We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the Land”
Review of Pipers Ski Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pipers Ski Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This lodge is great at being a lodge. I had stayed before with a school group and decided to bring my own family to walk up to the wee red crater. The kids had no idea what a lodge was and could not visualise how I explained it. We arrived late on Friday night (no problem), our room was warm (already frosty outside) and we slept well in our little room - did not even have to share a loo. Bruce and Diane are friendly and genuine, cooked breakfast is yum, the log cabin feel to it adds to the ski-lodge vibe that feels real and the building just merges with the environment. Happy to recommend. Happy to go back - looking forward to it already. Probably won't need to do that wee walk again.

Room Tip: You choose what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank missscarlett2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017

This is not a modern, ultra clean, swanky motel. This is a slightly down at heel ski lodge/hostel. The room we had had a double and bunks plus an ensuite.

However, there is a joy to this place that is hard to evaluate. The welcome was lovely and our Tongariro Crossing trip well organised. The large lounge and bar was a great place to chat to fellow walkers and travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OldFartonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thanks very much for your comments, even after 50 years here, this place is always a work in progress..
Regards Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Brilliant location for the crossing. We were lucky with the weather sunshine and no wind perfect conditions.Large area to sit and read or play table tennis. Hot tea and coffee available at all times. The kitchen facilities looked good we didn't use them.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank candj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Many thanks for your review on our lodge. Pleased it all went well for you.
Regards Dianne and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed for one night on the way up the country. The rooms were basic but common areas were great - big lounge area, football table, spa pool and awesome kitchen facilities. No ladders to top bunks so we had to pull mattresses down onto the floor but the owners say they are gradually upgrading all of their bunks. Owners were very helpful and friendly and booked us the perfect of combination of rooms for our 2 family group, all next to each other and near the showers/toilet. Great pub for dinner just round the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hello Jenny. Good to see our new guest kitchen is working well for our guests. Thank you for staying with us. We are working our way through up grading our bunk beds with the new addition of safety rails and laddder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The owners are very friendly and helpful. The common area has nice couches and a fireplace as well as billiard and other fun stuff. Room was extremely clean and super nice. One of the better places I stayed in. Had the breakfast which was also good.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whiteorbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

That's great, many thanks.
Regards Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
12.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,701 reviews
12.9 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
459 reviews
0.1 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 10 in Tongariro National Park
135 reviews
0.2 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
284 reviews
0.2 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipers Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipers Ski Lodge

Address: Millar Street | National Park Village, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tongariro National Park
Price Range: RM190 - RM273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pipers Ski Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pipers Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing