We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Grande Airport Hotel(Saint Philip Parish)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shonlan Inn and Apartments(Christ Church Parish)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Arches Boutique Hotel(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Point Hotel(Silver Sands)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$113
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bougainvillea Barbados(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel(Saint Philip Parish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,815)
Filter reviews
2,815 results
Traveller rating
1,664
665
220
140
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,664
665
220
140
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storeplunge poolcarriage housegospel breakfastpink sandthe air conditioningwasher dryerthe cliffstayed in buildingocean viewemerald cityrum punchzen restauranttime sharefull kitchengrocery storebody surfing
Filter
Updating list...
1,961 - 1,966 of 2,815 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This Hotel/Resort was incredible! The way it was all laid out was really well done, the facilities and luxeries included made the price reasonable. The rooms were finished to a high standard with some nice touches such as small plunge pools in the corners of the balconies etc. The size of the resort meant that even when it was busy it felt like you had your own space which you dont get everywhere. The Crane beach was the best part because the sands were what you would expect of a caribbean beach (white powder!). There were a few down sides which were that you would have to drive a fair distance to get to any other decent attractions and the atlantic sea was rough as opposed to the caribbean side (e.g Mullins Beach) and the resort was completely finished when i was there however its not so much a negative because once its done it will be magnificent. Dont miss the opportunity to stay in one of the new top hotels in the caribbean!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms include plunge pools and certain blocks over look the sea!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Matt M,

We may have designed the resort with you in mind! Each residence at The Crane, from the Junior Garden View Suite to the Penthouse suite, features generous floor plans, luxurious mahogany finishings that compliment the simple yet elegant décor and all the modern amenities one can possibly need. Even the layout of The Village and the addition of various facilities such as the Fitness Centre and Serenity Spa were meticulously thought through to provide the ultimate enjoyment for our guests.

Located on the South-East coast of the island, The Crane is ideal for those who wish to disappear and indulge in undisturbed relaxation. Beautiful Crane Beach, which is the safest swimming venue on this side of the island, is the ideal beach to disappear to.

The Crane is now approaching its final phase of construction with the completion of the Residences in The Park. In fact, Park 6 will welcome its first guests this year.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We trust that your high expectations for the resort will be surpassed and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

After booking our ten day stay at the Crane, we began to read the reviews here and were quite disturbed. We were almost to the point of utilizing our insurance and cancelling our stay. My family of six (Ages 9, 16, 18, 20) plus my wife are all glad we decided not to do that.

Front Desk Personnel: Juanita and Shakira were nothing short of spectacular and what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The checked in on us in the morning and at night checking to make sure the day had gone well, and to see if we needed anything for the following day! I had some interaction with the other women but observed them giving other customers the same sort of excellent treatment.

Guest Services: Nicole and Kendra went above and beyond, even making phone calls late on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day to set up activities for us from their homes I watched as they and their peers handled some difficult and even ridiculous requests and behavior with a grace and dignity.

Bellman: Errol and Mathew could not have been nicer and more attentive to our needs they made sure that our cab service prices were pre-negotiated fairly and that the activities we planned were going to be what we expected

Housekeeping: Sandra, our building manager and Dianna our primary housekeeper had our building 5 room in impeccable condition and they went out of their way to make sure we saw them and see if we needed anything extra or if they had missed anything. Dianna, seeing the way we drank coffee made sure we had enough for every day.

Restaurant Staff: Servers were kind but slow at all of the restaurants. While the food was nothing short of spectacular (I will review later on) the services did not match. The one exception was Errol at the Carriage House who made every effort to pick up where the other staffers fell short.

Private Residence Rooms (Building 2): We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse ocean view for two nights in Building two. The views were exceptional with every window and door having a water view. The size was as advertised and perfect for the six of us. The infrastructure could have used some work. Water pressure in the toilet and shower were weak. The mahogany floors were ready to be refinished, and the kitchen could have used some updating. The plunge pool was useless for us but I am sure would have usefulness for others. As for the air-conditioning issues I have read in other reviews I have no comment as with the windows and doors open the temperature was always perfect:

Rooms (Building 5): Our final 7 nights we stayed in a two bedroom penthouse ocean view suite and it was simply fabulous and deserving a 5 star rating. The views were different but sensational with post card views out of every window. The floors were all tile and looked almost new. The kitchen was larger than in building two and had updated granite counter tops, and the bathrooms were great. No issues with air-conditioning as there wasn’t any need to turn it on. Roof Deck was a blast to have for extra sunlight and the jacuzzi under the stars.

Pools: They large pool complex are only four foot deep. They are great for young families and a full pool over the beach makes them a nice option: The pools should be drained and repainted as it has clearly been a while (perhaps a dark blue to help keep them warmer). The lounge chairs are as comfortable as any to lie on. Also there should be a hot tub at the large roman bath near the Carriage House.

Restaurants: Not a fan of the décor, and could lezeur and the Italian joint could use some updating, and Zen could turn down the air-conditioning. Keep in mind it took 45 minutes to an hour for almost every meal to be plated. However, when the food arrived it was second to none (compared to other Island restaurants of similar cost and even ones here in the states.) We found ourselves eating on property more than we expected because the food was just that good.

Grounds: They are very well maintained and beautiful.

Lobby, restaurants, and other buildings: Management could make some small improvements to the facilities that would go a long way? Fresh flowers on the table in the lobby, touch up painting on the outsides of the buildings….Would take the property from a four star to a five star.

Management: It should be noted that I found the GM at one of the restaurants at about 7:00pm checking on staff and customer experience, and the CEO near check-in one morning
Cost: The Island is expensive and whether it is a four star or a five star property the costs at the Crane are in-line.

Overall Impressions: For me the people make the experience. At the Crane the folks on the front-line excel. By showing appreciation for them both in words and monetarily our experience was nothing short of spectacular and look forward to a return trip sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Stayed in building 5 and building 2. Building 5 was a significant upgrade. Order food about 45 minutes before you think you will be hungry :-).
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank aysos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear aysos,

You seem to know everyone personally! Each staff member you mentioned was thrilled that you found them to be so memorable. We are delighted that you did not allow yourself to be swayed by negative reviews. We have had our challenges but we have consistently improved and will continue to do so.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your residences overall. All of our buildings are going through a regular schedule of maintenance, and our two oldest buildings, the Historic Hotel and Building 2, are on rotation for next summer’s refurbishment plan.

The dining at the resort is indeed second to none with Zen’s Zagat rating of “No.1 in Barbados for Food.” L’Azure recently underwent a complete refurbishment and we believe the new décor enhances the dining experience. D’Onofrio’s Pizzeria is also a recent addition to The Village and its décor is warm, inviting and perfect for family dining.

We take great pride in the physical surroundings of the property. The Maintenance and Landscaping teams follow strict schedules to maintain the property’s beauty. We also appreciate and have noted your constructive comments and will address these.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

thought i'd write a review as ive been to the crane 7 times and think it is just a beautiful relaxing place.Its very special to me as i got married there 7yrs ago.Although there are faults here & there,its just pure luxury.The beach is absolutely amazing,my favourite is the main pool with the breathtaking clifftop view.The other pools are also stunning.The restaurants have great food,the service is slow but its expected as its caribbean style and very friendly.Over the years i have seen all the island & it is a lovely place to be.PERFECT.

Room Tip: block 5 is an advantage as you have the ocean breeze.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nette70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear nette70,

After having been to The Crane seven times, I hope you no longer regard your self as a visitor! Over the years you have undoubtedly grown with The Crane family.

We are delighted that you have witnessed the many transformations over the years and I’m sure you have enjoyed all of our recent additions such as The Village Café and D’Onofrio’s Pizzeria on your last visit.

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review and we look forward to your eighth visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Crane is lovely in every way. Staff if friendly & helpful, on site stores & eating and lots of family friendly areas but also VERY romantic setting. Even the rooms in the original old hotel are cute and feel very private.... but the new rooms are truly deluxe. well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank h-hartstarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear h-hartstarby,

We share your sentiments – The Crane is indeed lovely in every way. Thank you for taking the time to post this short but lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort’s various residences. The newer residences such as the Residences by The Sea and the Residences in the Park borrow from the colonial charm of the Historic Hotel with the tastefully added modern upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed in building 3, 5th floor (top), and had a rough start to our stay. The elevator didn't work, but got fixed the following day. The airconditioning was out of order, and maintainance couldn't get the parts to fix it during our stay. This actually affected the whole building, and it was very disappointing that it could not be fixed, and the worst thing was the lack of information.
At least maintainance provided us with two portable AC devices, which they installed in the bedroom. They were very effectful, but extremely noisy.

The room itself was great, and luxurious. The housekeeping was good, but upon arrival the bathroom floor needed cleaning, and there was no soap in the restrooms. The bed was not made either, but the bellman called housekeeping and had that taken care of.

The plungepool is cool, but as the water is not heated, it's a cold experience. The lights for the plungepool didn't work either, so we couldn't use it in the evening. Maintainance didn't even bother looking at it, even though we complained twice. The maintainance staff always looked very busy, and we observed LONG "to-do" lists, which seemed endless. In other words, The Crane should staff up, to be able to keep up with all the maintainance required.

The village itself is a cool concept, and you can buy groceries to make your own meals if you wish to do so. The restaurants serve different meals, but L'azure serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast here is about 40 barbados dollars each, but be prepared for the really slow service. One morning we had 15 minutes to have breakfast, and even though they confirmed that this was doable, they actually served the breakfast 18minutes later. Luckily our transportation was late anyway. Same goes for service during lunch. At one time we sat at a table for 20minutes before they even cleaned the table, even though we noticed the staff when we arrived. I had to go and ask if anyone was going to help us. Then there was another 10 minutes before they took our order. The staff don't have the efficiency expected in a fine dining restaurant like this.

The other restaurant, Zen, was a japanese style restaurant, which had great food, ambiance and really friendly staff, and fast service.

The italian restaurant also suffered from "slow-service syndrome", and the food was mediocre, nothing more or less.

The restaurant at poolside, serves barbequed food, which is more of a "homemade" food style, not gourmet. Friendly staff, and good food, but desserts needs to be upgraded.

The Crane beach is incredible, but the pools on the property are also great.

All in all a good stay, but the resort needs plenty of maintainance, and some of the staff needs to learn efficency. Because of the share beauty of the Crane Resort and Beach we would actually consider returning to this hotel, but normally the problems we experienced during our stay would prevent us from returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iTravelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear iTravelG,

We are pleased that you enjoyed a good stay with us overall. Each residence was designed to deliver the utmost in casual luxury with spacious floor plans, elegant mahogany finishings and modern amenities.

The Village serves as the central hub of the resort offering a variety of retail stores which cater to the every need. The General Store for example, provides a number of convenience items and groceries that may be used in the preparation of delicious home cooked meals in our fully equipped kitchens.

The long “to-do” lists you observed were simply Arrival Sheets documenting the procedures that need to followed before a residence is ready for check-in. Investigations were made into the status of your maintenance requests and it was revealed that one request was logged for you regarding the pool light and another regarding the A/c. Unfortunately the Pool Maintenance Technician that was assigned to your residence serviced a similar residence’s pool instead. We do apologise for this occurrence. You will be pleased to learn however, that the A/c situation has been resolved as our new chiller is now servicing several buildings including the one in which you stayed.

We are encouraged that you find the beauty of the resort enough to make you want to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back to create the true Crane experience for you.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews