We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
472
74
11
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
74
11
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys natural pool private beach swimming hole costa rica yoga pavilion there is no air conditioning spent a week here hiking trails tropical paradise flora and fauna the pacific ocean breathtaking views bird watching bahia ballena national park pura vida
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Make sure you stay in the hotel for at least two days while traveling the area. The staff very honorably and proudly treat their clients as if there is no better place to stay in Costa Rica, something for which the culture is well known for, but yet here their optimal service is a normal way of life. We specifically remember three gentlemen to whom we extend our gratitude. That is, Michael who knows every single dish the chefs is cooked. He details and presents each plate in a manner that is visible to the brain without the food's presence. Chema, the gardener, loves his plants and knows every fruit in the tropics. The kid is a Joseph Mendel who knows plant species like the palms of his hands. He specially picked a tropical fruit for us and asked Michael to make us a cocktail to go along with the delicious dinner. Eddie the cook, makes every dish extraordinary. He kept surprising us with a variety of delectable plates. We loved the place and if ever get a chance to visit the zone again will return.

Room tip: Clean and well maintained. The room's view to the ocean stayed in my mind like the photos on my iPhone.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ernesto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you so much, you have no idea how this review made their day. They are so proud of what they do but to see that people go the extra mile to show how pleased they are of them... well they love it.

So thank you so much for your kind words and for visiting us. we hope you come back in the near future.

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We had a good 3 night stay here although coming straight from tulemar bungalows in Manuel Antonio our impressions suffered a little in comparison. For roughly the same price as el silencio de campo in la fortuna the facilities were not as good (ac would have been nice )- however the food at the restaurant was excellent - the best meals we had in Costa Rica. And the views from the lookout were spectacular - we were lucky enough to see humpback whales from our balcony. Also the little pool in the stream was very refreshing, surrounded by forest.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank pstobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your visit and more so for your review. We are looking into the AC request, this will have a big impact in our sustainable believes and concepts, It is a catch 22.

We are glad you enjoy the food, the nature that we have in our place.

Muchas Gracias and Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Property was beautiful with nice views and close to beaches. Cabins were nice. It had some nice trails around property. We were there during low season and staff seemed not very knowledgable about activities. I recommend having a car there. Restaurant was ok, not great. Breakfast very basic.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thumper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your visit. Sorry that our team member did not give you the correct information, most likely he was just starting but that is no excuse. We will work on making sure they have the proper information to give our guest the best information.

Our restaurant is one of the best in the area, a great menu with fresh, local options. our breakfast menu has 3 choices, and they are good size, includes coffee, juice, cereal, fruits and the options of costa rican meal, a continental and an American breakfast. SO not a very basic, it actually better than many hotels in the world, that has a breakfast included in the room rates. The restaurant has a full menu so it is more than ok, you can check it out in our website.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

La Cusinga Lodge was the absolutely perfect way to end our glorious visit to Costa Rica. We canot say enough good things about the natural trails along the Pacific, the woodland waterfalls and pool, the howler monkeys and the most beautiful stone and wood lodges nestled in the hillside. The food in the Aracari restaurant was not only gorgeous, but exquisite tasting. Try the mussels stuffed with shrimp! Most remarkable of all was the friendly staff and the feeling of peace and well-being we felt throughout our too-brief stay at La Cusinga. We look forward to returning. Thank you all.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Pura Vida! Thank you so much for your kind words, our team is very pleased that we could fulfilled your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay!

Our restaurant team does their best to provide the fresh and top quality meals. Glad we did so for you.

We look forward to your next visit!

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Very beautiful lodge with tropical birds and monkeys around, very nice cabins and super restaurant. The view on the bay is incredibly beautiful, friendly personnel. Warmly recommended.
Walk early morning to Arco beach, which is really a pristine beach with low tide.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank janke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Arco Beach is amazing, we are so proud to have been able to preserve it as is, after a long legal battle with some international developers who did everything possible to break all the rules and get permits to cut down the forest and build a massive project. We won and Arco Beach and her forest are here to be enjoy by all visitors.

thank you for your visit and for helping us to keep protecting nature.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews