We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Holiday”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed at the Crane from 19 December till 30th with wife and three children aged between 14 and 20.
We took a two bedroom Ocean View appartment and from the moment we arrived were impressed with the quality, both in terms of size and features, of the accomodation.
The view was superb and my son who slepped on a sofa bed for the enitre time commented that the mattress was more comfortable than his bed at University!
The swimming areas are lovely with the choice of sitting by the various pools or moving to more sucluded areas around the resort- the water was clean and regualrly tested.
The service in the resort was generally good however in L'Azure they take the normal Caribean relaxed approach to service a little far and the staff send too much time arguing with each other and not enough serving tables! -take this out and it would be an excellent rating for me.
The resort is a little isolated but on a small island like Barbados this is hardly and issue and gives a form of privacy that more than makes up the need to catch a taxi or the bus that stops right outside the resort.
Overall a lovely Christmas holiday and one we will hopefully repeat.

Room Tip: Ocean view without swimming pool view are more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdwardB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Howard B,

We are delighted that you were pleased with your residence – “Two Bedroom Ocean View with Plunge Pool” - which features many luxurious amenities such as large, marble spa bathrooms, full kitchens and comfortable sofa beds for any additional guests (as your son discovered). Our Residences by the Sea offers exceptional ocean views and we are pleased that you and your family found these to your enjoyment.

We have taken your comments about the service in L’Azure very seriously and we thank you for drawing this to our attention. The behaviour you described has no place in this resort and we have reminded the staff of such.

The privacy that the resort delivers is indeed a strong selling point of The Crane. Our guests come here to escape the demands of their hectic lives. The physical beauty of the resort and the various amenities we provide allow our guests to create a relaxing home away from home.
It was our pleasure to welcome your family to The Crane and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,754 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

This Hotel/Resort was incredible! The way it was all laid out was really well done, the facilities and luxeries included made the price reasonable. The rooms were finished to a high standard with some nice touches such as small plunge pools in the corners of the balconies etc. The size of the resort meant that even when it was busy it felt like you had your own space which you dont get everywhere. The Crane beach was the best part because the sands were what you would expect of a caribbean beach (white powder!). There were a few down sides which were that you would have to drive a fair distance to get to any other decent attractions and the atlantic sea was rough as opposed to the caribbean side (e.g Mullins Beach) and the resort was completely finished when i was there however its not so much a negative because once its done it will be magnificent. Dont miss the opportunity to stay in one of the new top hotels in the caribbean!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms include plunge pools and certain blocks over look the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Matt M,

We may have designed the resort with you in mind! Each residence at The Crane, from the Junior Garden View Suite to the Penthouse suite, features generous floor plans, luxurious mahogany finishings that compliment the simple yet elegant décor and all the modern amenities one can possibly need. Even the layout of The Village and the addition of various facilities such as the Fitness Centre and Serenity Spa were meticulously thought through to provide the ultimate enjoyment for our guests.

Located on the South-East coast of the island, The Crane is ideal for those who wish to disappear and indulge in undisturbed relaxation. Beautiful Crane Beach, which is the safest swimming venue on this side of the island, is the ideal beach to disappear to.

The Crane is now approaching its final phase of construction with the completion of the Residences in The Park. In fact, Park 6 will welcome its first guests this year.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We trust that your high expectations for the resort will be surpassed and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

After booking our ten day stay at the Crane, we began to read the reviews here and were quite disturbed. We were almost to the point of utilizing our insurance and cancelling our stay. My family of six (Ages 9, 16, 18, 20) plus my wife are all glad we decided not to do that.

Front Desk Personnel: Juanita and Shakira were nothing short of spectacular and what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The checked in on us in the morning and at night checking to make sure the day had gone well, and to see if we needed anything for the following day! I had some interaction with the other women but observed them giving other customers the same sort of excellent treatment.

Guest Services: Nicole and Kendra went above and beyond, even making phone calls late on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day to set up activities for us from their homes I watched as they and their peers handled some difficult and even ridiculous requests and behavior with a grace and dignity.

Bellman: Errol and Mathew could not have been nicer and more attentive to our needs they made sure that our cab service prices were pre-negotiated fairly and that the activities we planned were going to be what we expected

Housekeeping: Sandra, our building manager and Dianna our primary housekeeper had our building 5 room in impeccable condition and they went out of their way to make sure we saw them and see if we needed anything extra or if they had missed anything. Dianna, seeing the way we drank coffee made sure we had enough for every day.

Restaurant Staff: Servers were kind but slow at all of the restaurants. While the food was nothing short of spectacular (I will review later on) the services did not match. The one exception was Errol at the Carriage House who made every effort to pick up where the other staffers fell short.

Private Residence Rooms (Building 2): We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse ocean view for two nights in Building two. The views were exceptional with every window and door having a water view. The size was as advertised and perfect for the six of us. The infrastructure could have used some work. Water pressure in the toilet and shower were weak. The mahogany floors were ready to be refinished, and the kitchen could have used some updating. The plunge pool was useless for us but I am sure would have usefulness for others. As for the air-conditioning issues I have read in other reviews I have no comment as with the windows and doors open the temperature was always perfect:

Rooms (Building 5): Our final 7 nights we stayed in a two bedroom penthouse ocean view suite and it was simply fabulous and deserving a 5 star rating. The views were different but sensational with post card views out of every window. The floors were all tile and looked almost new. The kitchen was larger than in building two and had updated granite counter tops, and the bathrooms were great. No issues with air-conditioning as there wasn’t any need to turn it on. Roof Deck was a blast to have for extra sunlight and the jacuzzi under the stars.

Pools: They large pool complex are only four foot deep. They are great for young families and a full pool over the beach makes them a nice option: The pools should be drained and repainted as it has clearly been a while (perhaps a dark blue to help keep them warmer). The lounge chairs are as comfortable as any to lie on. Also there should be a hot tub at the large roman bath near the Carriage House.

Restaurants: Not a fan of the décor, and could lezeur and the Italian joint could use some updating, and Zen could turn down the air-conditioning. Keep in mind it took 45 minutes to an hour for almost every meal to be plated. However, when the food arrived it was second to none (compared to other Island restaurants of similar cost and even ones here in the states.) We found ourselves eating on property more than we expected because the food was just that good.

Grounds: They are very well maintained and beautiful.

Lobby, restaurants, and other buildings: Management could make some small improvements to the facilities that would go a long way? Fresh flowers on the table in the lobby, touch up painting on the outsides of the buildings….Would take the property from a four star to a five star.

Management: It should be noted that I found the GM at one of the restaurants at about 7:00pm checking on staff and customer experience, and the CEO near check-in one morning
Cost: The Island is expensive and whether it is a four star or a five star property the costs at the Crane are in-line.

Overall Impressions: For me the people make the experience. At the Crane the folks on the front-line excel. By showing appreciation for them both in words and monetarily our experience was nothing short of spectacular and look forward to a return trip sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Stayed in building 5 and building 2. Building 5 was a significant upgrade. Order food about 45 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank aysos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear aysos,

You seem to know everyone personally! Each staff member you mentioned was thrilled that you found them to be so memorable. We are delighted that you did not allow yourself to be swayed by negative reviews. We have had our challenges but we have consistently improved and will continue to do so.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your residences overall. All of our buildings are going through a regular schedule of maintenance, and our two oldest buildings, the Historic Hotel and Building 2, are on rotation for next summer’s refurbishment plan.

The dining at the resort is indeed second to none with Zen’s Zagat rating of “No.1 in Barbados for Food.” L’Azure recently underwent a complete refurbishment and we believe the new décor enhances the dining experience. D’Onofrio’s Pizzeria is also a recent addition to The Village and its décor is warm, inviting and perfect for family dining.

We take great pride in the physical surroundings of the property. The Maintenance and Landscaping teams follow strict schedules to maintain the property’s beauty. We also appreciate and have noted your constructive comments and will address these.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

thought i'd write a review as ive been to the crane 7 times and think it is just a beautiful relaxing place.Its very special to me as i got married there 7yrs ago.Although there are faults here & there,its just pure luxury.The beach is absolutely amazing,my favourite is the main pool with the breathtaking clifftop view.The other pools are also stunning.The restaurants have great food,the service is slow but its expected as its caribbean style and very friendly.Over the years i have seen all the island & it is a lovely place to be.PERFECT.

Room Tip: block 5 is an advantage as you have the ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nette70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear nette70,

After having been to The Crane seven times, I hope you no longer regard your self as a visitor! Over the years you have undoubtedly grown with The Crane family.

We are delighted that you have witnessed the many transformations over the years and I’m sure you have enjoyed all of our recent additions such as The Village Café and D’Onofrio’s Pizzeria on your last visit.

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review and we look forward to your eighth visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Crane is lovely in every way. Staff if friendly & helpful, on site stores & eating and lots of family friendly areas but also VERY romantic setting. Even the rooms in the original old hotel are cute and feel very private.... but the new rooms are truly deluxe. well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank h-hartstarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear h-hartstarby,

We share your sentiments – The Crane is indeed lovely in every way. Thank you for taking the time to post this short but lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort’s various residences. The newer residences such as the Residences by The Sea and the Residences in the Park borrow from the colonial charm of the Historic Hotel with the tastefully added modern upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
18.3 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,778 reviews
14.8 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
352 reviews
13.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,090 reviews
22.5 km away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,799 reviews
16.1 km away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#23 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range: RM749 - RM3,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing