We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$273
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
US$184
StRegis.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
US$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Dragon Mart Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ghaya Grand Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,577)
Filter reviews
1,577 results
Traveller rating
1,431
101
26
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,431
101
26
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal mahaprivate poolcamel ridefield guidedune bashingbedouin suitesand dunesour honeymoonlunch and dinnerearly morningwatch the sunsetthe reserveper dayworth every pennydesert resortmain buildingwildlife drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,577 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of our beach holiday in Dubai for my birthday (the big 5-0!) and, with hindsight and a much fatter wallet, I would happily have spent 7 nights here and 7 at the beach. Let's be realistic though, it's expensive, there's no getting away from that, but in terms of the memories you bring away from the place, it's worth every penny.

We had the 'standard' Bedouin suite (17) which was anything but standard - it was the most beautiful room I think I have ever stayed in. Our private pool was heated to the temperature of a warm bath, and was still perfect for a post-sundowner dip after the camel ride on the day that was, by UAE standards, quite cool. The camels are good fun by the way, I've never really wanted to ride on one, but we did the sundowner and it was just the right length of time with a couple of glasses of fizz on the dunes before the ride back. If you don't want to ride a camel, they will take you in the 4x4s to the same place.

We also did the dune-bashing before breakfast one morning, which was amazing, but beware as it's full-on and not for the faint-hearted! The field guides who take you out on the dunes are very cheerful and informative, and tell you definitely not to have breakfast before going out, as in their words, it'll be good value as you'll see it twice!

We also had a go at the archery with Kurt, who is a very good instructor, and if we'd have had more time, I would have liked to go to the stables to see the horses, although not to ride; they do warn you that you need to be an experienced rider as they're ex-racehorses.

Sitting on your private deck by the pool you can watch the little gazelles in the brush just yards from your sun-lounger, and one day an oryx just wandered in too but I was too slow with the camera before it trotted off again!

We used the spa facilities and had a wonderful hydrating skin and hair treatment, which was just bliss.

We had dinner on the candle-lit restaurant deck under the stars and the staff offer the ladies a pashmina in case the evening turns a little chilly - they do think of everything here. On the night of our spa treatment, I was so blissed-out (and still had a treatment on my hair) and didn't want to get ready for dinner so we had room service. This was beautifully set up in our room for no extra charge (see pic) and although the room service menu is from lunch, rather than dinner, we had a wonderful meal overlooking our own little piece of paradise.

In short, this place is heavenly and I had tears in my eyes as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissMandyinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very thorough review which is most helpful for us and everyone considering Al Maha for their upcoming travels. We appreciate your valuable time taken to write such detailed review.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the private Bedouin suites, the service, the restaurant, the activities and our fabulous staff. We will ensure that your kind compliments reach out to all ambassadors.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Absolutely amazing. We got extra activities for free, the staff were knowledgable and faultless. Food was delicious and setting perfect. It is expensive but I would go again in a heartbeat - we stayed for 1 night and I had more memorable experiences in 24hours than I have on 2 week holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlysandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon in the near future

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I can honestly say this place is faultless. Pure perfection down to every detail. You couldn't imagine anywhere more romantic to spend quality time with someone special. The villas are spectacular and seriously comfortable. You relax as soon as you get there and just enjoy the amazing views and wildlife around you. Sunbathing on your own private terrace and dipping in the pool to cool down and take in the breath taking view. I highly recommend this place. I can't express how special it is! A true treat and a piece of heaven on earth for sure! Plus the food is outstanding!!!!

Room Tip: All fantastic rooms. No need for tips!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Al Maha.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and a relaxing stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it rewarding to learn that we have achieved it on this occassion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Nice location in the middle of the desert about 50 minutes and 250 Dirhams (one way) from Dubaï down town. Nice rooms and very friendly service. You will certainly like the camel ride of this is your first expérience but we found the entertainment program very basic.
Regarding the restaurant it is not at all at the level of what à 5 stars hôtel should provide. The place is poor no décoration nothing magic not even à pièce of oriental atmosphere. The food is acceptable far away from what you could expect
Overall nice place but overpriced

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations. Detailed reviews like yours are always very helpful for us and for the guests who look forward to travel to Al Maha

We do however regret to learn about the inconvenient experience during part of your stay. We would like to express that we take all matters brought to our attention very seriously, and we do everything possible to rectify these shortfalls.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback. We would like to assure you of our best attention and look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I brought my husband here for 4 days for a birthday treat. I thought from the reviews it maybe pretentious but it isn't. The staff are excellent and make you most welcome. They treat everyone as a valued guest and go out of their way to ask & to ensure you have everything you need to make the most of your stay.
It may seem expensive but it's worth every dhm. Chef David Miras, all of his chefs, the restaurant staff and everyone from F & B make sure you have anything you want and provide the very best in quality, preparation and style of cuisine. The only down point is You will gain weight as the food offered is impossible to resist
The housekeeping staff at the villas go quietly about their work without bothering anyone but you will find they have catered for your every need - always with the most welcoming smiles.
If you can't afford to go to Al Maha on a whim then make sure you go for a special occasion. It is better to go for just a few nights here than for a week anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the villas seem to be set alone and none feel overlooked. Some have further to walk to the restaurant but you can always call for a buggy to drive you
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 72Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for writing such a constructive review on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha and it is rewarding to learn that we have achieved on this occassion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Al Maha!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews