We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is truly one of a kind. It is expensive, but absolutely worth it if you can afford it. Everything was amazing, from our arrival when our guest services coordinator and field guide greeted us at the hotel entrace, to when we left. The villas are completely private with a heated pool (which we initally felt was a little hot at 27 degrees (it can be turned down), but ended up being perfectly comfortable once we got used to the idea of it being slightly hot.) Perfect for a nightly swim as well!

Breakfast, lunch and dinner - amazingly good quality food. Service at the restaurant was excellent. After check out we had a good few hours before we had to leave for the airport, during which we were allowed to use the spa facilities and the main pool, which are also up the extremely high standards of this hotel. If you have the chance, the dune dinner picnic is highly recommended.

Overall, we have never experienced such personalised service at any hotel, everyone truly makes you feel welcome wherever you go. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Dubai area. 2-3 nights is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bente D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations. Detailed reviews like yours are always very helpful for us and for the guests who look forward to travel to Al Maha

Your feedback will be shared with all the ambassadors whose efforts were much appreciated.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We look forward to seeing you back at Al Maha soon in the near future!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 581 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Excellent perhaps falls short of describing this place that is a real oasis of superb high quality service, truly deserving of the best accolades. Having visited here prior to the Starwood take over, we now found it exactly as it has always been, with a service quality level second to none. Expensive, but exquisite. They made our short stay for our 40th wedding anniversary a truly remarkable one.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations and making your 40th Wedding anniversary a memorable one.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon in the near future

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This resort is stunning. It is definitely a luxury splurge - it may be the most expensive place I have ever stayed, but it is gorgeous. The resort is made up individual villas, all of which feature a private pool looking out over the sand dunes. It sits within the UAE's first National Park, the Dubai Desert Reserve, about 60kms from Dubai. Food is included, as are desert activities. The food is superb too. The sundowners activity is a highlight, where you ride camels into the desert and sip champagne on the dunes as the sun sets. Archery, wildlife drives, dune walking, a falcon show, are all possibilities. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and professional as well. Oh, and there are Arabian Oryx and Gazelles just wandering around the property. You may see one saunter past while you soak in the main pool. A phenomenal experience.

It would make the perfect romantic getaway as well.

Room Tip: They are all magnificent.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DevilsAdvocate028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Al Maha Desert Resort and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our ambassadors.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Al Maha, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of our beach holiday in Dubai for my birthday (the big 5-0!) and, with hindsight and a much fatter wallet, I would happily have spent 7 nights here and 7 at the beach. Let's be realistic though, it's expensive, there's no getting away from that, but in terms of the memories you bring away from the place, it's worth every penny.

We had the 'standard' Bedouin suite (17) which was anything but standard - it was the most beautiful room I think I have ever stayed in. Our private pool was heated to the temperature of a warm bath, and was still perfect for a post-sundowner dip after the camel ride on the day that was, by UAE standards, quite cool. The camels are good fun by the way, I've never really wanted to ride on one, but we did the sundowner and it was just the right length of time with a couple of glasses of fizz on the dunes before the ride back. If you don't want to ride a camel, they will take you in the 4x4s to the same place.

We also did the dune-bashing before breakfast one morning, which was amazing, but beware as it's full-on and not for the faint-hearted! The field guides who take you out on the dunes are very cheerful and informative, and tell you definitely not to have breakfast before going out, as in their words, it'll be good value as you'll see it twice!

We also had a go at the archery with Kurt, who is a very good instructor, and if we'd have had more time, I would have liked to go to the stables to see the horses, although not to ride; they do warn you that you need to be an experienced rider as they're ex-racehorses.

Sitting on your private deck by the pool you can watch the little gazelles in the brush just yards from your sun-lounger, and one day an oryx just wandered in too but I was too slow with the camera before it trotted off again!

We used the spa facilities and had a wonderful hydrating skin and hair treatment, which was just bliss.

We had dinner on the candle-lit restaurant deck under the stars and the staff offer the ladies a pashmina in case the evening turns a little chilly - they do think of everything here. On the night of our spa treatment, I was so blissed-out (and still had a treatment on my hair) and didn't want to get ready for dinner so we had room service. This was beautifully set up in our room for no extra charge (see pic) and although the room service menu is from lunch, rather than dinner, we had a wonderful meal overlooking our own little piece of paradise.

In short, this place is heavenly and I had tears in my eyes as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissMandyinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very thorough review which is most helpful for us and everyone considering Al Maha for their upcoming travels. We appreciate your valuable time taken to write such detailed review.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the private Bedouin suites, the service, the restaurant, the activities and our fabulous staff. We will ensure that your kind compliments reach out to all ambassadors.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Al Maha soon!

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Absolutely amazing. We got extra activities for free, the staff were knowledgable and faultless. Food was delicious and setting perfect. It is expensive but I would go again in a heartbeat - we stayed for 1 night and I had more memorable experiences in 24hours than I have on 2 week holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlysandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on tripadvisor and for choosing Al Maha Desert Resort for your recent stay.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Team Al Maha is proud to keep up with your expectations.

Thank you again for supporting our magical hideaway in the desert, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback, we certainly look forward to seeing you soon in the near future

With Kindest Regards
Fawad Yaqub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range: RM3,382 - RM9,499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing