We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
211
3
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
3
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga platform yoga retreat hot tub pura vida costa rica large bathtub villa tropical blew me away whale's tail coffee plantation morning yoga heaven on earth luxury accommodations white water rafting primary rainforest beautiful experience favorite things
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We just hosted a couples yoga retreat and it was an experience we will always remember! The setting is incredibly beautiful but even more than that was the staff & team at Vista Celestial! Wow - they attended to every detail, from the juice of the day to each of our food allergies and vegan preparation. Isaac found a sloth for us to see & guided us on daily, challenging hikes. The jungle platform is magical. One day in savasana, the locusts decided to also become quiet & still. Best massage ever from Kay! We already booked for next year.

Room tip: Each villa has incredible views & private hot tub for sunset viewing & wildlife as beyond amazing!
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magginsyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistaCelestial, Owner at Vista Celestial, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

We are so happy that you guys will be returning for another retreat with us. The team really enjoyed hosting you and your energetic group. It really is magical how the wildlife plays into your yoga practice while out on the jungle platform. We are so glad that your trip was a special one and we look forward to you returning soon :)

Pura Vida

The Vista Celestial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Vista Celestial has an absolutely AMAZING staff who go out of their way to make sure that you are happy and well cared for at all times. The resort itself is gorgeous with breathtaking views of the ocean and the rain forest and a unique opportunity to see a variety of wildlife. There are also jacuzzis in each room. The tours that the resort offers are exceptional--you learn a lot during them and also get to see breathtaking aspects of nature, and the employees go above and beyond to make sure that you navigate the trails safely if you are clumsy like I am :). The food is phenomenal, as well. It is all healthy, fresh and delicious and many options are provided. The yoga platform is also in a gorgeous location, which makes yoga seem special and magical. By the end of my stay, I definitely did not want to leave! I cannot wait to return again :)!!!!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smillman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistaCelestial, Owner at Vista Celestial, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

We are so happy that you had such a memorable vacation with us. It is always extra special hen you are able to see so much of the wildlife, so we are really glad that you were able to enjoy all that the jungle has to offer.

The team really enjoyed hosting you , and they are happy that you enjoyed your stay , the food, the tours, and your overall experience with us here at Vista Celestial .

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Pura Vida

The Vista Celestial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Words can't describe how incredibly perfect everything was as Vista Celestial. The accommodations are breathtaking. With only 5 villas on-site, you feel as though you are in your own private paradise. It felt like a dream waking up in that beautiful villa to those incredible views! The food was absolutely delicious! Everything they cook is sourced from their OWN garden. The staff at Vista Celestial is the BEST staff I've ever experienced at a hotel. Isaac, Esteban and the rest of the team went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. It's hard to find words to describe my overall experience at Vista Celestial. Amazing, perfect, phenomenal, are all words that come to mind, but they don't seem good enough! It's the perfect place if you want a relaxing vacation, but it also offers a lot to travelers seeking adventure. We hiked up to Esteban's house, where they grow the coffee served at the hotel, and it was indeed the most challenging (but magnificent) hike I've ever done. I hope to go back to Vista Celestial very soon! If you're thinking of traveling to Costa Rica, and looking at Vista Celestial as an option for your stay, I HIGHLY recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistaCelestial, Owner at Vista Celestial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your glowing review. We are thrilled that you had such an amazing experience. The team was thrilled to hear that you said they were the "best staff you have ever experienced at a hotel". They work really hard to make sure the guests have a memorable vacation, so it means a lot that you felt that they went above and beyond with everything they did :)

We are so glad that you wee able to do the Coffee Plantation Tour. It is such an amazing experience, although the hike is quite challenging :)

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back again in the near future.

Pura Vida........... The Vista Celestial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Everything about this property screams luxury. It's incredibly comfortable. I've been to Costa Rica before and finding a hotel with a comfortable bed can be a challenge. The bed was delicious and comfy! Waking up to that view made me never want to leave. It's cliche to say but it truly is heaven on earth. Their hike to the coffee farm where the property manager's farm grows and roasts the coffee for the hotel is an adventure. If you want to test your limits and feel strong, do this hike with Isaac (their guest concierge). He makes you feel super safe while also being able to feel a little bit like a super hero racing up the mountain. The food was incredibly delicious and the drinks top notch. Everything I ate made me feel nourished and fresh but also pleasantly full. I would come back here once a month or a mental break if I could! But definitey I will be back!

Room tip: they are all AMAZING rooms!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistaCelestial, Owner at Vista Celestial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

We are so glad that you had such an exceptional experience and enjoyed the luxurious amenities, meals, drinks and tours. The team really enjoyed hosting you. We agree that a comfortable bed is a must and all of our villas boast super plush and comfy beds so you can get your beauty sleep and have the energy to do the amazing hikes and tours that you want to experience while here with us in paradise.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pura Vida


The Vista Celestial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

The service at Vista Celestial was phenomenal. Everyone was very friendly and willing to address any questions or concerns. They were very helpful in making recommendations as well. The location is fantastic but it's quite the trek up to the hotel. We did not rent a vehicle while we were there but we would strongly recommend that visitors DO rent a 4x4 vehicle. Taxi rides to and from the hotel were VERY expensive and unless you ask for your bill throughout your stay, that price is not communicated (except airport transfers). It's a very quiet, and tranquil accommodation venue so I wouldn't recommend bringing kids. There's lots to do around the hotel. We highly recommend kayaking through the mangroves, Osa zipline, and visiting Corcovado island. We also found out that it is often cheaper to pay the tour vendor directly, rather than Vista Celestial adding it to your tab. This was also not communicated to us until we found this out for ourselves. Since the area has potable water through their taps, you are also charged for water throughout your stay so you're probably better off picking up a few things at a local grocery store. This was for our honeymoon and the staff treated us very, very well. We just felt that the room could use some fixing up for the price you pay per night and would like other couples to know what to expect when they receive their final bill. We originally planned to fly from SJO to Quepos airport but our flight was cancelled the day before we were to arrive. Apparently the airport was closed...yet, we were still able to book our flight. We talked to a few other couples and they had the same experience so we weren't really sure what the story was there. The drive from SJO is very long (3.5 hours) so if you can fly, we would highly recommend it.

Room tip: The room has a breath taking view with wildlife and trees all around. We did feel that the rooms could use a bit of maintenance given the price per night. The tiles in the private pool could have used some tending to, and our bathroom tap was leaky so we had to wrap a face cloth around the base of it to keep it from soaking our toiletry bags. Our sun deck chairs were also broken so we used the pool by the restaurant a few days but then 2 of the chairs there were broken as well so unless we were there first, it likely wasn't worth going up to that pool either. We stayed in the Tropical Villa and it would have been nice to be in one of the middle villas. In pictures, it looks as if the private pool is in front of the villa but ours was off to the side where you couldn't really see the view because there's so many trees around the pool (again, something that's hard to complain about when you're still in the middle of beautiful trees and wildlife). We just didn't really use our pool as much as we wanted to because of the location in that specific villa.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 769karlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistaCelestial, Owner at Vista Celestial, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hello,

We were very sad to read your review that your stay was merely satisfactory, as we work very hard and strive for perfection here at Vista Celestial, and this is the first time we are learning of a guest having only a satisfactory stay versus a trip of a lifetime. We were under the impression that you were very happy while you were here. We were glad that you found Vista Celestial's service to be phenomenal and the team to be helpful with all of your needs.

We do always recommend to guests who want to get out and explore the area a lot to rent a 4x4 car, as taxis are quite pricey in Costa Rica and unfortunately we do not control their rates. The gas prices ($4 + /gallon) and road conditions are the reason. However, we understand that with many taxi trips, the price definitely does add up and that is never fun when you get the final bill.

With the tours, we offer our guests the exact price given to us by the tour providers. There is zero mark up. After reading your review, we reached out to the tour providers that you went to and were informed by one that they had had a recent cancellation and they were needing to replace the lost business, so they were discounting direct bookings to fill those spots. We would have been happy to talk to the tour provider for you and insure that you had the same rate for the tour had we known at the time of your tour. It is always best to let us know these things when they occur so that we can immediately assist you.

Costa Rica has extremely clean water and it is safe to drink from the tap here. We make sure to let the guests know this and it is also noted in the welcome book in each villa. There is never a charge for tap water or ordering water by the glass, however, we do charge for bottled water as do most hotels and our per bottle price is lower than the local grocery store. We do have refrigerators in all the villas and guests are welcome to stock up on anything that they feel they may want throughout their stay with us.

Although we have zero control over the temporary closure of the local regional airport, we completely understand how frustrating it was that they were closed. We feel that it was extremely bad timing on their part to do airport renovations during the high season seeing how it clearly impacted many travelers to the region. So I apologize for the inconvenience that their closing caused you guys. I also prefer to take the puddle jumper flight vs taking the drive from San Jose, so I too recommend it when it is possible.

We do hope to have the chance to host you again in the future. With our honeymoon guests we offer one complimentary night for their annual anniversary trip, so we hope to see you back again next year. We will make sure that it is a memorable 1st year anniversary.

Pura Vida

The Vista Celestial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews