We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pizza”
Review of The Pickwick Inn

The Pickwick Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Bigbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open for lunch and dinner seven days a week and throughout the afternoon on Saturdays and Sundays, The Pickwick Inn is a great treat for everyone, from those looking for a light lunch to those after a gourmet three or four course meal. Our fully stocked bar is also perfect for those wishing to sample a local real ale or to unwind after exploring the fantastic South Devon scenery.
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Staying on a nearby holiday park, a member of staff recommended the Pickwick. We were not disappointed. Even though it was a busy Friday evening and we hadn't booked, they still managed to squeeze us in.The food was delicious and according to my husband the pizza was the best he had ever tasted. I had pasta with prawns, tomato and chilli which was equally as delicious. We enjoyed it so much that we came back the following evening for an equally enjoyable meal. I would highly recommend it. Friendly staff and dog friendly too, should you have a furry friend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Food very indifferent. My main dish was incomplete. 'Chef probably forgot to put it on', I was told, when I queried it - he was mainly on mobile 'phone outside the kitchen, as the place was very quiet. Service was willing but amateur. Won't
be returning, as there is a choice of very good places in the area.

Thank JohnEdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at The Pickwick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hi John. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry that you had a disappointing meal at the Pickwick. We took over, as new owners of the Pickwick at the end of April, and sadly, I think that in the time leading up to our takeover there was a decline in the quality of service that people had come to expect from the Pickwick. We have been here a few months now and would like to think that the standards have improved significantly, as reflected in the recent reviews we have received. We are sorry that you had a negative time at the Pickwick and would hope that you would consider returning so you can check out some of the recent improvements.

Regards,
Carrie-Ann and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped on the way home to get a bite to eat after being at the beach. Lovely looking inside and pleasant bar maid served us. Sat outside to catch the last of the sun. Firstly seeing chef smoking in his chef whites was bad enough but then walking past us with his friend swearing was shocking. Bread on the bread and oils was stale and obviously a few days old and still served to us. Burgers were dry and the salad on the plate brown and clearly Not fresh. Wouldn't return.

1  Thank South-West F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at The Pickwick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are very sorry that you had a negative experience at the Pickwick. We have taken over the Pickwick at the end of April and found that there were some areas to be improved to bring the Pickwick Inn back up to the level people had known and love. We have recently changed our burgers to include a lovely beef and chorizo burger that has been getting rave reviews. Our former head chef has now returned to the Pickwick and has been doing a phenomenal job of improving the overall standards in the kitchen. We hope you will consider giving us another try; we are sure you won't be disappointed.

Regards,
Carrie-Ann and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

After waiting 45 minutes for a starter we asked how much longer food would be..Waitress returned 5 minutes later to tell us our food hadnt even been ordered!!

1  Thank jmfoxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at The Pickwick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are so sorry to hear about the trouble that you had at the Pickwick. Sadly, we have to accept that on occasion errors do happen and in that instance it was human error that allowed this to happen. We have spoken with the staff and implemented new procedures to ensure that this kind of mistake won't happen again, but sadly, all we can do is apologize.

Regards,
Carrie-Ann and Rob
(the new owners of the Pickwick, as of the end of April)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely walk to Ayrmer cove and then lunch here.

Friendly staff and great prices, pizzas are homemade and taste epic.

I can highly recommend this family friendly pub.

1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pickwick Inn also viewed

 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
South Brent, Dartmoor National Park
 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Pickwick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing