We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Friendly Family Run Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helena's Cafe

Helena's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$11
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Stockport,UK.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Friendly Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Had an evening meal here and excellent it was. The menu offered quite an array of various Chinese/Malay delights, but not too many, along with a smaller selection of Westernised dishes for the less adventurous!

One of us had battered prawns (which tasted of prawns and they were whoppers!) cooked in a very delicate batter, and accompanied by a chilli sauce. The other dish was a Malay tamarind sauce based prawn dish. Both were freshly cooked and were very tasty. The service was very welcoming, the staff knowledgeable about the menu, and nothing seemed too much trouble. The temptation on a nearby table of deep fried bananas and vanilla ice cream was too much – So we had to order some of those too! These were just made for sharing, and with no calories written on them, surely they can’t be too bad for you? (In small quantities of course!).

We even ended up returning the following morning for breakfast! For those wanting a more English/European start to the day, the options are there, for those wanting a Malay breakfast, as you would expect, those are there too. So whether it’s beans on toast, noodle soup or a roti – they will not disappoint. Helena's runs on friendly staff and quality food at very reasonable prices – well worth a visit if you are in Batu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ferodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    152
    53
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple delightful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We dined here one evening over Chinese New Year. The food was simple, tasty and well priced. The waiters took note of any requests or queries we had. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hewieandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic foods.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

well,i went to this restaurant with my friends during a vacation in penang island.i have to admit that the foods are really delicious and superb.The chicken curry is a must try dish in that cafe.My friends and i went there for three consequtive days and found that all the foods are prepared with love and served freshly.Furthermore,the service are excellent even in a busy period.we feel very satisfied with the western foods.Helena cafe is a must visit spot in Batu Feringghi

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kiko_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please do not pass this little gem by! Stop and have some food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My Fiance and i discovered Helana's cafe on our second day of a 10 day visit to Penang, and we went back everyday for either a drink (banana milkshake!), lunch (bacon sandwich!) or an evening meal!

The food is fantastic. It is all freshly cooked and you are able to see the kitchen which is clean and well organised. On one occassion we were offered a Grouper for our evening meal and Helena took us into the kitched to show us the fish, which you could see was as fresh as she said it was.

The service is second to none. Helena and her mum Theresa work so hard (as well as the man at the front of the cafe and the other lady in the kitchen). They always have time to talk to their customers no matter how busy they are, and are always so welcoming and polite.

As i said at the top of this review, please do not pass Helena's by, it is a real gem, and deserves to do so well for itself. It is a fantastic cafe run by an even more fantastic family. The review is late going up as we have had no internet since December, but hopefully it proves how much we loved this place as we are taking the time to write this review a month after our holiday.

Thank you Helena, Theresa and all at Helana's cafe

Susie and Dave

PS - mum's curry is amazing!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Our favourite - went here twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Good food food, good prices and excellent customer service. Lots of choice on the menu.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Home27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helena's Cafe also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Helena's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing