We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
332
56
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
56
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiki villas outdoor shower infinity pool road noise howler monkeys costa rica small kitchenette welcome drink view of the ocean individual villas reception area manuel antonio catch of the day white faced monkeys gorgeous views spent nights excellent hosts
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Nestled in the mountains is a quiet and peaceful hotel that you will not want to leave. The property is relatively small, and accommodates only a few guests at a time. You may be there and not see any other guests outside of getting meals. Your villa will be private and peaceful. The sounds of the animals in the area provide an extra level of peace.

The rooms are clean and surprisingly spacious, and the views from your balcony are as relaxing as you would think a nature escape would be.

The food was great, and the chef is accommodating to dietary needs or any preferences. You can mix and match and even have custom meals created, as long as they have the ingredients they will accommodate.

The staff is very friendly and they made us feel right at home. A big shout out goes to Gerald who made sure everything was managed properly for us. Booking taxis, room service, activities, providing information, and pretty much anything we wanted.

The property is clean and well maintained. Waking up in TikiVillas is very relaxing. The sounds of the animals are gentle alarm clocks.

Getting to Uvita can be a hassle. A good idea to get there right away instead of waiting for a shuttle is to either rent a car or reserve a taxi. It is $200 USD directly through TikiVillas. Uber is about $125 from SJO. It is about a 4 hour drive to and from the airport, but the scenery is beautiful and it doesn't feel like a long ride at all.

All in all I would absolutely recommend TikiVillas and was completely satisfied. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in Costa Rica you should consider this place. You will NOT be disappointed.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derekarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for taking time to write this review! TikiVillas has 9 private villas. The property was developed to help assure guest privacy. The hotel is settled on an 11 acre private nature reserve which explains the abundance of animal life nearby. There's nothing like waking up to the sounds of the rainforest at daybreak! We're proud of the hotel's restaurant: Las Velas, and the attention paid to details in the kitchen. The Tiki team is pleased you had a terrific experience. Driving from San Jose takes about 3 hours. There are regional flights (Sansa Air) that reduce the travel. Quepos is the nearest airport and it is a 45 minute drive to TikiVillas, but most guests prefer to have an automobile. Guests may feel free to contact the hotel for suggestions and guidance on transportation to/from the airport. Pura Vida!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I spent 6 nights enjoying the pool, food, and terrific service. We live & work in a tourist area and the service and attention Jason and Gerald provided were truly impressive. They arranged tours and restaurant reservations, communicating my daughters food allergy information. The bonus was their sense of humor; we laughed all week. We sincerely felt that they wanted us to have a great experience. I agree with other reviews on the views & tranquility & animal sightings.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Flyer764097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review! Jason & Gerald are two terrific hosts. TikiVillas is very fortunate to attract and retain team members who truly have their hearts in hospitality. We're also very fortunate to attract guests who appreciate the significant difference they can make to your travel experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed here alone for four nights and loved it.

The place is beautiful and peaceful. There was no noise from guests and I felt like I was alone most of the time which was fantastic. There are only six villas so it's quiet.

The pool is beautiful and so are the views from.each balcony.

It's really close to the road so easy to get to nearby towns and attractions.

The staff were super friendly and helpful and we're very service oriented. I also had a massage at the spa which is open to the rainforest and totally beautiful.

I'd return in a heartbeat.

Thanks for an amazing stay!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank 201einavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We arrived at TikiVillages and were absolutely blown away by the beauty of the coast and the balinese style bungalows. Be prepared to get your steps in! The staff were very accommodating and friendly! We ordered some appetizers and relaxed by the infinity pool. We had a taxi pick us up and take us to Los Laureles for supper based on Trip Advisor recommendations. We totally enjoyed the opportunity to meet Cindy and her family. On the way back to the resort, we had the taxi driver stop at the grocery store where we picked up some drinks, snacks and coffee to take home. I appreciated the fact that TikiVillages provides a mini-fridge and a coffee maker in the room!

We took the designated trail down to the Playa Hermosa. The beach is gorgeous. There are vendors available with drinks and snacks (crepes, ceviche,...) It's a beautiful beach to walk on. One evening, we took a taxi to get some drinks and watch the sunset at Cristal Ballena Resort. We returned to Los Laureles for another amazing supper.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Sara O:

The TikiVillas Team thank you choosing to stay with us! We’re pleased you ventured out and explored the beauty of the nearby beaches and the great variety of food from Uvita restaurants. The photos you posted are beautiful! Thanks for sharing your images and your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor..

Pura Vida,

Doug S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We spent 7 nights here on our recent trip to Costa Rica and I could not have been more happy with the experience. Gerald and Jason who both worked the front desk were great and always asking if there was anything we needed and gave great recommendations on places to eat and things to do. The grounds were beautiful but I think the highlight of TikiVillas was the infinity pool that overlooked the rainforest as well as Playa Hermosa. I typically don't spend much time hanging around pools but the view was so relaxing and you had a good chance of seeing Tucans later in the day!!
The rooms were always clean and we utilized the outside shower which was a cool experience given all the sounds of the rainforest occurring at all times. Didn't use the kitchenette in the room much. The restaurant was very tasty and service was pretty quick (Both the free breakfast and the paid dinner.)
One of the more fun experiences of the stay was that there was a 2-3ft black Iguana that was a common site later in the day and we liked to spent time trying to figure out where he was and grab a picture.
We had a 2 wheel drive Ford Figo and made it up the drive ok. The hotel was a short driving distance from both Dominical and Uvita and we spent about equal time at both places exploring.

I would highly recommend this lodge!!!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GrefaRossow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Guest Relations Manager at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear GrefaRossow,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with both the TikiVillas Team and with other travelers! The Infinity Pool can be like a magnet - many guests find leaving the pool difficult. We're pleased you benefited from the wealth of knowledge both Jason and Gerald possess of both the TikiVillas property and the surrounding area. They are wonderful examples of team members who have a true dedication to hospitality and appreciation for the beauty of their country.

Pura Vida,

Doug S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews