We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spice Island Hotel & Resort Zanzibar
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2017

i had an amazing time in Zanzibar with my friends. spice island hotel contributed to making our stay really worthwhile. we looked forward to breakfast every morning....everything on the menu was good, the ambiance was perfect, the jetty bar was nice, they even let us sleep under the stars on the jetty bar on one of the nights, the spa was awe-mazinggggggggggggggggg. the staff were very warm and always willing to help. they helped me plan a surprise for my friends on the trip. i'll forever be grateful to God for that trip to Zanzibar but most especially for our stay in spice island. loveeeeddd it

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017

The hotel organised for our pick up at the ferry terminal - the driver was punctual and courteous. We drove for approx. 1 hr south and we had a warm welcome at the location, where stunning views, a beautiful swimming pool and lots of ambiance in common areas. The jetty was being repaired throughout our stay which was a little disappointing. More disappointing was however the food and beverage choices. One the first afternoon we were informed that the oven was broken and that there was no minced meat for burgers or bread for sandwiches. Our menu options became really limited and on one occasion we had to send back the beef because it has spoilt and the following day the chef cancelled our chicken order as that meat had now spoilt too. We kept asking ourselves why no better use was made of options provided locally e.g. for fish BBQ and dishes with fresh fruit and vegetables. The
lovely local restaurant staff were clearly embarrassed by the situation but did not have much to work with. Management also had miscalculated on the drinks side which limited us most days to coke and watermelon juice - none of which we fancy. The breakfast - that usually is something to look forward to on holiday - had nothing to offer but the fluffy pancakes that the chef miraculously managed to make for our children and some very basic omelettes for the adults. No meat options and not even a plain slice of toast in sight. The entire experience would not have been so bad if it was not because everything was extremely expensive and disproportional with quality or service at the hotel. The sub-optimal manicure and pedicure offered costed USD 100 and was an unpleasant experience (tools were not cleaned between use and our feet were smeared in nail polish when done). The most expensive item on the menu (55,000) was MORE expensive than the most expensive item on the menu at the Hyatt in Stonetown where we took refuge the last day to enjoy deliciously cooked delicacies from the region.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

After one month travelling through Tanzania, we decided to spend our last days in Tanzania at the Spice Island Hotel in Zanzibar, which was the best decision we could have made. The food was amazing, the staff really welcoming and we felt like this is the best place to relax after the (sometimes) exhausting time of travelling in Tanzania.
Try to get up early once, to watch the breathtaking sunrise just at the beach of the resort. If you have energy left, the hotel also has a nice offer of water sport activities, so we could easily combine an active morning with a cozy afternoon at the pool or a drink at the Jetti Bar.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

It was our third time on Zanzibar and just out of curiosity we stayed for the third time in a different Hotel. By comparison this well located resort conviced us most. Although we just had 3 nights in there, we really enjoyed the atmosphere in Spice Island Hotel, which was very relaxing and placid on hand, but full of spirit and energy on the other hand as well. The management and the stuff is really down-to-earth and interested in the needs of the guests at all time. The facility was clean, very green and with some frisky details. It doesnt looks cluttered and all the seperated little thatchroof-houses made us feel like we had a lot of privacy in our kindly furnished accomodation (with air conditoning) during our stay. The food (especially the breakfast!) was delicious and varied and the hotelbar offered some noble drops that toped our nights finally off. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maik1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Great music, the interior design here is exceptional A* , food was good but very expensive!! So Little disappointing considering it was low season, staff are super friendly, even pets here were very welcoming ;)

Recommend coming here only on special a occassion especially if your a backpacker and on a shoe lace budget.

Thanks Spice Island for awesome atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank swissnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
5.3 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
567 reviews
5.5 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
1.9 km away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.7 km away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
1.1 km away
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Island Hotel & Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Hotel & Resort Zanzibar

Address: Paje-Jambiani Road | P.O. Box 2484 Jambiani, Jambiani 2484, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: RM562 - RM1,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Island Hotel & Resort Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life`s the beach, enjoy the people, feel the culture ofZanzibar!Enjoy the sophisticated island cuisine, fresh seafood and fish as a combination of Indian, Arab, Indian and African dishes; here finds itsperfection. What could be more romantic than a dinner under the starry sky of Zanzibar with accompanied by the full moon of the Equator or aperfect breakfast on the beach with the rising morning sun of the Indian Ocean?Our oriental lounge gives you a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean. Seated on cushions, you can read here, listen to the music or just simply relax and let your soul flow. Over the sea pier youare reaching our Jetty bar and the water sports center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spice Island Hotel & Resort Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Hotel & Resort Zanzibar Jambiani, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing