We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Impeccable Beach Property”
The Beach Estates - Head On Ocean View!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beach Estates - Head On Ocean View!
Beachwood - Style + Design + Comfort Sandy Lane's Private Beach Access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Beach Estates - Head On Ocean View!
Beachwood - Style + Design + Comfort
Sandy Lane's Private Beach Access
Sandy Lane's Beachfront Gate
Beachwood - Master suite + view
Sandy Lane Beachfront
Beachwood's Sunset View!
Catching Air at The Beach Estates
Sandy Lane Estate - design elements
Sunset directly in front of The Beach Estates
The Beach Estates Lifestyle!
Beachwood - Guestroom
Local organic fruit!
Sandy Lane - Stylish lounge areas!
Sandy Lane - Master guestroom suite!
Sandy Lane - Pool Cabana guestroom
Sandy Lane - Light and bright guest bathrooms
Beachwood House - Ocean view kitchen!
Sandy Lane's head on ocean views!
Beachwood House - Ocean view dining !
Sandy Lane's ocean view dining!
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CDymondNO...
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Impeccable Beach Property”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I have been to a lot of beaches. And a lot of beach vacation rentals. I can say with absolutely no hesitation that this was the best experience we've ever had. The property manger arranged our arrival to the Estates from San Jose via single engine planes and taxi, all we had to do was give him the flight info! And that basically set the stage for the rest of the trip. Everything we were interested in doing from horse back riding, to renting ATVs and even having Billy, the personal chef, cook for us was all handled by the concierge, Christian. The housekeeping was flawless and attentive.
You can see for yourself in the pictures that the property is gorgeous. The pictures don't even do it justice. Everything was modern, clean and spacious. Top-notch property, heaven really. Already planning the next trip here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was immaculate and right on beach.
Liked least: Not a single complaint.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsschmit
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most amazing place in the world!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

First off, let me just say I was hesitant to give a glowing review because I want this house to always be available whenever I want to go back! I stayed at the Beachwood house with 7 of my friends and we can't say enough about how amazing this house is. The photos pale in comparison to the real deal, we all actually gasped when we entered the house. The staff is so friendly and so helpful, Christian was available to answer all of our annoying questions and Lubis and Hermano did a great job of keeping the house and grounds spotless. After walking up and down the beach every morning for 7 days, it was clear we were on the nicest part of playa Santa Teresa and in the nicest house. The area has so many great things to offer and everything Christian and Dan suggested was spot on. I highly encourage anyone who stays at Beachwood or Sandy Lane to have Billy cook for you at least once (we had him come 3 times) his food is incredible and he is such a friendly addition to the experience. His restaurant Chicken Joe's is great too! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. This vacation has definitely set the bar for all others to follow. Thanks Dan and the staff at the Beach Estates for creating an unforgettable experience. We will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKK2014
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Essentially flawless”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

You are likely reading this review because you are wondering if the reality of this rental property could possibly live up to the online description and photos, whether the house is worth the money, and if you can trust Dan the owner/manager to handle the details so you can truly escape and enjoy. And, having recently returned from our first trip to Santa Teresa and our stay with a group of family / friends at Beachwood, I can answer yes, yes and yes.

Santa Teresa is a scruffy-ish town stretched along a dirt road that is pot-holed and rutted enough to have earned itself an article in the New York Times. The town is not terribly easy to get to, or to get around. The Beach Estates, its amenities and especially the people there including Ugo, Lubis, and Herman, allow you to get all the fun of the the quirky surf town and retreat to pure luxury in your gorgeous Architectural Digest-worthy open plan house in a stunning, palm-lined beachfront location.

As beginner surfers the waves in front of the house proved pretty challenging, and we learned they were actually pretty quiet when we were there. The pool, lounge chairs, and shade were welcome respite from the heat and humidity. We felt very safe and extremely well looked after - with Ugo checking in every morning, making reservations, arranging surf lessons, rentals, horseback riding, and anything else we asked about.

The piece de resistance though -- certainly a highlight of our time in Santa Teresa and possibly the highlight of our two-week trip to Costa Rica -- was having chef Giovanni and his lovely girlfriend look after us for three of our five evening meals there.

At first we'd asked him to come for just one night, on the day we'd arrived from Arenal. But once we'd had a taste of Sicily there in our own beach house, and enough leftovers for a gourmet lunch the next day, it was all we could do to talk ourselves into going out to eat at all (and there are some great restaurants in town). Giovanni came back two more times... he is a passionate and clearly highly skilled professional, and he charmed us with his chef's hat, his skills, and the food (!). It was dinner and entertainment in one. We had a pasta course every night, including gluten-free and nut-free (pre-arranged on request) which was MOST impressive and very appreciated. The marinated grilled Amber Jack fish Giovanni bought at market and prepared for us was, we all agreed, quite possibly the best fish we'd ever tasted. Not to mention the table was beautifully set, the kitchen left spotless, the omnipresent smiles and the extremely reasonable cost. We were wowed.

All in, the Beach Estates experience exceeded expectations. It was wild and remote enough (there are resident iguanas, crashing waves, beach dogs a plenty, a small stream to cross to get to the ocean, and howler monkeys along the driveway) combined with pure, modern luxury.

My only reservation about going back is whether a return trip could measure up to this first time. For now, memories of the sunsets, sandy beach and surfers will have to suffice.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
postrente...
Glendora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect setting for an exceptional family vacation”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing vacation! I was using TripAdvisor to plan a summer vacation in Playa Santa Teresa for my family of 4, parents and in-laws, and I wanted to find a place that had the same feeling as the Florblanca resort in a house. I'm so glad that we found Sandy Lane and decided to stay here. The house was perfection on the beach. Clean, comfortable, secure, good for young kids (ours are 4 and 6) and on a perfect beach. Dan, the owner, handled every detail before we left including arranging charter flights from San Jose to Tambor, getting a rental SUV and stocking the fridge. He also answered all the questions we all had so we arrived prepared for the week at his home. And he must be some sort of celebrity down here because everyone knows him and the houses and spring into action when they hear you are staying there! The staff (Christian, Herman and Lubis) were courteous and attentive to our every need and are the nicest people I've ever met. Christian (the concierge) came to check on us every day, booked surf lessons and tours, made dinner reservations and he even arranged to get a birthday cake delivered for my son's 6th birthday. Steps from the house is a surfers paradise and a great place for kids to play and explore. Soft sand, lots of shells and sea creatures and only a few people spread out over miles.

I have to admit that the food at the restaurants in Santa Teresa is outstanding. Our favorite spots were Burger Rancho, Brisas del Mar (go for sunset), Koji and Chicken Joe's. Amici had surprisingly large portions and The Bakery was great for breakfast. Product C has beautiful fresh fish that you can eat there or take back to Sandy Lane to cook (we made fish tacos out of Amber Jack). We walked up the beach to FlorBlanca for drinks and massages (20% discount for staying at Sandy Lane) and bought food to cook at the local markets.

I can see my family returning to Sandy Lane time and time again. It was truly an amazing experience and provided a perfect setting for memories that will last a lifetime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$725
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing