We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOR HONEYMOON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

i stayed 2 night at Bedouin Suite it is really nice place to stay for honeymoon or relax. all book in al Maha is full board and 2 activities each day and u can get your dinner at your room free. and the internet is free

the privet swimming pool is beg enough and it is too privacy. everything in al Maha is good and i am sure u will enjoy it.

if you stay at al Maha you must forget for go out of hotel because there is nothing a round hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Marketing Team at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your valuable experience with us. We are pleased to learn that you had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at Al Maha. We look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and unique getaway in the very near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 776 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

Our 3 night stay at Al Maha was absolutely unforgettable. The location, service, cuisine and activities exceeded our expectations.

We arrived on a weekday afternoon and were met at the gate by our field guide, I would strongly suggest notifying the resort while en-route so they can ensure you do not have to wait at the gate. Our guide then drove us through the beautiful desert and explained the activities to us, we even saw some gazelles and oryx on the way!

Once at the resort we were met by friendly staff and enjoyed a welcome drink while the check-in was done for us by our guest service coordinator, who was also largely responsible for making sure we felt like royalty...and he succeeded.

The suites are amazing with their own private pool deck, espresso maker and 180 deg vista doors. A quick call to reception and a golf cart will collect you to go back to the reception and restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our pool, and opted for a breakfast and dinner to be served on the deck of our suite which overlooked a waterhole oasis... constantly frequented by onyx and gazelles. The sound of bird-life around the suites is a welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of Dubai.

The food was spectacular, and found the waiters to be friendly, professional and knowledgeable on the dishes and wines.

Guests may take part in two activities per day (usually in the mornings and late afternoons). We did the wildlife drive and took amazing photos of gazelles and a herd of beautiful oryx. The nature walk gave us a chance for an early start (6am) but was a great opportunity to learn more about the deserts smaller inhabitants. Once again, our guide was highly informative with his knowledge of the fauna, flora as well as the history of the resort.

We followed the walk up with a desert drive (aka dune bashing), this thrilling activity takes place outside the resort perimeter in the 200sqkm of unspoilt dunes of the reserve. The guides are good desert drivers and know how to get the adrenalin flowing while ensuring guest safety.

The camel ride takes place in the evenings and departs from the resort. After about 20min we found ourselves in the dunes with views of the sun setting over the resort which we enjoyed with a glass of champagne.

We are residents of Dubai and have done a lot of driving and camping in the desert as well as stayed at hotels throughout the UAE. By far the luxury and personal attention we received at Al Maha has made this resort the most memorable we have visited.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuadCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Marketing Team at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time and positing such detailed review. Reviews like yours are always very helpful for us and the guests who look forward to travel to Al Maha. Team Al Maha is proud to exceed your expectations and we are pleased to make your stay a memorable one. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the team. Once again we thank you for all the valuable time taken to post the review and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Al Maha Desert Resort is a pretty straight forward review – just looking at the contributions, the majority rate this place as ‘excellent’, and my view is not far from this rating. Unique selling points about this place:

1. peaceful privacy
2. understated luxury (sometimes difficult to achieve this)
3. the wildlife (especially the beautiful Oryx)

I really liked the private infinity pool which overlooked the vast desert, and the accommodation is great even though you stay in a luxury tent. I wasn’t massively impressed with the decoration but to be honest this is more a matter of personal preference – I’m more in favor of minimalist/zen/modern decoration which of course wouldn’t have been appropriate here…

If I had to be critical some stuff didn’t go so ‘excellently’ in my visit. The larger 3 or 4 bedroom tent a few huts down was having a massive party in the middle of the day – extremely loud house music blaring and several women screaming (alarmingly). I complained as did everyone else but nothing much happened until a few hours later (clearly the guest in the bigger hut was someone important). The only other thing that literally bugged me was all the insects. I know it’s the desert and so on so I’m not complaining…it’s just a little bit un-nerving going for an evening swim to find giant beetles in the pool…thankfully we didn’t see any snakes, scorpions or giant spiders. Overall, I’ll rate this place as ‘very good’ – I wouldn’t go again because it’s not really my thing but I would recommend it to those that are keen to explore the wonders of the desert…fingers crossed you don't wake up next to a curious spider.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eyeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Marketing Team at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for the valuable time taken to post your comments. We are happy that you have enjoyed most of the moments of your stay. However, we are very concerned to hear about the inconveniences you had experienced. Once again we would like to thank you for the recommendations you have given which is of great help to others who look forward to travel at Al Maha.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed there back in mid-summer last year when it was still managed by the owning company, Emirates Hotels & Resorts.

We stayed in a Bedouin villa, which was very spacious (even for Dubai standard) and comes with a spacious bathroom and a decent-sized outdoor private pool and conveniently spaced from each other. The interior and furniture did feel a bit dated and so were the sunbeds next to the pool.

The restaurant had a gloomy atmosphere. The buffet spread and menu option were sensible (again might be a problem for longer stays) and the food quality was good, although not outstanding.

The desert activities, on the other hand, were the best we've had. The 4x4 took us early morning to unscathed sand dunes just outside the resort and the guides (all South African) made us feel totally safe & comfortable and while we are not particularly fond of camel riding, the champagne toast, beautiful sand dunes, and snacks offered at the end of the ride made them more than bearable.

By the way, the hotel only offers all-inclusive prices (alcohols and minibars are separate, though) with full board and 2 desert activities per person. Superb value if you want to do everything in one or two nights, but not really if all you need is some a relaxation time on your own as the schedule can be pretty tight for all 3 meals & 2 activities.

If you can afford it, do stay overnight here although I don't think this is a resort you would come back over and over again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kresnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Marketing Team at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Al Maha again for your getaway from the busy life of Dubai. We thank you for taking out your valuable time and posting such detailed review. We are grateful for your feedback and take it as an opportunity to consistently improve our service standards and meet guest expectations. Your comments on the restaurant have been noted and will be passed on to the concerned department. Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Amazing.
laura wanted something a bit different for my birthday - we've done city & beach breaks, but not the desert. So, mid Jan, in the rain, we drive out of town to Al Maha.
1st impression - the lousy shack with your great-granny's furniture, where you wait for the driver to take you to the resort. 1/10 for ambiance and style. Also 1/10 for giving the right impression. We were a bit nonplussed by the apparent disrepair and state of the welcome area (needs a SERIOUS rethink please, new Starwood ownership!)
Ok, so in the hotel 4x4 to the resort. Informative S A guide, great views. Simple check in at this real gem. Nothing like the shack - fortunately - at all. Grand yet calm and not overly Arab Bling. Superb staff to welcome us, and straight into lunch. A bit rushed as we had his/hers spa time booked. But a good lunch buffet, nice selection and well prepared. Typical (UAE) slow service.
Spa. Absolutely the best spa experience we have ever had. Should have stayed 2 nights, and gone back for more. The facials were amazing - relaxing to the point that we both almost nodded off. Completely rejuvenating, and not overly expensive. Would have liked to use the steam room & jacuzzi, but we only had one night, and by now it's 4pm. And we have not yet even been to the room...so, in the golf buggy to our room.
Villa - stunning. Overlooking the desert, from our private deck & heated pool, which we appreciated in 18C weather, we had a glass of wine and watched the Oryx grazing. Massive suite, fantastic bed, and a really romantic bathroom with a killer bathtub.
We really wished we had had another day to enjoy it, and as we were there on a rare cold & rainy day, we were limited to our own pool (heartbreaking) and not able to get out and about much. But there's that big bathtub, just in case...
Dinner was good, not great. I think, on balance, the catering is their weaker link. The service is a bit above Dubai norm (e.g., slow and frustrating at times) and the food is good on a limited menu. I'd expect more given the price point and reputation the place has.
Overall, a great getaway location. We will be back. But for 2 or 3 days next time, and we'll make the most of that fab spa!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandL_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Marketing Team at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post such a detailed review. We are grateful for all the feedback provided and we value your views as the greatest tool to consistently improve our service standards and meet guest expectations. Our Team is glad to know that you had a memorable break with us. We have noted your concern on the service issues in our restaurant and corrective steps will be taken for sure. We thank you again for your valuable feedback which will be forwarded to all our associates and look forward to seeing you again soon at Al Maha.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range: RM3,386 - RM9,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing