We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Crossing Backpackers(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tongariro Adventures(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongariro Holiday Park(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Alpine Chalets(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
60
43
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
43
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstongariro crossingthe kitchendrying roomlarge loungewalk upthe ping pong tablelinen providedcommon areas aregames roomfree tearooms are basiccommon roomawesome place to staynational park villageno frillstwo nightsmt ruapehu
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This is not a modern, ultra clean, swanky motel. This is a slightly down at heel ski lodge/hostel. The room we had had a double and bunks plus an ensuite.

However, there is a joy to this place that is hard to evaluate. The welcome was lovely and our Tongariro Crossing trip well organised. The large lounge and bar was a great place to chat to fellow walkers and travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OldFartonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thanks very much for your comments, even after 50 years here, this place is always a work in progress..
Regards Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Brilliant location for the crossing. We were lucky with the weather sunshine and no wind perfect conditions.Large area to sit and read or play table tennis. Hot tea and coffee available at all times. The kitchen facilities looked good we didn't use them.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank candj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Many thanks for your review on our lodge. Pleased it all went well for you.
Regards Dianne and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed for one night on the way up the country. The rooms were basic but common areas were great - big lounge area, football table, spa pool and awesome kitchen facilities. No ladders to top bunks so we had to pull mattresses down onto the floor but the owners say they are gradually upgrading all of their bunks. Owners were very helpful and friendly and booked us the perfect of combination of rooms for our 2 family group, all next to each other and near the showers/toilet. Great pub for dinner just round the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hello Jenny. Good to see our new guest kitchen is working well for our guests. Thank you for staying with us. We are working our way through up grading our bunk beds with the new addition of safety rails and laddder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The owners are very friendly and helpful. The common area has nice couches and a fireplace as well as billiard and other fun stuff. Room was extremely clean and super nice. One of the better places I stayed in. Had the breakfast which was also good.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whiteorbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

That's great, many thanks.
Regards Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The staff are great.
Table tennis table killed time and the lounge area was also chilled for some decent down time.
Kitchen with most amenities (for some reason no frying pans but shallow sauce pans instead?) everybody did a great job keeping it clean and lots of fridge space too!
Constant free coffee and tea which was kept well topped up.
Hot tubs were great and I imagine are even better in the winter after a day on the slopes!

Only grumbles
1. My bed the first night was so uncomfy - the slats had moved around underneath. Once this was fixed my second night was fine.
2. Considering they know a lot of people will spend a lot of time at the lodge due to limited options of much else to do (especially in bad weather) I think they should consider unlimited wifi. For now just make sure you take a good book!!!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank NaomiF2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce998, Owner at Pipers Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hello Naomi
Pleased you enjoyed the facilities here at the lodge. We are making our way through our bunk beds, up-grading them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews