We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$207
View deal
Expedia.comUS$207
PricelineUS$207
Hotels.comUS$207
TravelocityUS$207
TripadvisorUS$207
Destinia.comUS$227
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,638)
Filter reviews
4,638 results
Traveller rating
3,172
944
311
118
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,172
944
311
118
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden wing spice market ferringhi grill rasa sayang afternoon tea chi spa pinang bar cocktail hour a la carte breakfast adult only pool high tea spice cake dress code night market spice garden cold towels beautiful resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 4,638 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2019

This hotel has been around since 1973 and while many hotels become dated and/or poorly maintained, the Rasa Sayang keeps getting better. An architecturally impressive building with incredible grounds (with some 7-8 raintrees in the massive gardens, two of which are over 220 years ago! Imagine, they were young trees during the French Revolution!). The property is gorgeous (renovated in the mid-2000s and extremely well maintained since) and the folks working there have a warm, folksy, personable way about them.

After I checked in on 27 July, one staff member remembered me from December the year before! Go for the Rasa Wing (premier wing, with access to a private pool and expansive dining options, and of course anything that the Garden Wing guests get) even though its the pricier of the two wings.

Location: the hotel literally starts the Batu Feringgi stretch and its mere minutes walk from the first night-market stall (which starts after 6.30pm or so every evening). Because it is the first resort in a string of hotels (Holiday Inn, Hard Rock, Park Royal etc.), it is quieter, more private and certainly more spacious.

Food: Rasa Wing guests get 3 'free' meals a day -- breakfast (till 1030am), tea (3-4pm) and evening canapes (5.30-7pm). Although the food is mainly (though not always) international, the standards are superlative. The morning breakfast is a mix of buffet and ala-carte choices (and the chef who prepares the ala carte dishes really really knows their stuff! I had 4 mornings worth of breakfast and every dish was incredibly delicious, beautifully presented and so professionally delivered to your table).

This is without doubt the best hotel in Penang (alongside maybe the E&O and 7 Terraces) but if you like nature, plants, gardens, pools, beach, this is definitely the BEST!

The longest staying guests clocked in at over 1,500 room nights over the years. You can totally understand

Room tip: For Rasa Wing, opt for sea-facing, as there are some rooms that face the car park and main road. Of course they are more expensive.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Dear CTC13,

We are glad to hear about your delightful stay with us. Indeed, we are honoured to welcome you to Rasa Sayang during your vacation in Penang. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next holiday.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

The Shangri-La is an oasis in what is otherwise a hectic and, sorry to say, untidy region. The hotel is very well maintained with the staff and service excellent. Our room overlooked the pool area on the third floor and was set between two large raintrees covered in ferns with gardens beneath of various vibrant green leaves and colourful Heliconias. The food is very well cooked and presented also. The pool is great with 2 lifeguards on duty at all times, with plenty of seating. Every night we were treated to a wonderful sunset as we sat in the pool/beach side bar/restaurant. I would definately come back here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank retePPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Dear retePPeter,

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to our resort. We are indeed very pleased to hear about your wonderful stay. We can't wait to look forward to your return stay soon!

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

I miss this place much! .. Its probably one of the best we've ever stayed at.
Myself, my husband and my son aged 4. We stayed 1 night in an Garden Wing Terrace Suite. Everything feels Luxurious. Luxurious Space and memorable beach views and landscaped gardens from a private terrace.

Room Absolutely Huge! 114 sqm / 1,226 sqf of luxury.
Balcony with sweeping garden and ocean views.
Luxury one-bedroom suite with separate dining room and sitting area.
Marble bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower cubicle.
King-size bed Very Comfortable.

We had Simple Dinner, Dine in Room Service.
It was our wedding anniversary and they left a cake in my suite as well as fruits and lovely Wishes Card.

The staffs working at reception, the lobby , housekeeping, the Spice Market Cafe and at the pool are all very friendly and pleasant.

The pool is great for children and is safe. The pool area is well shaded by the huge tree in the garden area. The garden and huge green lawn is the green lungs of this hotel. It is very nice to relax facing the beach under the shades of the huge trees.

We would love to come back to this hotel and it was a fantastic place to stay.

Thank you to all the team at Shangri-La.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Dear Elly R,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us. We are absolutely delighted to hear about your perfect experience at Rasa Sayang. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

We had mixed feelings for our brief holiday to the Rasa Sayang. After staying in Georgetown for 3 nights we wanted a relaxing beach vacation to unwind.

The property itself is beautiful - an older design but well maintained. The rooms are well appointed but it’s the gardens that are truly special.

However, the software of the resort is a bit lacking. Some staff are excellent, like Fatimah in the Ferringhi Bar & Grill. She was so welcoming, attentive and accommodating, all delivered with a warm smile. Our check-in experience was similar.

Other staff were not very attentive and clearly lacked experience and training. While laying out on the lawn, we asked for a cushion and rather than getting a new one, the attendant went over to a wet, soiled chair that someone had just left and brought the cushions to us. He was shocked when we asked for a clean one. When we asked to order a drink, he said no, and we had to walk back to the bar and order ourselves (we were the only guests out there). Today, the attendant was gone altogether and I had to enter the station and get towels, cushions and glasses of water on my own while the masseuses and a manager looked on, laughing. They didn’t help but rather told me to look for the cups myself.

What really killed the experience for me was the constant drone of jet skis and power boats, riding full speed in the shallows of the beach. It was far too dangerous to swim in the ocean because of these machines and the smell of exhaust was constantly wafting over the beach. Half the time the riders were actually the operators themselves - starting at 8:30 am I watched them perform donuts in front of the property and ride full tilt meters away from the shoreline as they “set up” the jet skis for the day.

If this were any other hotel, i wouldn’t be surprised. But as we are staying in the “luxury” Rasa wing on the “upmarket” Rasa Sayang, I expected significantly more.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Reza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Dear taipan852,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your feedback and will continuously improve our services by equipping our staff with more training to ensure all our guests will have a delightful stay. We apologise for the inconvenience you had experienced and hope to welcome you back for a better stay experience in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019 via mobile

It's been a long time since I stop reviewing my trip but I think this hotel really deserved the kind words from us.
After staying for 2 nights in Hotel Jen, me and wife stayed for 2 nights in the Rasa Wing and really enjoyed the stay. The shuttle was really helpful to transport us from previous hotel to the Rasa Sayang.

It was remarkable, the staffs were very polite and great (I personally respect your excellent staffs) , room were nice, locations and services just too good for us that made us reluctant to leave the hotel. Ends up just staying in the hotel and enjoyed everything. Afternoon tea and In room dining is the best part of our stay. 2 times of ordering the rib eye, soup and rack of lamb made us really satisfied.

One improvement to consider, cleanliness of the furniture on the private garden should be better since I loved to sit there and relax in the private garden.

This is the best stay in Penang. Thank you for the excellent service.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Lim_Agus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2019

Dear Lim_Agus,

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to Rasa Sayang. Indeed, we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful experience.

Best regards,
Suleiman TAR
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews