We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Has This Villa Still Got the WOW Factor?”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bayu Ferringhi

The master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The master bedroom
The property is on elevated ground, about 30 feet above street level View from the balcony on 3rd floor. Building with Minangkabau roof is Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The master bedroom
The property is on elevated ground, about 30 feet above street level
View from the balcony on 3rd floor. Building with Minangkabau roof is Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang
Outdoor jacuzzi and wooden pergola
A zen-inspired pebbled pathway
The main living room
The wet kitchen for food preparation and cooking
The dry kitchen for light meal preparation
The master bedroom
Study area of the master bedroom
Bathtub and shower in the master bedroom's ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom of the master bedroom
The 2nd bedroom on the 2nd floor
The 3rd bedroom on the 3rd floor
The 4th bedroom on the 3rd floor
Lounge on the 3rd floor
Lounge on the 3rd floor
Sea-breeze is ever present in the Villa as evident by the movement of the sheer curtain
Outdoor table-set for breakfast and tea time
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island, Penang

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jackw53
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Has This Villa Still Got the WOW Factor?”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is our second stay at this villa having stayed for a month in 2014 we decided to stay for 7 weeks spanning Jan\Feb\Mar in 2015!
There has been some changes. The villa has neighbours so it is no longer the only occupied villa in the road. This has good points – the neighbours are very friendly and bad points – one of the neighbours has a very large Alsatian dog who does not like the local wild life and lets it know by barking. Its owner has said it is still being trained!
The villa itself is showing signs of having been lived in much more than the last time we stayed, however it is still exceptional value for money. One has to admit a familiarity to the place and it soon feels like home.
The owner (TC) and managing agent (Harris) are both very responsive and prompt in replying to any queries and accommodated our midnight arrival from UK and remained flexible with our dates until we confirmed our travel arrangements.
The villa is very well equipped, well-appointed and in an ideal location for all of the attractions of Batu Ferringhi. Looking back on a previous review there is a remark about “bringing one’s own towels” which I find confusing as the villa has enough of these to equip an army!

So has it still got the WOW factor?

Well having spent 7 contented weeks in Penang of which the villa played a large part I have to be practical in my assessment WOW maybe not – Wow definitely ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locaton and Space
Liked least: The slight hill when returning from dinner!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleS...
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for large group,”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were a group of friends staying at this villa for 2 nights. All attending a friend's wedding at Rasa Sayang Hotel, which is just opposite of this property. (Yes, very convenient!). Bayu Feringhi looks like a recently completed development with villas and a condominium. The property says it sleeps 10, but comfortably, it sleeps 8 (4 bedrooms, a double bed in each). We booked the place via email through property owner, Mr.Tong. He responded quickly to emails and he is accommodating should you have any request/questions. There wasn't any guest the day before, so we were allowed to arrive earlier. Check-in was smooth, a deposit of RM500 was required.

The property is generally clean, however, the appointed agent could do a better job maintaining it. We could tell the owner spent quite alot on furnishing the place. The car porch is large, we fit 2 cars inside and parked one on the outside. The jacuzzi wasn't working and the agent said he would send someone over to look at it, but it wasn't fixed during our stay. There wasn't any hot beverages available as advertised. If you are picky, please bring your own towels. We didn't use the Xbox or blu-ray player but the TV has cable with many channels. Wifi signal was strong. We broke the main grille key which wasn't replaced even after informing the agent, thank goodness for the side entrance.

The property is great for large groups, even with its minor shortcomings, its value for money for its size and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Hi Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

The jacuzzi was damaged in one of the previous stays due to a problem with the circuit board. I have arranged for the contractor to repair it and they are waiting for the arrival of a new circuit board. The contractor has informed me that the circuit board should be arriving very soon.

As for problem with the broken key, we called for a locksmith but he wasn't free to attend that very day. The lock was changed the day after.

I take note of your comments regarding the service and shall strive to improve. I look forward to hosting you again when you next come to Penang.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackw53
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Property With The WOW Factor”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I am writing this review a week before we depart having spent a whole month in this fantastic property. My wife and I are no strangers to Batu Ferringhi having spent many holidays here since the mid 80's however this is the first time we have stayed outside a hotel and boy has it been worth it. I did a lot of research prior to booking and found the owner most helpful and truthful as to what the property was and what it contained. He was also very prompt at replying to my emails from the UK and confirming our arrival and departure arrangements. There is an English saying which goes "you don't always get what you see" and with this property you really do get what you see. It is spacious, well laid out and very well equipped. It is arranged on 3 floors which meant that when we were joined for 2 weeks of our stay by our family they were able to take over the top floor and be almost self contained. The villa and the location not only feel secure but are regularly patrolled by security guards as well as having its own security cameras. I wont go on about the facilities that are already mentioned in the other reviews just to say they are excellent. Yes we did and have used the Jacuzzi and also the X Box though not too much. Although we have eaten out most of the time and certainly for all of our dinners the property is more than adequately equipped to do breakfast and lunches with both a breakfast bar as well as a dinning table that will seat up to 6 people easily. I could go on and on about this property but will end by saying a big thanks to Albert who looks after the property on a day to day basis, to the excellent cleaning staff who really do clean the place and off course to Tony C for letting us share a wonderful experience. Will we come again - you bet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and location
Liked least: The slight hill to get to the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay at the Villa and would love to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan C
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My friends and I ( 7 ladies and 1 gentleman) stayed for 4 days 3 nights in this excellent clean bright spacious huge villa from August 17-20th. The check in was smooth.

The agent was waiting for us at the Villa despite us being 50mins late.

This Villa is located opposite Rasa Sayang Batu Ferringhi, a mere 100 meters away. You can walk to the beach after you cross the main road, you have to watch the traffic though.

The Villa is HUGE. Level 1 - is a very comfortable lounge where we gather for breakfast and chat after dinner. This Level is where the TV, Xbox ( we never use), kitchen ( we never cook, no need as Penang food is excellent) and washing room are. There is also a bathroom on this floor.

Level 2 has 2 nedrooms - the master bedroom, and another bedroom. Each room is ensuite, and the size of the rooms are generous. Master Bedroom has a King size bed, sofa, TV, a writing table. The other room has a queen size room.

Level 3 has 2 more smaller size rooms with queen size bed and a shared smaller bathroom. There is also a small lounge on this level and a balcony which overlooks the "jungle" and glimpse of the sea. I stayed on this level and every morning without fail I would see a family of monkeys in the "jungle" which make the stay more interesting.

The Villa is fully aircon, bath towels are provided.

If I could change anything I would advise the owner to change the beds on level 3 to 2 single beds and to change the design of the bed sheets which is currently floral.

We feel safe at all time at the villa.
For older folks they might have a problem climbing from level one to three
On the main road, taxis are plentiful.
The Villa also has a jacuzzi which we never use.
Villa is also fully wifi on all levels and signal was great.

If I ever return to Penang I would love to stay at this place again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relax Atmosphere
Liked least: Bedsheets
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$220
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing