We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE ON A BUSY EASTER SUNDAY”

The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon
Ranked #19 of 67 Restaurants in Newtown
Cuisines: Indian, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We called here as we have been here before ,today it was Easter Sunday and the place was busy but we found a table for the four of us ,a very nice young male server came and quickly cleared and wiped the table for us he was very polite ,my partner and i had a look at the menus and my partner went to the bar to order there were a lot of people at the bar but he was served pretty quickly and we didn't have to wait too long for our food and was brought to the table by a very nice young female sever who advised us that our plates were very hot and she said "enjoy your meals" she smiled and looked to be enjoying her job ,i ordered the buttermilk chicken burger which came with chips it was really nice the chicken burger was moist and tasty and the coating was lovely too not over cooked and with a very nice soft bun, chips were lovely too ,my partner ordered the gammon and eggs which he also said was really delicious 2 large slices of gammon bacon ,mushroom ,2 fried eggs,peas,chips all cooked absolutely perfectly and was nicely presented on the plate ,we really enjoyed this visit to the Black boy and will definitely call again when we are next in Newtown there seemed to be plenty of staff and food was coming out very quickly

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
black boy m, Manager at The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Your comments have been passed on to all the staff working this Easter Sunday and they’re all touched by your kind words. We do hope you call again next time you are in town :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Have eaten at The Black boy 3 times in last 4 years and have always enjoyed good food, excellent service and fine drinks at unbelievable prices

Thank doddjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
black boy m, Manager at The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We’re very pleased to hear you’ve enjoyed each of your visits. We hope your next visit is just as good, if not better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

If there had been anywhere else to eat on a Sunday evening we would of walked out and not eaten here. The floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in days, tables were disgusting.

Food was mediocre to say the least and the staff dropped it onto the table like they were feeding animals.

Disabled toilets were disgusting and sink looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks

We will NEVER eat here again as quite frankly we were appalled at the state of the place.

Thank Davewill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
black boy m, Manager at The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you will not be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

5 stars because it knows what it's trying to do and does it well, not because it's the best food you'll ever have in your life. We fed a family of 5 with drinks for just over £30 - staff were friendly and efficient, food was hot, good portions and came quickly with something on the menu for everyone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank agaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
black boy m, Manager at The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you so much for the review!
Hope you enjoyed the film and we’ll see you again soon?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Choice of food and drink ideal for both meat eating and vegetarian diners. Prices and variety as any other weatherspoons establishment. Called on a Thursday afternoon (4.30pm). Plenty of tables available. Childrens menu available. Food ordered at bar and arrived at table as ordered. All staff encountered front of house very helpful and courteous.

Sadly we remained in our coats, as did the majority of other diners there, throughout our time there due to how cold the place was. Despite it being a bitterly cold afternoon there was no heating ......radiators, when touched, confirmed this. General minor maintenance issues (easily fixed) such as the broken spring on an external door and minor faults on others need to be addressed for both customer safety and assistance. These were not new issues as seen on previous visits.

Good place to stop for good choice of food at reasonable prices. Front of house staff credit to the company. A general snag list to address and rectify the minor maintenance issues needing attention would only benefit the establishment and ensure more returning customers.

Thank Cymro_Cymraeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
black boy m, Manager at The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we’re glad to hear the service you received was a pleasant experience!

We do have a snag list in progress and hope to address the many maintenance issues present. Hope you appreciate at this time of year we are restricted in what we can spend. The list is growing daily and will hopefully be addressed soon. We can only apologise they haven’t been sorted sooner.

Sorry to hear you all felt the cold. Our floor service staff rush around a lot and do not always notice it might be chilly, but please ask them when they pass by to pop the heating on higher on your next visit! We want you to be as comfortable as possible!

We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon also viewed

 

Been to The Black Boy, JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing