We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for a family celebration.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
146 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 146 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

NorthStar...
1 review
“Perfect house for a family celebration.”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2022

Portland House is a fabulous house in a perfect location. I chose it to celebrate my 90th birthday with my family, there were 14 of us ranging in age from 3 years old to 90. We had a wonderful time. We visited local attractions such as The Heights of Abraham where we went up on the cable cars. Juliet was very helpful giving lots of information regarding local attractions, catering companies etc The house is beautifully furnished and very well equipped. I would not hesitate in booking it again.

Date of stay: May 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoPlaces5...
1 review
“Great Family Reunion”
Reviewed 20 April 2022 for a stay in April 2022

Our family travelled from Australia,USA Eire and Wales to meet up for long overdue celebrations and to welcome new and impending additions. Portland House was totally suitable for 17 of us with plenty of space, comfortable rooms and facilities. Active members did a lot of walking,cycling and even outdoor swimming in a local pool. Helpful notes from owners re activities.Shops etc within walking distance.

Date of stay: April 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katieloug...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful venue - perfect for our special weekend”
Reviewed 18 April 2022 for a stay in March 2022

Stayed here with a group of ladies at the end of March. The property is perfect for groups - beautifully decorated, well equipped and spacious. Great bedrooms (almost all with en-suite), spacious lounge to relax in, sizable dining space and fun bar room.

Visited the nearby Matlock Bath, just a short walk from the property, lovely with plenty to see, nice walks and pretty river-side setting.

Highly recommed this place for special get-togethers for larger family groups/friends.

Date of stay: March 2022
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val K
1 review
“This house has everything you need for a big get together.”
Reviewed 16 November 2021 for a stay in October 2021

This was an annual family get together (our second time here). Standards are high and there's room for people to be in different areas or be all together.
The bar, was very busy for most of our stay! Dining area was fabulous, as we could all eat together. The kitchen and utility were well organised and plenty of equipment too. Bedrooms were amazing too with most having en suites.
The owner of this property is an extremely good communicator and is quick to respond to enquiries.
There are plenty of local visitor attractions, e.g. Abraham Heights, Carsington, and we took the kids to the leisure centre to nearby Matlock one day too! They loved it.

Date of stay: October 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbaraan...
Hehxam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2021 for a stay in October 2021

Eleven friends had a fabulous weekend stay at Portland house - from initial booking enquiry, through covid related rearranged dates to pre arrival information etc Juliet was amazing. We had help with booking caterers, information on the local area etc etc . The house itself is perfect for any get together - well appointed, well kept and with everything you need on hand.
I would thoroughly recommend and look forward to the next time!

Date of stay: October 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.