We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we needed”
Review of The Five Towns Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Five Towns Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed there for one night as we had a wedding in lawrence. Location not great, but suited our purpose. Staff very friendly, shuttle to airport very efficient. I would recommend this place if you need to be in the area or you have a layover at the airport

Room Tip: Third floor less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Stayed here for a night before flying out of JFK. We were to be picked from JFK and then dropped back at JFK. The pick was delayed by around 20 minutes and the front desk also was not the most polite of the lot at the time of check-in. However, the experience with front desk at the time of check-out was good. The check-in and check-out was fine. The rooms are small but clean and the breakfast spread is basic (but you get what you pay).

The good part of this hotel is the location. Its very near to JFK so its good for a sleepover before the flight.

For the price and the purpose of staying for a night near to JFK, this is a fine option; though a little better front desk will make it better.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank voyagerclicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

First of all, let me explain away some of the criticisms I have read about this hotel, which almost made me change my reservation (these complaints are paraphrases):
- "it's in a seedy neighbourhood" - where do you live? Beverly Hills? This hotel is conveniently located close to the airport and Long Island Railway and is in a typical NY neighbourhood. It is not seedy at the least. There weren't hookers or drug dealers mulling around!
- "the service staff were not friendly" - well either it was a bad day for you or you had an attitude. The staff went out of their way to help my family (which included a 4 yr old daughter), helped to choose the right railway and provided great info. The staff were top notch for this type of establishment.
- "next time I'd stay at the Hilton at the airport" - if you can afford a Hilton, then why on earth are you staying here? It is a small hotel for overnight guests, not to surround you in luxury!
- "The noise of the incoming planes was too much!" - well it does say it is close to an airport!

This hotel was far above what I expected (probably because I was coloured by the few negative comments). Small, clean and professional, and all day goodies and free coffee and tea was a plus! Free shuttle services and helpful staff made me glad that my wife convinced me to keep the reservation. I will be staying here again for an overnight stay or two.

If you want a cheap and cheerful places to sleep that is clean, comfortable and safe, come here. If you want something that makes you feel like your in a Marriott or Hilton, then go to those hotels!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank berean700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Have stayed at this location numerous times. Sketchy part of town but really not to bad. Limited food places within walking distance especially in the winter. Good thing is that the van drivers will take you anywhere within reason. Convenient to JFK. Rooms are clean. Self serve laundry on the property. This hotel can be very very busy at times and noisy. Front desk staff is generally accommodating. Rooms are a bit dated but they have made strides elsewhere. Limited breakfast foods but it is available. As long as you realize its not the Westin... you could do MUCH worse.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
4  Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The hotel was my choice for an overnight connection. I found it to have all that I needed. The Burger King and Popeyes next door was convenient wish there were healthier options though. The hotel was clean and had a small buffet breakfast cereal, fruit, danishes etc. no eggs but it was enough. There was a tray of cakes out every time I checked and coffee and tea in the lobby for all. The only down side was the noise. When the next door person opened or closed their door you felt as if someone was at your door. The curtains are sheer had I not seen another post where the manager responded I would not have known that the black out curtains were all the way to the side. I tried to close the heavy ones also to the side but those were decorative. All in all good for a short stay.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Purple_1960s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area
6.3 km away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
6 km away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
5.3 km away
Days Inn Jamaica - JFK Airport
6.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Towns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Towns Inn

Address: 655 Rockaway Tpke, Lawrence, NY 11559-1029 (Formerly Five Towns Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range: RM 564 - RM 760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Five Towns Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Towns Motor Inn is located in Lawrence, New York, on Long Island's south shore. Despite its suburban location the hotel is less ten minutes away from John F. Kennedy Airport (2.5M) and a half hour away from LaGuardia Airport (10M) The town of Lawrence boasts numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is also surrounded by many points of interest, including recreational parks, shopping malls, movie theaters, entertainment venues, and beautiful beaches. The Lawrence train station is a safe and convenient way to experience all that nearby Manhattan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Five Towns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Five Towns Hotel Lawrence
The 5 Towns Inn
Five Towns Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing