We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”
Review of The Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleshill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swan
Ranked #7 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2017

On arriving at the hotel there was no welcoming greeting and the women whom checked us in was unfriendly and confrontational. The pub looked a mess and not inviting. Our rooms were tired and a blackness on the ceiling around the bathroom window. The bathroom floor tiles were cracked and none of the windows closed properly. Definitely not going back and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alijacks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017

I am used to eating Crown carveries going regularly to Radford Bank in Stafford and Mill Farm in Cannock.
The Swan has not been updated like the other pubs and it's a little tired especially the toilets in the restaurant bar area.
The young bar man hadn't got a clue. We asked him the difference between the three different carveries and he couldn't tell us and wasn't bothered to find out although another member of staff came behind the bar they didn't help with the forming queue and he didn't ask him about the different carveries so we never found out.I guess 50p is the answer the difference in price.
Also asked if they had a drinks menu which they don't. Had they any Prosecco especially in the smaller bottles he didn't know and again didn't bother to find out.
The Carvery is not bad value for money. About £4 for a small one and the meat and veg were edible for the money.
Had a lovely Baileys sweet and really enjoyed it.
All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank joycieRugeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I booked into Innkeeper Lodge therein lies the first issue....its actually called the Swan so drove passed it twice! The bar area doesnt smell pleasant when you're booking in late with the children either. Stayed in room 209 which was up 4 different flights of stairs thankfully both children were up for the challenge. Room was small for 4 people but for an overnighter was just fine. Chuffed that they had left lots of milk with the tea & coffee facilities. Bathrooms need updating badly but there was hot water, plenty of tissues and toilet paper. My own O2 signal was good and didn't even bother ask about the hotel wifi; it a really old rabbit warren of a building so I'm guessing it'd struggle. Continental Breakfast was included and surprisingly good for what we paid and I couldn't have asked for more. Overall, for what I paid and as a stop over, I was content.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank mamaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The room was shabby, the sheets did not fit, the heater was hanging at an angle, the shower rail was rusty, the tiles and grout were mouldy, the loo flush was broken, the walls were paper thin. The seat was marked, the bed cushion was grubby. The breakfast was the worst I have ever experienced. Only good point was the pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The accommodation is a little tired looking but I understand it is about to be refurbished. Having said that, for the money,(£70 for 2 people for 2 nights) one could not fault it. The room and ensuite were very clean and had everything you needed. It is in a good central position in Coleshill & convenient for the NEC as well. The breakfasts were great. We just had the continental (which was free) a full english was only £4.29). Did not have an evening meal this time (as was visiting family) but have before and, again, very good value for money. No problem parking. Would recommend.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs so be sure to advise if you have any difficulty with this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autoquest2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coleshill hotels
1.2 km away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
0.1 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
0.3 km away
Coleshill Hotel
Coleshill Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleshill
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
628 reviews
1 km away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#1 of 10 in Coleshill
255 reviews
0.8 km away
James Guest House
James Guest House
#2 of 10 in Coleshill
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: High Street | Birmingham, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range: RM567 - RM1,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Coleshill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing