We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,861)
Filter reviews
3,861 results
Traveller rating
2,675
799
242
88
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,675
799
242
88
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden wingspice marketferringhi grillrasa sayangafternoon teachi spacocktail hourpinang barhigh teaadult only poola la carte breakfastold treesfruit kebabsdress codespice cakepremier roomcomplimentary soft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 3,861 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Very poor concierge who refused to help When asked about travel options to southern Thailand but asked us to check TripAdvisor. Second encounter was refusing to help with booking of a local restaurant and refused to apologize when our dissatisfaction was reflected to the staff.

Very worn out hotel, with chipped marbles and scratched wooden furniture, missing cushion outdoor. Did not refill toiletries and towels. Poor pest control.

Got a wrinkled bathrobe on day of arrival, reassuring us that it has been fresh from the washing machine so it should be clean.

Good breakfast and restaurant, good bed and bed linen, good cocktails and afternoon tea for rasa wind guest . Very good lounge staff as well.

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank Resortbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

After a disappointing stay in a similarly regarded hotel in Langkawi I was impressed with everything the Rasa has to offer. 5 star service, an amazing pool (including a great deep part), and multiple food options. Great pitch and putt golf course with daily competitions are an example of the extensive grounds. Room was a pool view which also looked over the sea. The highlight of the resort were amazing trees that were kept from well before the build. Happy to stay again and highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Matt O,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay experience. We are happy that you had selected our resort to be your home away from home and hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We have just returned from our 10th stay at the Rasa Sayang and very much hope to return again next year.

For us, after stays in all but one continent, the Rasa Sayang is the epitome of five star hospitality. The wonderful facilities asides, it is the warm and genuine staff (many whom have become friends) that draw us back year after year.

As hoteliers ourselves we cherish our holiday time. The relaxation that the Rasa Wing provides with it's adult only pool, the beautiful Chi, The Spa and Rasa Wing Lobby Lounge are superb; not to mention the world-class Feringgi Grill where we enjoyed memorable dinners.

We draw inspiration from the attention to detail, the recognition as a return guest and the professionalism of every member of staff we encountered, Nick, Muru, Shahjahan, Mary, Liang, Revarthy, Nazri, Kumar, Farouk, Safari & Jason in particular we would like to acknowledge.

Thank you to the whole team, you embody the ethos of Shangri-La's "Hospitality from the heart" and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank villademazamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear villademazamet,

It has been our pleasure to have you at Rasa Sayang. We are so glad to hear about your fantastic experience and can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful experience.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Rasa Sayang for a week. They had some big boots to fill after staying at the Rasa Ria in Kota Kinabalu which was fabulous! Well what can I say the hotel met every expectation! The hotels grounds are fabulous the gardens are superb. The rain trees are just spectacular loving the information in the reception regarding the construction of the hotel. The pool area is great such a shame that you can't swim in the sea because of the jellyfish. The hotel keep all the grounds really clean. There are an abundance of pool towels which I personally feel some people take advantage of in the wrong way . Very few umbrellas around the pool but an abundance of sun-loungers. It's also good that the pool guys remove towels from unused sun loungers.
Breakfast is magnificent!! The staff are brilliant nothing is ever to much trouble it's great to meet an happy egg man who turns eggs out so very quickly. Coffee fab . We ate in the spice cafe where breakfast is served on our first night so much choice,so fresh couldn't move after we tried to sample as much as we could.
Our room had a fantastic view of the sunset at night and during the day the pool & gardens. The room was quite big bigger than we thought. Separate shower decent sized bath and lovely toiletries. Robes and flip flops are provided. Oh the bed was massive. Water and fruit are replenished every day . Hasan our cleaner was so helpful and friendly nothing was ever any trouble and always happy !
The hotel is well established and runs like clockwork in our opinion geared towards adults which suits us.
Georgetown was definitely worth a visit lots to see shuttle is well run and drops you centrally.The bar was very modern and had a good feel . The staff in the bar are very friendly big shout to Aries so very helpful .
Overall we had a fantastic stay with you. Your staff are amazing so happy nothing is ever any trouble. Every single staff member we came across was exactly the same - brilliant!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Elliot_Busby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Elliot_Busby,

It has been amazing to have you with us during your one-week vacation at Rasa Sayang. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed every bit of your holiday and we hope to welcome you back for another memorable stay soon!

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at Shangri-La.Staffs were helpful ,friendly and knowledgeable.I always look forward to my holiday at Shangri-La.I have stayed with you more than four times and will come back again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank She E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear She E,

We are delighted to welcome you back to stay at Rasa Sayang. Thank you for your comments and we can't wait to see you again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews