We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Firstly, we wanted to say a HUGE thankyou to our amazing host Emy! We arrived to the beautiful Caminino to a very warm welcome and a lovely coffee :) He was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay...nothing was too much trouble! All of his recommendations for restaurants and places to visit were spot on and we had a fantastic time!

We spent our honeymoon at Caminino and it was just what we were looking for...very relaxing, quiet, beautiful surroundings and gorgeous accommodation. We stayed in the Bifora suite which had its own terrace and had lovely views! The loft room was spacious and beautifully decorated with antiques. If you are looking to get away from the hussle and bussle, then this is where you should come it is a magical place! We were very sad to leave and will definitely be visiting again soon!

Thanks again!

Shanna and Danny

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We simply loved our time there - the host was incredibly friendly and helpful. If you want to enjoy tranquility in perfect surroundings - this is the place to go! We spent two weeks there on our honeymoon and could have easily stayed another two!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've been travelling in Italy for the last 3 years, sometimes alone and last visit with my husband. This is my 2nd stay at Pieve and it is my favourite place in all of Tuscany for lots of reasons, the beautiful location, the genuine warmth of the Locatelli family, and the beautiful peace - you rarely see other guests it's as if the whole place (which is an ancient estate) is yours alone. This visit we were lucky to see an entire family of chingale (wild boar) mom and all the babies, one night returning from dinner, crossing the road just past the entry gate, don't worry they are shy. It was magical. The Grosetto plain is a beautiful area and not too touristed. Siena is only 1 hour away. I do miss the family duck however, which was absent this year. A lovely artistic family past and present and this is reflected in the feeling of the place which could itself be called a work of art I. Emy and family, thank you for another memorable visit to your home. Fondly, Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoveNatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at Pieve Di Caminino for 10 days as the second part of our honeymoon (after staying in Florence) and it was by far our most favorite part of the entire trip! It is really easy to get to Pieve from either Pisa or Florence by hire car (which is what we did)...and as soon as you enter Tuscany...and in particular the Maremma, it is just magical!

Pieve is tucked away in a lovely secluded spot, from which the views are stunning and the landscape incredibly peaceful and relaxing. The owner, Emi is an absolute star - the perfect host...plying us with amazing wine and his own delicious olive oil throughout the entirety of our stay (you really must try it and buy several bottles to take home!). Nothing was ever too much trouble and Emi was always on hand when needed, although was discrete and not intrusive the rest of the time (plus, his English is excellent). In fact, Emi helped us out of a very tricky situation when we missed our flights home by an entire day (we were sooo relaxed!) and he arranged our extended car hire for us and put us up for an additional night! The staff at Pieve are also wonderful and attend to your every need.

We stayed in both the Library Loft and La Foresteria during our stay and both are completely stunning...and enormous! There is no way you could be underwhelmed by either choice of room. Both are decorated in a beautiful rustic way, with lovely antiques and old maps and deeds of the Pieve estate. The beauty of La Foresteria is the outdoor space...but there are so many lovely secluded sitting spots throughout the grounds that you are somewhat spoilt for choice.

Our suggestion would be to listen to Emi's local recommendations, as our very best dining out experiences were those that he gave us - the quality of the local 'real-Italian' food was just amazing. We also enjoyed many a night eating simple pasta dishes we made in the ample kitchen, sourced locally, on the outside terrace of La Foresteria drinking Emi's own vineyards' wine.

This is such a special place that we will definately be going back.

Room Tip: La Foresteria and the Library Loft are both enormous and beautiful. The Library Loft doesnt have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittycatKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I visited here in September 2013, not quite knowing quite what to expect. It turned out to be possibly the best holiday of my life. Part of that was attributable to the beauty and historical interest of Tuscany but the accommodation here played a major part too. It is located in a large estate on a wooded hillside, with its own olive groves and vineyard. The accommodation itself is located in what appears to have been an ancient monastery, which the owner, architect Emiliano Locatelli (what a splendid name!), has converted lovingly into holiday apartments. We stayed in the charming one bedroom apartment "Le Bifora" tastefully furnished and decorated with what I believe are original artworks from the Locatelli family who number artists amongst the ancestors. The kitchen is small but functional and it was great to be up in the roof of the old church, with its terrace area, providing stupendous views over a wide area. We loved sitting up there during the evening drinking the excellent estate organic white wine, available to guests for a small charge, admiring the stupendous sunsets and watching the bats flitting around as dusk descended. The owner and his family are a delight too. Emiliano is extremely friendly and helpful with brilliant suggestions for days out and recommendations of local restaurants. He would also invite us in to the main part of the old monastery (a fabulously interesting room) to share an espresso or glass of wine and have a general chat (his English is excellent). If you like walking, this is a superb location. There are pleasant walks around the estate and long distance footpaths cross it too. For an energetic excursion take the long distance route on footpaths no 308/307/ 304/ 308 up to Roccatederighi, which boasts an excellent trattoria and stunning views from its rocky outcrops. It is a round trip of about 12 miles, so allow plenty of time. You could also walk or drive to the nearby pretty little hilltop village of Montemassi and enjoy the solitude of its ruined fort. It also has a reasonable restaurant. There is a vast range of possibilities in this area and we easily found enough to keep us occupied for two weeks. I cannot recommend this place highly enough - would give it six stars if that were an option! We are of course intending to go back and see what it is like at a different time of year, perhaps May would be pleasant.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm

Address: Strada Provinciale 89 snc, 58036 Roccatederighi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccatederighi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Roccatederighi
Price Range: RM416 - RM1,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminino is an antique farm estate of 200 hectares (500 acres), completely fenced, access to which is reserved exclusively for guests with reservations. A centenary olive grove, a panoramic vineyard where walking or jogging at the sight of the Montemassi castle, and a legendary cork oak forest surround the old exclusive private village, now offering agriturismo hospitality, with swimming pool (in warm season) and two ponds. Silence dominates, pleasantly interrupted by the sounds of nature. The view stretches, on clear days, to the sea, where the horizon is marked by the island of Giglio. The ancient villages of Roccatederighi, Montemassi, Sticciano and Montepescali are nearby located, crowning the landscape with their fortfied walls: they area reachable driving afew minutes and all offer a delicious choice of typical restaurants and wine bars.Not to miss & easily reachable: Massa Marittima, Siena, Montalcino, Pitigliano, Castiglione della Pescaia, Populonia, Bolgheri, the Maremma National Park, The Tarot Garden, Mount Amiata, the Terme di Saturnia, Roselle, S. Galgano, S. Antimo ... The total lack of traffic makes Caminino easy to be reached, both from Rome Leonardo da Vinci (200km / 124mi) and from Pisa Galileo Galilei (140km / 87mi), or from Florence Amerigo Vespucci Airport (128km /80mi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Resort Pieve Di Caminino Hotel Roccatederighi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing