We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and Quiet in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Rehgert
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
1 review
“Peace and Quiet in Paradise”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here during July 2014 for one week and it was one of the most enjoyable experiences of my life. It is not a typical tourist house - but one that is set up in a way that makes you feel like you are truly living in the area. I loved the space and openness of the house and that you are completely surrounded by natural forest on all sides except the view of the ocean right in front of the house! Casa Uvita has set out to create a very comfortable stay within the forest. You have to drive a bit (3 - 4km) to get to the house from the main road in Uvita - but it is well worth it once you roll onto the property. We were able to relax and take in the gorgeous view from the hammocks downstairs and upstairs while listening to howler monkeys, seeing toucans and parrots and even spotting sloths in the trees next to the house. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. The kitchen is fully equipped and we enjoyed eating every meal on the patio. The house also had great wifi connections. The property is safe and secure and we had an amazing time.

If you are a surfer you are 15min away from Dominical (one of the premier beach breaks in the area) and 5 min away from Uvita Beach which has really fun beachbreaks. Great hiking trails in area and also close to a national park.

Michele knows everything there is to know about fun, adventure and travelling within the area and has a lot of valuable tips for her guests. She is an awesome host and her and the team makes the place extra special!

If you are a nature lover and appreciate taking in the true beauty of Costa Rica - Casa Uvita is the place! For me it was excellent!!! I will definitely come back to this piece of paradise.

Rehgert van Zyl
South Africa

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
It was a lot of fun hosting your group of surfers and letting me tag along with you a couple of mornings. You guys are amazing! I hope to see you and your friends again at Casa Uvita.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
120GirlsW...
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Beautiful, fun, and safe for a girls' weekend!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We visited Casa Uvita as a group of four girls for three nights in July. As women travelers, we not only enjoyed the beautiful house and beaches, our host and activities, but we also felt very safe and well-cared-for.
Casa Uvita is very obviously well-loved and kept immaculately. I have stayed in many rental houses in Costa Rica and none have been in such good condition, from the furniture to the linens and bathroom fixtures to the equipment in the kitchen. Another plus is that there are four full bathrooms, so we could all get ready at the same time! From the house we saw many toucans and heard the howler monkeys every day. Michele or her staff was ALWAYS nearby if we had any questions or needed any help. They arranged an awesome horse ride for us where the horses were brought directly to Casa Uvita and we rode down hills, over boulders, through rivers and streams and mangrove forests, directly down to the whale’s tail! Michele also gave us recommendations for the best beaches to visit (many were deserted except for us!), restaurants, and even brought us fresh-made tortillas one night! Most evenings, we had drinks on the beautiful patio at the house and cooked dinners for ourselves in the well-equipped kitchen. We did our shopping at a very nice grocery store right at the bottom of the hill. There were also lots of board games and movies to entertain us in the evenings.
As women travelers, we were looking for something peaceful, beautiful, off the beaten-track, and above all, safe. We found many vacation houses advertised in the Uvita area during our dates, but only Michele at Casa Uvita could assure us someone would be on the property at all times, 24/7, to help us and to be there in case of an emergency. Costa Rica is certainly not dangerous, but as women travelers, it’s best to take precautions to be safe! I hope to return to Casa Uvita again soon as there are many more activities we didn’t have time for: waterfall hikes, surfing, and exploring more beaches and restaurants!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was beautiful and in excellent condition. Hosts were amazing and we felt safe!
Liked least: The house is totally solar-powered, which I think is wonderful and we certainly had all the power and hot water we needed. However, I don't think it's a great choice for people who need AC!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
You girls were the best! Next time we'll for sure get you to a waterfall and hangin' ten on a surf board. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pctoronto...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“gorgeous tropical house overlooking the beach”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Casa Uvita is beautifully designed and maintained, and very comfortable. It was spotless when we arrived, and we were delighted to find that there was light housekeeping provided every day. Michele was extremely helpful and patient with my questions before we arrived. It is lovely having her and her housekeeping and maintenance staff (Consuelo and Gerardo) close by. She helped to arrange several outings for us (sea kayaking and surf classes), which were great, and provided suggestions for restaurants and other activities in the area. We loved hiking to two waterfalls with a cold, fresh swimming hole, within a few minutes' drive of the house. She even came and gave us a lift when our car couldn't make it up a local hill! Much of the beachfront close by is within the Marino Ballena National Park. You do have to pay to access the beach each day, but each beach we visited was gorgeous, pristine, and sparsely used, so it was well worth it. The kitchen is well-stocked and organized. There are two good supermarkets close by so it was easy to prepare some meals at home. We loved bird-watching and admiring the sloth and howler monkeys from the house's beautiful verandas. Our two teenage children also loved our week at Casa Uvita.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful, comfortable house in a spectacular natural setting; friendly, knowledgeable and very kind owner
Liked least: nothing. Wonderful experience
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
It was so great to have your family here. I have no doubt your kids will convince you to take another tropical vacation soon, especially in the middle of that wicked Toronto winter! All of us will be waiting for you, including Duquesa and Bella :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane_Eli...
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in the rain forest -- in simple and total comfort!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our stay at Casa Uvita was a delight! We stayed here at the beginning and end of our 10-day trip to Costa Rica, and I think coming back was even more fabulous than the thrill of waking up to howler monkeys and toucan sounds on our first morning. The house is beautiful and open, and it feels like you’re living in the forest canopy (especially on the upstairs deck), but in total comfort! There are tons of things to do in the area, and Michele will help you figure all of that out, with the best guides, etc., but what we most enjoyed was sitting (or lying in the hammock) right there on the deck or patio, and watching for toucans, listening to (and sometimes seeing) the howler monkeys, watching the occasional blue morpho flap by, checking out the beautiful poison dart frogs on the lawn (not dangerous!) – and on our last day, getting to watch a sloth slowly climb up into the canopy. Michele, Consuelo and Gerardo all took great care of us (home made tortillas one morning; hike to a waterfall another day, instructions for finding the best beaches, and help when my daughter had an ear infection!). And all off the grid! Ask Michele about her solar panels, and her water catchment system… We would come back in a flash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open house, cool and comfortable, surrounded by sounds of the forest.
Liked least: You have to have a rental car (4wd best) to stay here, as it's 2 km up a gravel road. But, that means you're up high, ocean breezes, great view...
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
It's not everyday that you get to lie on a hammock and look for monkeys and toucans! I'm so glad you enjoyed Casa Uvita and its beautiful surroundings for all that they have to offer. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M. D
1 review
“Great place, would visit again”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Excellent place to stay. Our first time to use a service like this. Owner and "staff" are in small home next door. Owner VERY helpful recommending places to see and eat at. As far as location Casa Uvita is very well located. From traveling back towards San Jose to go to Manuel Antonio (not really worth it but we did see best sloth siting here....don't pay for a guide...just follow along and see where every one is looking.) to all the beaches along the way and then south about 2 hours (towards Panama) to fabulous Wilson Botanical gardens the house was very ideally located. Multiple beaches are very close as mentioned. 3 or 4 within very quick drive (under 15 minutes) Plus...the reason I say Manuel Antonio was not worth it is that you can see all it offers plus more right there at Casa Uvita. Owner will tell you sounds to listen for and how to spot them, but if you've ever gone to "view wildlife" anywhere else you can pick up what to listen and look for pretty easily. TONS of monkeys around there. And if you drive or walk up the road (walk for a distance or drive and frequently stop to get out to go all the way around) you can see many different things. Lots of picture opportunities but everything lives high up in trees so take a good (really good...think way UP when choosing) lens for your camera and best binoculars you can afford.
As to the house. VERY nice and open which we love. Sleeping is under a mosquito net. If you absolutely hate no a/c this not the place for you but temps are good even in beginning of rainy season as it cools down and besides everything including all eating is done outside in Costa Rica anyway. No hairdryers...so do realize that. Furniture comfortable and kitchen extras well stocked. Water was good straight out of tap every where (I drank it entire time) but they do have a filter faucet too. I would go back if I where visiting this area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ideally suited for viewing wildlife
Liked least: couple nights would have liked a/c when first going to bed...but we showered and the night cooled quickly so not a deal breaker.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. You had some great adventures and animal sightings, along with some spectacular thunderstorms! Hope to see you both back here in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$245
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing