We pressed the buzzer and were immediately greeted with a hearty 'hello' from Emiliano. We were warmly welcomed, shown to our apartment (Bifora) and helped with luggage. Bifora is on the first floor of the main building and has a delightful little terrace overlooking the estate's olive groves and vineyards, and beyond. Walking into the apartment and out onto the terrace for the first time was a definite 'wow' moment. We were then offered a glass of wine while the local shops and attractions were pointed out on maps given to us. The apartment was simply furnished with antique furniture and the walls were hung with art, mostly by the family. We stayed for a total of two weeks and anytime we had a question or needed something, the family couldn't have been more helpful. We were often offered an espresso or glass of the delicious organic white wine produced on the estate. There were several other holiday guests staying at Caminino, but it always felt a place of calm and tranquility. Guests have use of the swimming pool, cleverly placed to take advantage of the often stunning sunsets and are free to wander through the forest, olive groves and vineyards that are part of the estate. After days out exploring picturesque historic hilltop villages, the beach or some other attraction, our favourite time of day was early evening, watching the sun setting from the terrace (obviously with a glass of the estate wine!) and waiting for the bats to start their nightly excursions. We loved our stay and definitely intend to return. The only thing I might ask for next time would be a feather pillow!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Superb facility consisting in an old middle age church now used as resort's hall, surrounded by many, unique and very nice apartments having originally been the priest's ones.
Everything is restored with a wonderful taste, preserving the original atmosphere of the site (owner's family is an architect and artists one).
Final feeling is to live into a middle age tale, with all current comforts.
Every apartment is fitted with its own kitchen, bathroom and living room.
Furnishing is made of restored antique-trade, conferring to each apartment a very unique and special atmosphere.
In addition, for warm periods, there is an outside pool immersed into the superb olive trees garden.
We spent a long weekend together with two couple of friends.
We had an excellent, warm welcome by the owner who explained us everything about the fascinating history of the site, about the facility and about what/where to do, immediately transmitting a "feel at home" sensation.
In-room served breakfast with freshly pressed orange juice, coffee and brioches, eaten on the terrace with all Maremma "at your feet" is a must.
The bottle of Morisfarms wine, we were gifted of has been a nice and appreciated surprise.
Unforgettable will also remain the visit, organized for and with us at the Morisfarms, 15 mins, by car from the resort, one of Maremma's most famous wine producer, belonging to the owner's wife family and actually managed by his brother in law.
There we were offered an excellent lunch based up on local dishes as tagliatelle with boar, roasted boar...everything literally "submerged" by a rain of their excellent wines, under these also the world famous well known "Avvoltore".
At Morisfarms there also is a wine shop (with all local specialities as honey, olive oil…), we of course visited for a long time :)
During our stay, it was also olive pressing time, so we had the possibility to see and learn how does it happen, right at resort: they have a huge olive oil plantation.
And of course to taste their (and Morisfarms's) excellent oil.
Finally, resort is very conveniently located, 20 mins. by car from the nice Massa Marittima and 20 mins. by car from the sea and the famous Castiglione della Pescaia and Punta Ala.
Ideal for relaxing, trekking, biking, hunting, visiting surroundings, spending time into the nature.

Definitely, a where-to-go place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razlupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews