We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedouin tent in royal style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

It is really perfect place to hideaway. Been there twice - about 5 years ago and last February. Few things had been changed not to better way, but the average experience is still more than very good...

1. Greeting.
Had to wait a while at the parking for our guide, because didn't call them in advance what time exactly we are coming to get the private transfer. After that all the rest was fine - quick registration, refreshments and going by cart to the room-villa trough grinnery.

2. Room.
+ is amazing without any doubt, even the standard one. Rich coffee selection. Bulgari bath products. Delicious arabic sweets. Beautiful small private pool, very clean. Luxurious bed, heavy wood furniture... But the same time everything seams very simple and cozy, no flashy colors which common in oriental culture. Very quite, birds singing in the morning... We always had morning coffee on the terrace, before going to breakfast. Definitively you would get a creative mood in such aura. In this case there is an easel and some tools for drawing. If you are a writer - this is a perfect place to come alone and get in to the special mood (you should be very rich writer to do that).
- non... oh, almost forgot ! - they didn't bring us more of those tasty sweets after we've eaten them!

3. Nature.
+ Oasis in the desert, what more to say.
- Some years back to the pool of our villa was coming big beautiful antelope, they were all around the resort, different ones... This time we saw only small ariels.

4. Entertainment.
+ Coming for one day for the first time, you wouldn't get bored: they offer you "falconry", horseback riding, camel trip... All included in your stay. Actually, they saying complimentary are only 2 choices of amusement per night for one person, but we got 4.
- a)Years ago they use to have a telescope and person who could show us stars and explain astronomy. This time we didn't find these facilities... maybe because everyone has iPhone with such function in nowadays?
- b) Falconry is not that attractive as much as it was. I remember they use to take us by car to their "farm", showing the cages where they live, explaining about every bird (even owl was there). And then, at 5 am we had champagne while watching the "haunting" show. Not anymore. This time they had 3 falcons just behind our villa, not romantic much.
- c) They have good horses, but only for experienced riders, as a beginner I couldn't use this option.

5. Restaurant. Is only one. Breakfast is rich and perfect, like it most of all. Lunch and dinner not bad too.

6. SPA
+ very nice, treatments are good (bit expensive), at the big pool with no people in we had fun photosession for each other without any disturbance. Good option to have a treatment at your villa.
- at the pool bar only few drinks are available, no cocktails. Yoga group session is missing.

Conclusion: rich, tired of work couples definitively must try at least once.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ira I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 669 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

It was a surprise visit at the Al Maha, It was our 1 year anniversary.Didn't realize we are going for a stayed over thought we are going for a lunch. Great surprise! We stayed at Al Maha for 1 night but feels like been there for couple of days as we enjoyed an it's like a dream, awesome view, for shot like a aparadise wheren you can find your peace of mind from all the stress and depression!

Service is fenominal.. Food are just fantastic nothing to complained for..Place and the suite are awesome! Massage are very relaxing.Definitely higly recommended and will come back again. My favorites are the jumbo prawns and the private pool yihahh!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessiely C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort to celebrate your first year anniversary.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha would like to take this opportunity and congratulate you on your first year anniversary.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Al Maha is the most fantastic resort in the UAE, if you are travelling to Dubai, Al Maha is a must in your travel book :)
Location is unique, the hotel staff are so helpfull and professional, and last but not least you relax, enjoy and discover the beauty of the Arabian wildlife !
Thank you Al Maha for our stay, we will come back...again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nabile26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it rewarding to learn that we have achieved this during all your stays.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

We Visited Al Maha for 3 nights during the jubilee weekend.
We landed early morning (7am).
Our private transfer was awaiting us. The resort is around an hour away (so not to bad) upon arrival around 9:30am we were greeted with refreshing cocktails with our concierge and a member of the excursion team.
We were asked if we had any special requests and all
Excursions were discussed.
Although this resort does specifically state that check in is at 2:00pm, we were shown to our hut right away.
Upon arrival we had beautiful
Deserts and fruit waiting or us in our hut :) they were very tasty :)
As room service is inclusive we ordered our Arabic breakfast right away and whilst relaxing in our infinity pool (which is larger than most private pools) the staff set up our table beautifully.
We were in the middle of nowhere, with no one to bother us with all requests brought to your feet
and it was amazing, even our huts were away from everyone.
Our hut was around 4 min walk to the reception, it was lovely to walk through the resort in the late afternoon/evenings. Sometimes it was too hot to walk so we would call a buggy, in most resorts you have to wait around 10-15 mind for a buggy, not in Al Maha, it came within an instant of the phone call request.
We had our lunch inside the restaurant, the food is ala carte, the staff are very pleasant. Always there for any requests, if you wanted something else that wasn't on the menu, they simply created it.
I really tried to push my luck on my requests but they simply would not say no :) the excursions are fantastic, dune bashing was fantastic (although I can say I've had scarier) camel riding was amazing, riding through the desert and sipping Champagne by the sunset.
An interesting excursion was the falconry, it starts at 5:30am!! Which was actually surprisingly very refreshing. We had tea/coffee and very tasty pastry awaiting for us arriving at reception
Before the falconry.
Seeing the sun rising and moon setting was a sight to remember. Look out for Oscar the owl the mighty fierce eagle
(whose name I can't remember)
Overall a great place that we were privileged to experience would def go back. I highly recommend to
Visit this resort as a part stay trip. It is simply amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tcemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and posting such through and constructive review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha!

A detailed review like yours is always helpful for us and others considering Al Maha for their forthcoming stays. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, activities and services. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Once again we thank you for all your valuable compliments and recommendations, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

this place is truly amazing. the photos online look simply stunning, yet do not even come close to doing it justice. the suite was fantastic with stunning views and the pool was incredible. wildlife was everywhere with the local oryx and gazelles grazing mere yards away. but over and above all of this was the fantastic staff. always willing to help and so friendly, they made our stay even more amazing. we will certainly return, and i cannot recommend this place to anyone enough. simply fantastic. as i write this review, it seems almost impossible that i woke up this morning in the dubai desert, and now i'm back in dreary england!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking out your precious time and writing on tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

Best Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range: RM3,384 - RM9,501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing