We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We never want to leave Tinkers Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tinkers Cottage

Tinkers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tinkers Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Tinkers Cottage
Modern Kitchen
Living Area
Dining Table
Sufficient crockery & cutlery
Landing with Toy Box
Double Bedroom
Distant Sea Views
Modern Bathroom
Afternoon Tea Outside On The Patio
Dogs Welcome
Communal Paddock
Bigbury Court
Burgh Island at Bigbury-on-Sea
Boat House at Bantham
Tidal Road at Dawn
Kayaking in Bigbury Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bigbury, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
vees1954
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“We never want to leave Tinkers Cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Tinkers Cottage is a real home from home, well equipped, quiet but close to all amenities, the owner is very friendly and helpful and has been looking after us for all the years we have been going there. Highly recommended, we visit two or three times a year and have never had a problem!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
You know you are always welcome at Tinkers Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
853frazer...
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely cottege, but not where trip advisor says it is.”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage itself is a lovely well equipped with plenty of room, plenty of parking is available.

Broadband speed is about 10mbps there is little or no mobile phone coverage so wifi calling is a must if your phone has it. We are on EE and 02.

A couple of things really annoyed us about the stay.

1.) The cottage is not where Tripadvisor says it is. The TripAdvisor map says its in Bigbury-on-sea a 9min walk from the beach which we thought was perfect for us the dog and my elderly parents. Not knowing the area you have to assume the map is correct. We tried to google street view the area but it was unavailable due to being a private road.

It turns out the cottage is in Bigbury village itself a 50min walk from the beach which means driving to get there every time.

All the TripAdvisor email correspondence states Bigbury-on-sea.

Don't get me wrong in some parts it does say Bigbury village but we had to go with the map as we don't know the area. The actual cottage is 2 miles away from where the map says it is.

We felt lied to.

2.) This is the first time I've stayed at a cottage where you are asked to pay for WiFi using an honesty box, I think it recommends paying £2 an hour. I can understand paying for phone calls because they will be an extra charge to owner but Wifi should be included in the rental as it is no extra cost to the owner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review. All your comments have been taken into consideration. I was surprised by your comment that Trip Advisor shows the cottage in Bigbury-on -Sea but thank you for highlighting this point. I have spoken to Trip Advisor and the correct location is now showing on the map.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty cottage in a perfect location ”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Tinkers cottage is equipped to a high specification for a relaxing week in this beautiful unspoilt area of Devon so close to Bigbury on Sea ...a great spot for surfing. The cottage provides a restful home from home environment and what an amazing view of the sea from the twin bedroom. This is one of our favourite areas and having found such a perfect cottage we will I am sure be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Tinkers Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
matt1003
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very homely”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is lovelly and felt like home as soon as we arrived. Well set up dishwasher and washing machine everything you could need

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing