We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
26
14
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
14
9
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We just returned to California from an amazing trip to Costa Rica.
Uvita is a charming town with so much to offer those who just want to experience the laid back Tico life style.
We arrived in Uvita with no reservations or expectations. We were lucky enough to come upon the Bahia Azul, fortunately it was the shoulder season and there was room for us.
We definitely recommend this place with all our hearts, being centrally located, and you even get a great breakfast every morning!
Their excellent dinner menu was an added convenience to a long day exploring the empty beaches and waterfall hiking.
Beautiful Whale's Tail park is just down the street and a nice walk away.
Perhaps I shouldn't give praise to this place so as to keep it available for my next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EdelweissLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

I am really Glad to know that you enjoy our place, it was a pleasure to have you here and I hope to see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

My husband and I found this place literally as a back up plan to our failed attempt at a stay in Drake Bay. We wanted something close to the beach with electrify, running water, and air conditioning. That's pretty much all this place had. The furniture was dated and the mattress was old. It rolled toward the middle and was hard. We stayed on the first floor and there were people staying above us. Any time they were awake, we were awake. It was like a 500lb person was running across the floor. The room smelled extremely strongly of toilet freshener. So much so that our clothes smelled of it. There were no washcloths or hand towels, only two, small bath towels. The good thing was that the air conditioning worked. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. We ended up going elsewhere after the first 2 days of breakfast there. We had many ants in our room and actually the last day we were ready to check out found termites. Also, the nearby beach is not very close (5 minute drive) and you have to pay to park and you have to pay to enter the beach as it is a National Park. We went up the road about 15 kilometers to Playa Dominical where the beach was better, you didn't have to pay, you could rent boards, chairs, umbrellas and much more. Difficult to set up snorkeling to Isla del Cano as they need at least 6 people to make it count for the ship and it is likely that it's people from other hotels to try and make that work.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor as the bottom is extremely noisy
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

I am sorry to hear that you don't like are place, are typical costarrican breakfast and our beautiful beach and the Marino Nacional Park either. If you like more Dominical definitely it was not the place for you, you really try to keep aut place simple and clean like our beautiful Nacional Park. If you have ants in your rooms was because you did not let us to clean your room in the 4 days that you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Let's start by saying I am not one to complain, nor am I high maintenance. When I arrived the motel had notified me that I had only booked for one person. I booked through Expedia so I guess I they hit me with a technicality of not clicking two persons. They charged me an additional $95.00 to which I paid with no hesitation. It should be noted that when you go on the Expedia website...the same price appears whether you have one or two persons.

The breakfast is the same everyday and very bland (scrambled eggs, beans/rice and toast or tortilla). The breakfast is very, very basic. We started going elsewhere in the morning after the having that three days in a row. We did have dinner on the first night and it was very good, I must say.

The rooms are very basic with dated furniture and mattresses. There was not one shower in five days that I was able to get hot water. They say there is a switch at the top of the shower head however; there is still no hot water. Several guests told me the same.

We had a pipe burst from the toilet that flooded our room thus saturating a leather bag and shoes. This is not their fault however; no apology or even a concern towards us. We were cleaning the room along with one of the staff for about an hour. No one ever approached us after to see if we needed anything. Some of our clothes and shoes were soaked. Again, not a big deal but they did not seem to care.

I would do your research prior to coming here. Do not expect much.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017
Google Translation

Lo siento mucho que no estuvieramos de acuerdo a sus estandares, somos un lugar modesto, sencillo y muy amigable con el ambiente, estamos ubicados en una zona muy vulnerable muy cerca del Parque Nacional Marino Ballena y por eso tratamos de vivir en armonia con la naturaleza. Lo siento mucho lo que pasó con su habitación, se quebró un tubo de baño y eso provocó la inundación, eso fue casi a la 1 a.m, yo estuve ahí abriendo la habitación y viendo el problema y luego dejé a mis empleados limpiando la habitación miestras yo llamaba el fontanero para que viniera a primera hora en la mañana y cuando ustede llegaron no quise ir a molestar por que ya era muy tarde. A primera hora estaba el fontanero aquí y tuvo que esperar por largo rato por que ustedes no salían de la habitación y cuando salieron en lugar de pasar por la recepción a ver que podiamos hacer con la cosas que se les mojaron se fueron inmediatamente y no regresaron, hasta en la noche, de echo ese fue el único día que no desayunaron aquí y los demás días siempre me decían que querían el desayuno típico y que les gustaba mucho. Lo siento por los inconvenientes pero estas cosas se podian resolver hablando conmigo aquí en el hotel y no por este medio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to eat get lost and enjoy the peace and quiet and enjoy a meal you will never forget✌️️what a great day to stumble upon such a lovely time ...time if our lives such good food and fun....

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Exploration675125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure to have you in our restaurant, I am really glad to know that you enjoy our food, I hope to see you back soon.

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I enjoyed staying at this hotel, and the area, so much that I changed all my plans and spent the whole week here. It's a charming, smaller family owned hotel that is both affordable and within walking distance to the gorgeous beach. A full breakfast is included in the price. The food is fabulous! The owner, who speaks excellent English, went out of her way to assist me with anything I needed. She made arrangements for tours, called taxis for me and made sure I got a good price, translated when I needed to talk to a doctor, had someone come by the hotel when I wanted my nails done, and answered endless questions about the area, and the whales, with a smile. But most importantly, as a single woman traveling alone, she made me feel secure and comfortable. I would absolutely stay here again. I loved the hotel, the food, and the price!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

It was a pleasure to have you here in our hotel and to help you out wherever I could.
I am really glad to know that you enjoy your stay and our food.
I hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews