We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for weekend away”
Review of La Rodiere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Rodiere
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at La Rodiere last week. The location is brilliant. Montreuil, less than an hour from the shuttle, is a delightful small town with good walks and lovely restaurants. The walk around the ramparts has stunning views and you can walk along the Canche River. La Rodiere is splendid: spacious and impressive, but friendly too. We had a very spacious and elegant front room with completely modern en suite bathroom. Lovely view of the square. Initially I thought the noise of cars on cobbles might be annoying, but it wasn't noticeable at night and we soon got used to it anyway. There are some lovely back rooms too if you think it might bother you. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the service was really friendly and helpful. We shall certainly be returning and recommending it to friends. The option of hiring the whole thing is one I shall be suggesting to my book group.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a charming house in the center of the town with five bedrooms and bathrooms as well as a seperate family room/cottage in the garden.The hotel is very welcoming and is comfortable with good views over the square and is tastefully decorated.For a rate of ahbout 90 Euros it represents good value with breakfast.The whole building can also be rented for 450 Euros a night. .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRCCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just had excellent two nights at this charmer of a B&B. Montreuil is an interesting place and the surrounding countryside lovely. Owners of La Rodiere very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We had a lovely quiet room at the back (I think all rooms are en suite) with lovely period furniture. The breakfast and reception rooms are similarly interestingly decorated and the spiral staircase is just wonderful. Very good value too!

Room Tip: Suspect rooms at front may be noisy in summer when windows open as its cobbled streets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here at the same time as 'awful and dusty' and had a very different experience. The house is lovely - it has real character - large rooms with good light, nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable and nothing was wrong with our bathroom. Of course, this is an old house and it is a B an B, not a hotel, so everything is not going to be brand new and slick. We prefer a place that has character and is comfortable and relaxed.

The host, Ed, was welcoming and helpful. He was also very tolerant about our friends (we were part of a book group) coming to fetch us and waiting in the lobby. He kindly let us have the use of our room on our last day to leave our luggage and use the toilet etc. Altogether we had a good experience staying here. The location is excellent and Ed suggested a good cafe for lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuD884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I too cannot recommend La Rodiere to anyone because all of the same reasons why EzzyA experienced. Our room although overlooked the small square, it was dirty and dusty, you could smell the dust in the room. The shower in the bath tub did not work, the bath tub was falling apart, the bath toiletries were not La Rodiere, but of other hotels from around the world. Our breakfast, well they should have at least gone to the bakers next door and get fresh croissants. The owners were nowhere to be seen. Bad management

Room Tip: Over look the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoze l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larodiere, Owner at La Rodiere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

It's always disappointing when a guest is not satisfied with the accommodation, luckily it's a rare event, but i believe necessary to investigate and comment on our findings. Firstly nothing negative has ever been said about that room in fact quite the opposite, and when we stay at La Rodiere we stay in the room in question and we have never smelt dust! I looked at the shower and the shower head does works but was damaged so does need replacing. Had it been brought to our attention at the time, we could have done something about it. As for the bathtub falling apart I could see no evidence of such a major flaw. The toiletries are from a selection of major five star hotels around the would such as the grand Hyatt, Raffles and the Shangri La. It's meant to be an asset and not a negative, but if you prefer a sachet of shampoo from the local wholesaler with our name on it, then that's not going to happen. Ed who was working at La Rodiere is a family member and yes the croissants are bought daily from the next door shop as our receipts confirm. I have spoken with Ed and he tells me nothing was mentioned to him at the time, which is a pity as we will do our utmost to rectify any issues clients may have, if of course brought to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreuil-sur-Mer hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
713 reviews
6.8 km away
Castel des Anges
Castel des Anges
#1 of 3 in Wailly-Beaucamp
246 reviews
0.2 km away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel LE VAUBAN
Hotel LE VAUBAN
#7 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
118 reviews
0.1 km away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
323 reviews
6.3 km away
Chateau La Feuillaie
Chateau La Feuillaie
#2 of 3 in Wailly-Beaucamp
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rodiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rodiere

Address: 77 rue Pierre Ledent, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chambers d'hotes that thinks it's a hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing