We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,434)
Filter reviews
6,435 results
Traveller rating
3,045
2,298
765
216
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,045
2,298
765
216
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon room free movies starz diner foam party direct access to the pool live band kids suite swimming pool water slides kids club swim up bar great pool in house family hotel night market f b welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 6,435 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018

For the price we paid, which was nearly to RM1000, it wasn't worth it. The services of the Front Desk / Receptionist was appalling. The Breakfast menu and Staffs were not up to standard befitting a hotel like Hard Rock. Overall a very disappointing stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mglo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Mglo1000,
I am sorry to read that there aspects of your stay that left you disappointed. The hotel always aims to ensure that every guest has a rocking experience and are always saddened to know that someone has left underwhelmed.

Your comment on the service provided through the Front Desk has been shared with the Front Office Manager. It is very unfortunate that you did not receive our usual rockin’ service at the Front Desk and I would like to apologize for the behavior of our team members. Unfortunately, with a lack of specific detail as to what let you down on this stay, I have shared your feedback broadly with the management group so they can continue to monitor their team to ensure they remain as guest focused as possible.

Similarly, unfortunately your feedback on the menu and pricing is so general I can’t really provide any specific reply. Our pricing for our rooms is based purely on market demand, so our rates are cheaper when the market is quieter and more expensive when it’s a busy season like school holidays or a long weekend.

Once again, sorry that your stay left you underwhelmed. We continue to strive for improvement so I am sure you will see a better experience should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Room was lovely, spacious. Nice vibes
Breakfast was superb with a lot of choices even if the indoor area is pretty noisy and hectic, basically is like a zoo
Call room service ask for some cutlery and call second time after 20min, get reply as they short of staff, and need some time. Totally give up for keep on waiting, walk thru to the lounge (just next door), meet BELL and get help from her. She such a lovely person
Smiles of the doormen, the helpful porters Jo*****(forgot about his name), recommend us for nice burger around hotel.
Reception totally not friendly, understand they were busy but not even eye contact given at all
Last tips :hotel room did provide safe but not front desk. basically no safe box facilities after check out or before check into room. (accordingly to receptionist)

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Xzone_simigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hey Xzone_simigle,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We have very recently completed our full room refurbishment, and it's great to hear that our guests are appreciating the new decor and features.

Thanks also for your comment on breakfast. Our culinary team are always working hard to make sure our meals are of great quality and to everyone's liking. The breakfast spread is designed to appeal to a multitude of tastes, and great to see you were able to find something that suited. The hotel makes contingencies to reduce the congestion at breakfast, by opening our Pizzeria Restaurant as well, giving guests two options to enjoy their first meal of the day. I'm sorry if this was not communicated to you by our staff.

The staff you mentioned personally will all be recognized at the hotel for their great service, so thank you for mentioning them. We pride ourselves on providing a rocking stay experience for our guests, and great efforts like the ones provided by Bell and the help to further enhance that experience.

Your comment on the service provided through the Front Desk has been shared with the Front Office Manager. It is very unfortunate that you did not receive our usual rockin’ service at the Front Desk and I would like to apologize for the behavior of our team members. The manager is now investigating what is the cause this.

We hope that despite the hiccups in your stay, you will be back for more rockin' moments.

Rockin' Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Enter with Birthday surprise decor and balloon. But surprise cake to hard. Breakfast same for each day. Sound too loud on Friday night stay. Infant room too cold! Hope to win duckling lucky draw! Hope

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curiosity387627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi Curiosity387627!
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.

In regards to the cake, I have personally shared your feedback with the Executive Chef. The culinary team will do the appropriate training to ensure better consistency.

Your comment on the food variety has been shared with the culinary team, who continually work hard to improve the quality of the food served, as well as the variety of food offered on the breakfast buffet.

We do have our regular live band performances in our lobby from 7.45pm to 10.30pm Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights and quality of sound is always controlled. We have strict volume restrictions in place for our bands, to minimise disruption to our guests whilst still ensuring a great experience for those who wish to enjoy the music up close.

We hope that despite these hiccups, you will be back for more rockin' moments.

Rockin' Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

I was in Penang recently and managed to visit Rock Spa situated within Hard Rock Hotel Penang. I decided to go Rock Spa following recommendation from my sister.
My therapist(if not mistaken Chris) was excellent and professional. Definitely had a great time at Rock Spa. If you happen to stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, do visit the Rock Spa. Definitely worth it...

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank RPAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi Anand!
We're glad you stopped by to try out our spa and fantastic that you enjoyed it.

The Rock Spa at Hard Rock Hotel Penang is one of two spas in Penang which has been rated the full five stars by the Tourism Authority. Our Rock Spa massage therapists are extensively trained and can offer a wide range of treatments.

The staff you mentioned personally will all be recognized at the hotel for their great service, so thank you for mentioning them. We pride ourselves on providing a rocking stay experience for our guests, and great efforts like the ones provided by Chris help to further enhance that experience.

Hope to see you again soon!

Rock On!
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Receptionist was friendly and our check-in was hassle free. The buffet breakfast needs improvement. Staff at the dining area needs to be more friendly and hv a pleasant plus smiling face expression. Food are too spicy. Room was spacious and clean.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Mary!
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We have very recently completed our full room refurbishment, and it's great to hear that our guests are appreciating the new decor and features.

The hotel offers a comprehensive buffet breakfast, with three separate buffets including Western, Asian and cold options and offers a wide selection of dishes. Your feedback on the breakfast served has been shared with the culinary team, and they are constantly working to improve the quality and quantity of food available in the buffet.

Your comment on the unfriendly-looking staff has been shared with the Director of Food & Beverage. It is very unfortunate that you did not receive our usual rockin’ service in our outlet and I would like to apologize for the behavior of our team members. The Director of F&B is now retraining the staff in the issues you raised, to ensure better and more consistent service to our guests in the future.

Looking forward to serving you better upon your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews