We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
791
372
138
57
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
372
138
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course legends grill spa suite hunter valley golf buggies king room my partner main building mini bar buffet breakfast washing machine gas fireplace relaxing stay one bedroom apartment tennis courts two night stay full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Chateau Elan this weekend with a Luxury Escapes Deal. Our experience was:
Room: Clean, spacious but tired. Old uncomfortable bed and patio partition replaced by a screen.

Grounds: Immaculate and lovely to see the kangaroos outside the room.

Legends: Lovely meal and staff friendly and attentive on a busy Saturday night.

Breakfast: Average quality, could not order eggs, run out of cups during service.

Reception/Bar Staff: very friendly and attentive.

We probably wouldn't return as we were expecting 5 star but would say this is a 3.5 to 4 star.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaP3391, Director of Sales at Chateau Elan At The Vintage Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for your review.
I will pass your comments onto the team in order to improve our customer experience.
We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel looked very good on arrival. There was a misunderstanding regarding our room which “looked over the resort”. We thought it was a “golf resort” so we’d have a room overlooking the golf course. But apparently the “resort rooms” overlook the tennis courts......which are on the other side of the car park. So we had a “view” of the car park! I discussed this with reception but nothing was attempted to fix it. The rooms are unusual as the bathroom is effectively in the room with no dividing wall. The restaurant is detached from the main building, so a bit of a walk which is ok unless the weather is bad. The restaurant seemed obsessed with piping manic jazz music through the sound system. We asked a number of times if it could be changed to something more relaxing, but nothing was done. Reception confirmed that they use Spotify and that any type of music was available, but he didn’t want to change the zone in case he got into trouble! Our mini bar didn’t get restocked and we had to call reception on evening 2 to get another bottle of water. The hot water n the shower seemed to take forever to come through. On the bright side, the reception staff were excellent and friendly.

Room Tip: Beware that there is no privacy between the room and the bathroom/shower/toilet facilities.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaP3391, Director of Sales at Chateau Elan At The Vintage Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou Laurie for your review.
I do apologize that a few details were missed. I will be sure to discuss this with the team to ensure our communication with guests is more effective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading some pretty poor reviews I was not sure what to expect of the Chateau Elan...

Well I was very happily surprised. If you are like me and read or the poor and terrible reviews on places to see what people whinge about... let me tell you! Those people are on shrooms.

The rooms were tastefully decorated, clean, tidy and modern.

The staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great. If you couldn't find something to eat there you would not of found something anywhere.

We had dinner at the legends grill one night and it was fantastic.

We stayed as part of a Luxury Escapes Travel package. I hope this comes up again because we loved our stay and this made it affordable for us.

Room Tip: We had the Prague Room 109. It was great.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaP3391, Manager at Chateau Elan At The Vintage Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your lovely review.
We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again!
Feel free to follow up in Facebook and Instagram, we post a variety of great specials every few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Chateau Elan over a weekend during school holidays. Bought the school holidays deal. It was excellent.

The place is beautiful with golf course, tennis, spa, views and plenty of activities. Food was very good.

Staff is excellent... way better than most other places in Australia. Friendly and accommodating.

Villas are of descent size.

I would recommend this for anyone

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ruwantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaP3391, Manager at Chateau Elan At The Vintage Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your review.
We are so pleased you had a great stay. hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The hotel was lovely however food options were very limited. The buffet breakfast was great however the room service menu was very limited and food not so good. Room was dusty however overall cleanliness was ok. Overall it was a lovely peaceful place with lots of kangaroos onsite.

Room Tip: Purchase some snacks for the room.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lilanjelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaP3391, Manager at Chateau Elan At The Vintage Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your review.
We are currently in the process of changing our room service & lunch selection to allow for a wider variety.
I will pass your comments on about the room.
The Kangaroos certainly are a spectacular sight.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews