We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Lodge B&B(Port Erin)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
117
3
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
3
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe blue roomcouldn't faultthoroughly enjoyed our stayplenty of choiceviews
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Even better than imagined. Our stay was delectable and really a lovely experience. The room was clean, the pool was relaxing and the atmosphere was just great. The cat was a lovely added bonus!
Grab a bottle of champagne and spend the night in the jacuzzi, I can't think of a better evening spent with a partner.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I treated my partner for a suprise for his 30th birthday and omg what a wonderful night we had. We stayed in the brown room couldn't fault the room clean, modern, luxurious, lovely bathroom and best part the bed faces over-looking port Erin beautiful scenery at night we were lying in bed looking at the stars it was such a lovely experience. Gill welcomed us very nice and friendly she cooked us a homemade breakfast couldn't fault. Indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. Would 100% stay here again what an experience. :-)

Room Tip: Each room has a unique to it
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ollygunner20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent our wedding night in the Green Room. It was a lovely room to come back to, beautifully furnished and with an in-room jacuzzi.

Picking up the keys the night before was easy and we were lucky that we could leave our bags the night before too.

Breakfast is included and we enjoyed a home cooked meal with omelettes, sausages, tomatoes and mushrooms. Plenty of toast was on offer and we also indulged in croissants.

The staff at The Archers were very friendly and welcoming, and we couldn't recommend their B&B service highly enough.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We spent four nights here occupying two different rooms during our stay. It was a lovely, relaxing experience. We had two dogs with us, one a 10 week old puppy, and Jill allowed us to have them with us which was very kind and made the trip much more relaxing. The accommodation was stunning and the breakfasts were delicious. But perhaps more importantly they were lovely, friendly, chilled people.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were lovely
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lindaW955XA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

My sister and I ended a week-long Isle of Man walkabout with two night at The Arches. This was our treat to ourselves after hiking/walking as much of the island as we could in the previous 4 days. We stayed in the Burgundy Room, which has its own terrace door and entrance from outside. The bed was delightful, the shower was perfect, and we really appreciated the coffee, tea, and cocoa left in the room, along with bottle of water in the fridge. We ordered the tray, which was ready upon our arrival and served to tide us over until breakfast the next morning.

Breakfast is an amazing affair. It happened that our first morning we were eating at the same time as the rest of the guests, so in addition to the beautiful views and delicious food (do try the salmon eggs benedict!), we also were treated to the delightful company of our fellow guests.

Jill and her sister are fantastic. So kind and accommodating. The place is beautiful. It's a bit of a trek if you're walking up the hill from the train station, but that just makes the breakfast worth it! From The Arches, in addition to that view (oh what a view!) it's a short walk to Milner's Tower and two different public footpaths. Port Erin is a lovely town and you can take the steam train or the bus to other places. We took the train into town from Douglas, and then rode the bus to Cregneash. After exploring there, we walked down to the Sound and the Calf of Man, and then too the Raad Ny Foillan back along the coast to Port Erin. I highly recommend that walk, as it's only about 4 miles and is stunning.

My only caveat is that the Burgundy Room is right next to the pool, so if there are several guests using the pool and listening to music it echoes and gets quite loud. Not at all a deal-breaker, but if you want quiet rest in your room during the day it probably won't happen. However, being in such a gorgeous place, WHY would you spend it in your room?

If you're thinking about visiting the Isle of Man, do it. And then go to Port Erin and book a couple of nights at The Arches. You will not regret it! I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Burgundy Room has a terrace entrance, but proximity to the pool can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Wow ! Thanks for your detailed and enthusiastic review. The Isle of Man is blessed with wonderful topography and an abundance of wildlife , especially if you look closely at the wild flowers and insects, and it sounds as if you thoroughly enjoyed the outdoors. Thank you again for your lovely comments. Phil & Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews