We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$138
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Habtoor Polo Resort(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$150
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Dragon Mart Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveller rating
1,463
102
27
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,463
102
27
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamel rideprivate pooldune bashingfalconry displayarabian oryxbedouin tentconservation reserveroyal suitemain buildinggolf buggypeace and quietdubai cityper dayour honeymoonmain poolguest relationsin room dining
Filter
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Amazing, really close to Dubai but you feel miles from anywhere. Heaps of wildlife just wonders through- although my husband came very close to being skewered by an Oryx that was quite partial to the lawn outside our villa.... :) The villas were awesome, really beautiful with our own pool looking out over the dessert, we could watch the camels go off at sunset while relaxing in the pool.

The activities were great as well, the camel treck was lovely and I really enjoyed the horse ride as well, the horses were pretty goey but if you have done some riding before you will be fine. The dune drive was heaps of fun but probably not for the faint hearted and the wildlife drive was good too. They also gave us a beautiful book as well as a christmas present- we got much better looked after over christmas than we ever would in a Christian country!

The food was really good in general and you certainly never went hungry. I was pretty disappointed though- there was a huge 10 course special banquet on Christmas eve but because I was vegetarian (which they new about- we told them months before we arrived and had already been there a couple of nights) I basically just had to sit there and watch my husband eat- I just got the 3 courses that didn't have meat in them which I thought was pretty ordinary.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would go back next time we are in Dubai, it is well worth getting out of the city and experiencing the desert.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time in writing a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities in the resort esepcially the activities. Guest Satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We do however regret to learn about the inconvenient experience during part of your stay. We would like to express that we take all matters brought to our attention very seriously, and we do everything possible to rectify these shortfalls.

Thank you once again for all your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 days with my girlfriend. Me and my girlfriend loved this hotel and place so much that we are planning to go to Dubai again in September. Everything thing was great. Perfect service, cosy rooms, lovely atmosphere.. Can't wait to stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 31Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Al Maha for your recent stay and for posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future back at Al Maha!

Best Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here last week, I brought my girlfriend here as a surprise. The suite we stayed in was amazing, with private deck and swimming pool overlooking the desert. The wildlife wandering around was lovely to see. It felt like we were the only people in the world it was so peaceful. It was here that I asked my girlfriend to marry me (thankfully she said yes) so it will always be a special place us.

Although I never mentioned that we got engaged or asked for any special treatment, the staff were ultra helpful and friendly. The food was fantastic, we took breakfast and lunch in our villa, and ate in the restaurant that evening.

They also do a number of activities, we only took the sunset camel ride which was very enjoyable. It brings you out to the desert dunes, where you stop for champagne before turning back to the resort.

If you want a break from everyday life, I can't recommend Al Maha highly enough. It's only an hour from Dubai, so if like us you live there it is very convenient to get to. Similarly as a tourist it's close enough to Dubai to warrant a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo325ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay and for posting your valuable feedback on tripadvisor.

We would like to take this opportunity and congratulate both of you on your new journey of life.
Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to seeing you back to Al Maha soon!

Best Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was our fourth stay at Al Maha. We were concerned that Starwood would have changed things. Wonderful to find that everything was just as before. The wonderful welcome; the fantastic service and the totally relaxed and invigorating ambience. And the joy of being in the middle of such a natural environment with the gazelles, oryx and the birds.

One thing had changed. The kitchen was always good. But Executive Chef David has raised it to world class.

Altogether a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort again for your recent stay and for posting your valuable feedback on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that your expecations have been met consistently during all your stays at Al Maha and we ensure that they would continue in the near future too. Your compliments have been passed onto all the ambassadors especially Chef David who has made your meal experience very special.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We splurged and stayed three nights and it was well worth it (but also long enough). The huge room, the outdoor pool in front of the “tent” and the solitude (and sand) are superb. We liked the food, especially breakfast and (long, lazy) lunches :-). No complaints about dinner either, although one does run out a bit of choices after 2 days.
Really only two (small) criticism: we expected complete blackness and oceans of stars at night and were surprised that there was enough light-pollution to prevent a real “wow”. And while the service was very good, the ladies on the staff (and please this is NOT a sexist comment!) could be a bit more cheerful...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha Desert Resort.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

We have noted your concerns on the issues you have mentioned and please be assured that they have been passed onto the concerned departments. We listen to our patrons as always and make positive changes to add value to their experiences.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and for all the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Al Maha.

Best Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews