We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome respite”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Private but welcoming. Delightful dinner prepared by Liz upon request. A cottage with many amenities but also with those as simple as DVDs to make a night in the Kiwi countryside cozy in the late fall. Homemade plum brandy. Positioned out of the tourist flow but an overnight destination worth the short drive.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank missileanyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you! It was great to meet you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

An absolute must. the website does justice to this place. We stayed over on Easter Saturday.

Liz is an exceptional host, would definitely re-visit. Our family from Aussie loved this place. It's a pity we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poobie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

We'd love to see you return for a visit, Poobie...thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Although this quaint cottage on the property of the owner's home is a bit isolated on a country road not far from Otorohanga, we were delighted with the comfort and warmth of this bed & breakfast cottage. Liz Cowan, the innkeeper, couldn't have been more welcoming and charming. The cottage is two-stories with the kitchenette, bath and comfortable living room on the bottom floor and the bedroom in the loft. The cottage was so well appointed we really felt we were 'at home!' The real treat of this cottage goes beyond the building and pretty gardens: the morning breakfast is an absolute feast of fresh-baked pastries, frittatas, smoothies and an amazing fruit assortment. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with our hosts and getting a better understanding of local attractions, New Zealand history and culture and ideas for things to visit. A truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: There is just one cottage to choose from! Lots of privacy here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thanks so much, Greg. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and took the trouble to drive along our country road. I know it seems a bit isolated compared to city accommodation, but the plus is a 15-minute peaceful drive with almost no traffic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We're not sure where to start in our review of Kamahi Cottage. We have now stayed there twice, separated by twelve years, and adore the place more than ever. In fact, it just might be the best B&B experience we've ever had. While the cottage itself is truly special, both lovely and separated enough from the main house that you have privacy and seclusion if that is what you seek, it is the Cowans that make the B&B what it is. Liz is one of the kindest and most generous persons we have met in our travels around the world and Evan is a real pleasure as well. There seemed to be nothing that they wouldn't do to make sure our stay was everything we wanted it to be. By the time we begrudgingly left the cottage, we were reminded that the Cowans seem more like family than hosts. We will always look forward to returning . . . .

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Your (return) visit is just one of the reasons we enjoy running this little business. Please make sure the next visit isn't twelve years away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Kamahi Cottage last night. It was the highlight of our Northern Island experience. When you read these reviews you think it can't be that good...but it is. Beautiful setting, excellent breakfast, all the comforts of home, and a fantastic host!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Jennifer, thanks so much. It was a real pleasure spending time with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
17.6 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
253 reviews
18.7 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
547 reviews
8.6 km away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
63 reviews
11.2 km away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
18.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range: RM1,227 - RM1,642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamahi Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing