We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for older couples, single or semi-disabled, large firm beds & everything close by.”
Review of Indigo Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indigo Mare
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

If your looking for an easy access to beach, pool, store almost attached, and restaurants on site great breakfast buffet, in a beautiful setting and grounds, Clean within close proximity to the main street attractions with good professional service id highly recommend. Nordic languages spoken,

Room Tip: Up-graded to partial seafront room, quiet, good A/C and balcony all 4 floors easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tonymartin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siamitros2016, General Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Madame/Sir
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay in our Hotel and hope to see you again in our hotel.
Sincerely yours
Yannis Siamitros
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Just arrived for non refundable 3 days. Looking forward to leaving. AC blows slightly cool air and if you want a fan speed above low is super noisy. Wifi slow during 10 percent of time it works at all. Only get one cardkey "for safety" and 20 euros
If u lose it. This may be their main source of income. Beach nice but for now at least unswimmable due to big waves.

5th and far and away worst place we have stayed in Greek islands.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank eternaloptimist815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siamitros2016, General Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear “anonymous”
Though our aim is always to improve the service and the products offered to our guests and we are taking in good consideration any suggestion that helps to this improvement in your case we are sincerely afraid that your comments regarding our hotel are not meant to help us improve some of our services!
In fact, you claim that your room air conditioner, at the low speed was blowing slightly cool air and if you were puting it at higher speed it was too noisy!
So we wonder if you informed the reception - as you should - so we could have solved your air condition problem, unless we assume that all the air conditioners in the hotel's 88 rooms are just as noisy as yours and the rest of the guests do not complain, because they are all deaf!
You also claim that Wi-Fi - which is completely free of charge throughout the entire hotel and its rooms - is slow and only works at 10% of the time!!!
Please note that the Wi-Fi connection of our hotel is 50 Mbps and its speeds may not be extremely high - although usually 150 guests are connected to it out of a total of 250 guests staying in the hotel - but the speed is sufficient for someone to surf into the internet!
We do assure you that our Wi-Fi is working continuously, since as you can see, you are the only one of the 234 guests who commented Indigo Mare in the trip advisor and who complains that only 10% of the times Wi-Fi was available!
Besides you claim that we have given you a single key card to enter to your room – we wonder how many keys you actually needed. – You claim that we told you that if you missed it the charge was 20 €!!! Please be advised that all our guests - as you did - upon their arrival at the hotel, are signing on a form bearing the following information:
A charge of 20€ will be applied for a lost Safe Deposit Box key, or a lost remote control.
-And certainly not for the cardkey-
We assure you though dear Sir that this is not the main source of our income, as with great malice you wrote!!!
We are pleased that you rated us as the 5 worst hotel you have visited in Greece since we are sure that in the way you think you will probably have created a scale of "bad" hotels that will exceed number 10!
Oh yes! We almost forget it. We apologize for not asking the Almighty God to calm the waves of the sea during your stay here

Regards
Yannis Siamitros
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stayed at Indigo Mare 29.07.17- 05.08.17. We are very happy with our stay and could recommend this hotel for visitors to Platanias.

Positive:
- Very nice and helpful staff. Always smiling and they were the main reason for our positive experience.
- Clean hotel area and rooms.
- Well functioning aircondition in the room.
- Nice location with walking distance to everything.
- Good food (we just ordered lunches from the menu and didn´t try the evening buffet)
- Ok selection in breakfast buffet.
- Always plenty of sun beds available on the beach area.
- Did I mention the amazing staff?

Not so positive:
- Limited sun beds around the pool
- The pool was normally "occupied" by children and toys (and they are having a great time). It was however not a problem to go for a swim to cool down, and if children playing is a problem you should go for an adults only hotel.
- A bit crowded around the breakfast buffet if you hit "peak rush".

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siamitros2016, General Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Madame/Sir
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay in Indigo Mare Hotel and hope to see you again someday.
Sincerely yours
Yannis Siamitros
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel and to Crete. The breakfast buffet was good and consistent, the dinner buffet was ok but we had a wider and tastier selection last year. There was a limited fruit and dessert selection......no loukoumades and no watermelon !!!
Our server Mixalis was excellent and actually all the servers were good. They make you feel part of the Indigo Mare family and Mixalis has a wonderful personality.
We also met our maid Eleftheria, what a wonderful woman! The rooms are clean and well kept.

The hotel is situated on the beach and is very close to the main strip in Platanias.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siamitros2016, General Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Sir
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay in our hotel
Our aim is always to improve the service and the products offered to our guests and we are taking in good consideration any suggestion of our guest that helps to this improvement
We do hope to see you again in our hotel.
Sincerely yours
Yannis Siamitros
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

My trip to this hotel was cancelled due to mismanagement of hotel staff. I made early booking in January, but in March they called and told me, that there had been a mistake in prices they had offered me and I must pay 370 euros more (15% extra cost). I tried to arrange a compromise as it was not my mistake, by including some extra payment services (for instance air conditioning and late departure). They answered nothing. Just be aware of their mismanagement staff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Putchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siamitros2016, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Indigo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Mr. Ryzhkov
We remain speechless when we saw the comment of yours regarding our hotel!!!
We wish to remind you that your booking was made to our hotel through booking.com.
The mistake with the rates was absolutely a miscalculation of booking.com and not of hotel’s management!
To the mail you’ve send to us regarding air-conditioning and late departure -again via booking.com- Hotel did replay immediately accepting your requests by sending back a confirmation e-mail to them.
Booking.com was supposed to forward you immediately our confirmation to you request!
It seems that they never did so!
We regret to tell you that we are not willing to accept your accusations, since it is not a Hotels fault but a miscalculation of booking.com!!!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.2 km away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
182 reviews
0.7 km away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
3.9 km away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Chryssana Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kolymbari
300 reviews
0.7 km away
Esthisis Suites
Esthisis Suites
#6 of 68 in Platanias
147 reviews
1.1 km away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Mare

Address: Kykladon | 450 meters from Platanias main square, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: RM293 - RM1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indigo Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Indigo Mare hotel-apartments complex lies on the most beautiful part of the golden sand of Platanias beach. It offers hospitality, comfort and serenity giving the unique opportunity to relax right next to the sea.Indigo Mare is one of the most famous complexes in Platanias village. It is 15 minutes drive from Chania town. The airport is 30 minutes drive away and the port of Souda in 20 minutes, both through national road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Indigo Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Mare Hotel Platanias
Indigo Mare Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing