We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place for hollidays”

Review of Stable Cottages

Our four two bedroom cottages at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our four two bedroom cottages at sunset
A typical living area in one of our two bedroom cottages Comfortable seating for five people in one of our two bedroom cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Our four two bedroom cottages at sunset
A typical living area in one of our two bedroom cottages
Comfortable seating for five people in one of our two bedroom cottages
Open plan living, dining and kitchen area in a two bedroom cottage
Kitchen area
Modern, fully-equipped kitchen
New kitchen with plenty of storage space
Kitchen
Dining table seating  6 people
Dining table
Bathroom with shower
Bathroom storage
Double bedroom  in one of our two bedroom cottages
Double bedroom
Single bed in one of our twin bedrooms
Bunk beds in one of our twin bedrooms
Bunk beds
Our heated indoor pool is shared between guests in our six cottages
Steam room
Our games room has a selection of childrens' toys and games as well as a pool table & table tennis
Our mini gym
Our two bedroom cottages
Views from the cottage over the Thames Estuary
Each cottage has its own picnic bench on the lawn at the front
Countryside views
Another stunning sunset over the River Thames
Views over the Thames Estuary after the harvest
A snapshot of some of the outside space here - the cottages are set in 20 acres of countryside
The front of our two bedroom cottages
Antique former farm machinery on site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rochester, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Guide6570...
1 review
“WORST EXPERENCE EVER”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I booked to have an indoor pool this year, but i would not have booked this property due to the resricted hours on the use of the pool, every day without fail we had to find some one to unroll the cover. The illustration was false, as the impression in the photos showed a big pool but in reality any more than 5 swimmers and the pool was full. I am a diabetic and i needed the heating on at night it was not avaiable. Finally because we had not vacated on time the owner kept 20% of our damage desposit something i never had to pay before i felt this was a RIPOFF and an appalling greedy attitude of the owner. WE PAID A DAMAGE DEPOSIT AND DID NOT BREAK ANYTHING!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Hi John, I am very sorry you feel you had such a bad experience. It is a shame you did not speak to us regarding these issues while we were here. We saw you on a daily basis when we uncovered the pool in the morning for you and you and your grandchildren seemed to be enjoying the pool. At the time, no body else staying here was using the pool so you did have it to yourselves during its opening hours of 10am-6pm every day. When you came around at 9.30pm and asked for your heating to be put on Jason came straight around and put it on for you (despite the fact it was August and the weather was warm) so I am not sure why you have stated it was not available - unless you mean it wasn't available until you asked? As explained to you in our email correspondence, you left the cleaners waiting at your door for over an hour whilst your family played in the games room. We do make it very clear that check out here is by 10am (this is explained to you upon booking, shortly before arrival and on signage in your cottage). This is to give us time to get the cottage clean and ready for the next guests that are arriving that day. You were charged a £20 late check out fee (as per our terms and conditions of hire that you agreed to) to partially cover the costs of the cleaners (it didn't completely cover the costs and certainly wasn't greed on our part) that we had waiting outside your door. We feel this is more than fair. Best regards, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melenisto...
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for hollidays”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our big cottage N°6 was great. Inside was warmly, comfortable, clean and with everything one needs. Very homely. Outside, the view was amazing with sunshine or the lights at night. The facilities were perfect (the swimming pool a real plus with the kids).
The owners were always responding quickly to our demands and very friendly and helpfull.
The 6 of us loved every minute of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: felt at home
Liked least: would have liked to bring a second car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Hi Mrs Leniston, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in cottage 6. We are glad you made use of the pool and enjoyed the views from your cottage. We hope to welcome you back if you ever return to Kent. Very best wishes, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sillyjill...
1 review
“We love it here”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We love coming here. This was our third time. It's fantastic for young families. The swimming pool is great for teaching children to swim and the kids love the games room. The location is peaceful and relaxing and the accommodation is just perfect. I'm sure we'll be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Hi Jill, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We hope to see you all again soon. Warm regards, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Extraordi...
1 review
“Fantastic stay!!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Made you feel very welcome, nice and clean with good facilities. Owners are really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and looking forward to staying again! Thank you very much, Jules :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Hi Jules, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Very best wishes, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Hi Tracey, we have been running our family business for over 17 years and endeavor to be as helpful, friendly and welcoming to our guests as we possibly can. We feel the number of positive reviews and high percentage of returning guests we have year on year is testament to this.

We were most surprised to read your review given that you had not mentioned any of the points above in our extensive correspondence following your stay.

To address some of your comments directly however:

We checked your cottage over following your review and can find no urine stains on your mattresses (we examine all mattresses after every departure and change them regularly). Neither were there any evidence of stains on the photos you sent us after your departure in which you can clearly see the mattresses without protectors or bed sheets on…

Your husband told us on more than one occasion that the cottage you were staying in was ‘ten out of ten’ and he ‘couldn’t fault it’. The only thing he seemed ‘upset’ about was the mistake you had made about your check out date and that you had been very aggressive to one of our team, sending them off in tears when they came around to show you printed copies of the emails in which you had changed your check out date. In spite of this, we endeavored to make the situation as stress free as possible and offered to let you stay another night (which we didn’t charge you any extra for!) as luckily we did not have anybody arriving in the cottage until the next day. Your husband came around to the house and told us it was very ‘big of us’ not to charge you given your behavior and could not have been more apologetic about the whole situation.

Regarding your comment about the ‘rules’, for the comfort of all of our guests and neighboring farmers we have to have guidelines in place for people who wish to bring a dog. We did explain these to you several times before your arrival (both over the phone and via email) to make sure they definitely suited you as you were staying for several weeks and you assured us that they did. We don’t usually take dogs of this particular breed but because we had made the rules so clear to you and you seemed so sure they suited you we decided we would be able to accommodate him (at no extra cost). It became clear as soon as you arrived however that you did not wish to respect them. The last thing we want to do is have to remind a guest that their English Mastiff should not be urinating up the children’s swing set and running loose all over the fields. Unfortunately for both hygiene reasons and the safety of all the other children and families staying here this is something that we had no alternative but to politely address – an uncomfortable conversation for us and certainly not something we want to have to do on a guest’s first day here. At the moment we accept dogs by prior arrangement. The many complaints from other guests/our neighbours during your stay have seriously made us reconsider this policy and whether it would be better to have a ‘no dogs’ policy altogether. We have however come to the conclusion that this would be a great shame for the majority of people (like us) who don’t want to leave their dog at home when they rent a cottage. Out of the hundreds of people who have stayed here with dogs over the past 17 years, the vast majority have been respectful and considerate with their pet. Those who don’t think the doggy rules will suit them either don’t book or make alternative arrangements for their dog whilst they are away.

We take great pride in keeping the areas surrounding the cottages clean and tidy and have two large waste bins next to the parking area at our customer’s disposal. These are supplied by a local waste contractor and emptied every week and there is no rubbish just ‘lying around’.

We regularly review our pricing and believe that our cottages are moderately priced and represent good value. We are sorry that you didn’t think your stay here was worth the money and that you were so ‘disappointed’ however we are confident the service we provided to you was the best possible under the circumstances.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing