We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Redwood Lodge(Otorohanga)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Motel(Otorohanga)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside House(Otorohanga)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Waitomo Stays(Otorohanga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Jan Alz B&B(Otorohanga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
234
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandour honeymoonrolling hillswaitomo cavesthe main housegracious hostsloft bedroomcomforts of homedelicious dinnerthought of everythingowner's homea special placewonderful staylocal attractionspeace and quietstayed one nightthe perfect host
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

An absolute must. the website does justice to this place. We stayed over on Easter Saturday.

Liz is an exceptional host, would definitely re-visit. Our family from Aussie loved this place. It's a pity we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poobie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

We'd love to see you return for a visit, Poobie...thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Although this quaint cottage on the property of the owner's home is a bit isolated on a country road not far from Otorohanga, we were delighted with the comfort and warmth of this bed & breakfast cottage. Liz Cowan, the innkeeper, couldn't have been more welcoming and charming. The cottage is two-stories with the kitchenette, bath and comfortable living room on the bottom floor and the bedroom in the loft. The cottage was so well appointed we really felt we were 'at home!' The real treat of this cottage goes beyond the building and pretty gardens: the morning breakfast is an absolute feast of fresh-baked pastries, frittatas, smoothies and an amazing fruit assortment. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with our hosts and getting a better understanding of local attractions, New Zealand history and culture and ideas for things to visit. A truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: There is just one cottage to choose from! Lots of privacy here.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thanks so much, Greg. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and took the trouble to drive along our country road. I know it seems a bit isolated compared to city accommodation, but the plus is a 15-minute peaceful drive with almost no traffic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We're not sure where to start in our review of Kamahi Cottage. We have now stayed there twice, separated by twelve years, and adore the place more than ever. In fact, it just might be the best B&B experience we've ever had. While the cottage itself is truly special, both lovely and separated enough from the main house that you have privacy and seclusion if that is what you seek, it is the Cowans that make the B&B what it is. Liz is one of the kindest and most generous persons we have met in our travels around the world and Evan is a real pleasure as well. There seemed to be nothing that they wouldn't do to make sure our stay was everything we wanted it to be. By the time we begrudgingly left the cottage, we were reminded that the Cowans seem more like family than hosts. We will always look forward to returning . . . .

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Your (return) visit is just one of the reasons we enjoy running this little business. Please make sure the next visit isn't twelve years away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Kamahi Cottage last night. It was the highlight of our Northern Island experience. When you read these reviews you think it can't be that good...but it is. Beautiful setting, excellent breakfast, all the comforts of home, and a fantastic host!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Jennifer, thanks so much. It was a real pleasure spending time with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We knew from the cottage that Kamahi Cottage would be charming. We had no idea it would be in such a gorgeous setting. Perched on a hillside, the view from the bedroom is amazing. The gardens are award worthy in and of themselves, and Elisabeth and Evan have thought of everything to make the visit very special. Elisabeth is an incredible chef, too - some of the best meals of our entire six weeks in NZ! It just doesn't get any better than this. If there were six stars possible, Kamahi Cottage would get my vote for six stars!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChicagoEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you! Really appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews