We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility defined...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Having lived in Dubai for 18 months we have seen a lot of what the city and area has to offer. My job takes me to many 5 star hotels around the world and my wife and I have been fortunate to experience some beautiful resorts on holidays.

This was our first stay at Al Maha and will certainly not be our last. In terms of service, food, room and location this is the best hotel we have ever experienced.

Booking Process - The gentleman who answered the phone was very friendly, very clear and volunteered a lot of useful information without me needing to ask questions, in fact I don't recall having to ask any questions at all and feeling like he was actually excited about us coming to visit.

Arrival - We arrived by taxi and several staff met us upon arrival to take our bags and start the check-in formalities. This was done in a beautiful room with welcome drinks and introductions to the activity guides who organise the various safaris and walks on offer.

The Room - We stayed in a Bedouin Suite. Large, luxurious, our own private pool. Beautifully decorated with an arabian theme. A very large and beautiful bathroom. Ample tea and coffee and plenty of bathroom amenities. Plenty of fresh drinking water and a few nice touches like binoculars for viewing the fauna. From our room we were able to see Oryx and Gazelles grazing, occasionally within the confines of our suite...

Dining - This is all at the same restaurant, breakfast and lunch are typically indoors and dinner outdoors but the choice is yours. We were fortunate to have a small Gazelle come and graze on the other side of the hedge we were sitting by one evening. The staff here really came into their own. Every staff member was very personable and genuinely friendly. They all knew our names and those serving us were well informed on any dietary requirements. The food was exceptional and the staff will cater to any individual needs and requests. An extremely pleasurable experience and a very romantic atmosphere outdoors by candlelight overlooking the desert dunes.

Activities - We took part in an hour long wildlife drive, where we were taken over the desert dunes in a 4x4 (a gentle ride!). We saw Arabian Oryx, Mountain Gazelles and many species of bird and a quick glimpse of the sand fish. Our guide was very knowledgable and very accommodating with photos. (The early morning walk offers more animal track spotting).
We also took part in a Camel trek (20mins each way) taking us out to a beautiful part of the desert dunes where we were offered a glass of sparkling wine or date juice to watch the sun set before the trek back.

Overview - An exquisite resort for a tranquil getaway. The staff are clearly selected and trained to very high standard and we hope that they are rewarded and prized as it will be them that entice guests back to the resort.
The resort itself is well maintained and in a very unique location, nestled in desert conservation that accounts for 5% of Dubai's land. The resort includes a beautifully appointed spa, but we cannot offer a review on the services because we did not take any treatments on this visit.

Thank you Al Maha, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 734 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

We couldn't wish for more from a hotel - it was absolutely perfect. We completely relaxed, our room was totally comfortable. We love great food, and that is exactly what we were ate here. Simple perfectly cooked dishes.
The staff were amazingly friendly and attentive.We loved it

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Complex Online Marketing Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to know that you had a great experience at the resort.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with our ambassadors.

We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Madiha Zakir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I went here a cpl of years back to celebrate my 30th bday. Thought it would be more private and beautiful than going to the Burj and it was! (checked out the Burj when I went to dinner in the ünderwater restaurant...what a joke). Anyway back to the Al Maha. I have stayed in numerous 5star resosrts and hotels across the globe (also stayed at Mina Asalam in Dubai which was lovely). However, hands down The Al Maha wins as the most impresssive and memorable to me. The service was impeccable, the food scrumptious and the accomodation beautiful.

We stayed in a Bedouin suite decorated beautifully in a perfect blend of traditional and modern. Everything about the suite says luxury and tasteful elegance. Every item thoughtfully well placed such as the artists easel with drawing paper and pencils to draw the amazing landscape if you are inspired, which you will be. Then there's the beautiful ceilings, plush furniture and the bed. The impresssive hulk of a bed which I honestly think could easily sleep half a dozen ppl comfortably was like sleeping on a cloud. The pillows too and if you dont like the pillow then there's an extensive pillow menu. The huge marble bathroom had a large shower with good water pressure and deep tub for relaxation and romance ;-). To this day when my fiance and I smell the Givenchy fragrance like the products that they provide in the toiletries we are transported back to one of our happiest moments.

Looking out towards the private deck you can see the desert landscape and wildlife framing your chilled private plunge pool. We went in August so it was some ridiculous temperature. No matter, the very decently sized plunge pool is actually private. Unless ofcourse you've organised with reception to have a private candlelit dinner on your deck that evening) in which case modesty is required whilst staff set up the table etc. LOL

In regards to the private candlelit dinner. They set up the table and food for first course then ask what time you would like for them to return to clear your table and set up the next course. Absolutely super romantic to try this but for one thing. It's too bloody hot to hang out there fully clothed on a summer's evening! We had decided to dress up for the occasion, so with me in my evening dress and fiance in his brand new 3pc suit+tie, we sweltered through the soup course. In between courses we ended up running into the suite stripping down to our underwear and standing in front of the air-con vent desperately trying to cool down until the next course was ready. We then proceeded to get dressed when staff arrived with the next course.This comically continued through several courses, each time re-appearing from our room flustered, dishevelled and forgetting another item of clothing. LOL The staff merely tried very hard to act professional but I'm sure I knew what he was thinking. He didn't really seem to buy that our late emergence from our suite each time breathing heavily was innocent but he didn't make us feel bad about it either. Evening topped off with a bday cake that said "Happy Birthday Ms Cruz" which we thought was a riot.

Anyway, truly one of the most magical places I have ever had the privillege to stay at. The staff doted on us and the ratio of staff to guests is something like 3:1. Make sure you try the falconry, the 4wd sand dune adventure and the sunset camel ride all of which were included in the price. My fiance hadn't realised as I had that The Al Maha is an all-inclusive resort so he was pleasanty surprised when he received a minimal bill for a few items. Like I said before I went here a while ago yet I can remember ever detail of The Al Maha more so than any other hotel i've visited. Writing this review has totally brought a smile to my face, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Depends if u want privacy or convenience> Although golf buggies are used to chauffer guests. If u...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandomRose1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Complex Online Marketing Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Tripadvisor and describing it as “Absolute heaven in the Desert”.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time celebrating your Birthday at Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.
We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa.

Yours Sincerely,
Madiha Zakir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Excellent location. Excellent service. Staff is most helpful and friendly, everyone! Rooms are very reasonable size. Pool and bar are great. We had an awesome time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omikelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Complex Online Marketing Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to know that you had a great experience at the resort.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with our ambassadors.

We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Madiha Zakir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Amazing experience in that hotel!
it worth every penny
Great for couples

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Complex Online Marketing Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa through Tripadvisor.
We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience at our resort.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Madiha Zakir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range: RM3,386 - RM9,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing