We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter in Chatel”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet du Caire

Chalet du Caire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet du Caire
Living room Wood stove (logs provided)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Chalet du Caire
Living room
Wood stove (logs provided)
Bathroom
View from road
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
View from road to village
Chalet from road
Val d'Abondonce
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Partridge Green, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter in Chatel”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have been to Chatel several times both to ski and in summer and have stayed in number of different types of accommodation. Chalet du Caire was excellent and exactly as described. The location is great for all the three ski areas with the bus just a 1 minute walk down hill. You can also walk into town (uphill) and if you are feeling out of puff half way up you can break up the walk with a look round the beautiful Atelier Theo interiors shop. The chalet has great views all round and the sound of the mountain waterfall and bubbling brook is lovely to hear. It is set back on a quiet road and the ski bus runs past every 20 mins or so. We had a car, but only used it for a supermarket run, so it is not essential to have one, as you can go to the smaller shops in town on the bus or walk up as previously mentioned.The chalet is bright and with windows on all sides feels spacious and light, which is not always the case with mountain accommodation! We were a group of 6 - 4 adults and 2 kids and we had plenty of space and gallons of hot water. The woodburner for cooler evenings and the lovey wraparound balcony for warmer afternoons were great. Boot room in the garage was great as we could get our gear with plenty of space with a nice view out of the door each morning. The kitchen is well equipped for a weeks self catering but there are also many restaurants that are easily accessible in town. Can highly recommend this very good, very well priced accommodation, for either winter or summer.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Thanks, Stephanie. Really pleased you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Toppesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family chalet and extremely comfortable”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely cosy chalet with plenty of room for our family. Extremely well furnished and really appreciated supplies of wood and a few kitchen vitals. Downstairs double with shower room was perfect for my son and rest of us all spread out upstairs. Sky tv, games and videos were all a bonus too. Very handy for linga lift, although we ended up driving to pre la joux which only took 5 minutes, plenty of parking there. Loads of hot water and nice to be welcomed after long drive with a few beers and bottle of wine! Went to the La Loy restaurant a few minutes walk away and it was very good. New spot on the mountains folie des neiges also excellent, but busy! Great ski break.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet, great location”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chalet du Caire is a spacious, self contained chalet in the alpine village of Chatel, part of the Vallee d'Abondance. I stayed for a week this summer with 6 friends during which time we tried just some of the many activities available in this part of the French Alps.

The bedrooms are a good size and the living space is great, with a garage for all your gear on the ground floor and a large open plan lounge/dining room/kitchen on the 1st floor. Large patio doors open out to the terrace which has table / chairs and a BBQ where we ate every morning/evening and there's also a balcony going around the chalet which is great if you want to sit and relax with the mountains all around you. There's a selection of games in the chalet, plenty of books and DVDs as well as Sky TV and a solid wi-fi internet connection.

We had 2 hire cars and there is plenty space outside the chalet for parking - we could have had more if we'd needed it.

In terms of location, it's a 10 minute walk up to the main village where bars and restaurants and the Chatel cable cars are, as well as a few supermarkets (although a larger intermarche is a short drive/bus ride away). There is a bakery in the other direction though, which we walked to most mornings for fresh baguettes. As well as that, there is pitch and putt, crazy golf and mini tennis courts just along the road, and a bike (or ski in winter) rental shop near to the bakery.

A bus stop near to the chalet (2 mins walk) lets you get on the regular town bus which will take you to Linga or Pre-la-joux for uplift to the larger Portes du Soleil ski/mountain bike - area - only a 5 / 10 min journey - the buses are great and happily accommodate bikes/skis depending on season.

I've stayed here in winter and summer and would recommend to anybody keen for an alpine holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonny_Uis...
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday stay in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a truly unforgettable stay in Chatel for a weeks skiing in January. Chalet du Caire is in an incredible setting - nestled in the pretty town of Chatel - with stunning views of the mountain range from the living room and balcony! The chalet is large with room for a big group of friends but is also well laid out so it never feels cramped. The kitchen is well stocked with all the appliances you could need including dishwasher. The living room is really comfy with panoramic views across the valley, and when the log fire is going it is super cosy! There had been a large dump of snow when we arrived so we even managed to ski all the way to the chalet! A great holiday - hope yours is too!
Jonny Ingledew

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$121
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing