We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for a peaceful relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel has much to commend it. First the location is superb with great views across the small bay. The rooms are a good size, clean and with AI the mini bar is kept well stocked with water and soft drinks. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. The animation team accepted our need for peace with good grace.
However, for a hotel claiming to be five star it is looking a bit tired in places. The path ways had weeds growing on them: one would have thought that this would have been attended to before the season started. The food was good but we have experienced better at other AI establishments and by the end of the week was becoming a bit repetative( not unusual). Also by the end of the week the hotel was starting to fill up. This was shown by queues starting to appear to gain access to the main restraurant in the evening. One wonders what it will be like at the peak of the season! The alternative Chinese restaurant was pretty average and they had run out some things on the menu.
If you want to see a bit more of Crete, and you are not part of a package offering tours, you really have to hire a car as the local bus only runs once each way and only gives you four hours in Heraklion. No bus at all on Sundays.
The local beach below the hotel was OK. Clean but quite course sand. You had to pay for the beds. The water was crystal clear.

If you want to get away from it all with the possibilty of some action then this hotel might be for you.

Room Tip: If you can afford it try for the rooms with their own pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topcat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 984 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just back from a lovely relaxing weeks stay here. Weather was fantastic, even though forecast wasnt that good. Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Cannot fault any of the staff, from cleaners to bar staff. Didnt really get to know the anilmation team, as we just wanted to chill out and they were great at respecting that. The food was good, although we also heard fellow english guests complaining, do us all a favour, just go to Blackpool in future. Its embarrassing to listen to the constant moaning...
Feel free to make use of the microwave in the restaurant, that why its there, and no one is offended. I like my food very hot, so i used it everyday. We had a 'basic' room, which was huge, with a lovely big bathroom, large balcony with fab views. So dont worry if you dont get one with a private pool, there's just further to walk for a cocktail ;o) We used the hotel bus for a trip into Heraklion, 3.50 euros per person each way, which left at 9.30 and back around 3.30, which was plenty of time to walk around the harbour, have lunch, look around the lovely shops, have coffee and ice cream and back again!
All in all a very lovely hotel, well spaced out with great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

just got back from crete. this hotel has all that a 5 star can offer, one word "superb". service , pools, food,location , entertainment , views, all very good. to be more informative, food....something to eat for everyone.they even change the menu from first week for people staying for two. try the jeep safari, a trip of a lifetime..no joke this was great bbq scenery and the two guides ...top notch...understated by the brochure and the hotel rep. can,t praise this place enough....rooms were clean and tidy....try and get a room with a private or shared pool(211).

Room Tip: walk to beach....and walk to agia palagia town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel.... It;s peaceful, a bit in the middle of nowhere but this is what I like... Rooms are great and clean, food and drinks - great (you have some choice of drinks in AI, but you can also buy some other drinks for 5 euro). People working there are nice. I liked it that much that I'm going there this summer again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esmeralda_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We booked a one week holiday to this hotel for 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 8yrs). I had checked trip advisor and we choose the hotel based on all the good reviews. We really weren’t disappointed.
We arrived at the airport and expected the usual coach transfer dropping off everyone along the way. We were taken to a waiting taxi, and took directly to the hotel.
The transfer was 25 minutes from Heraklion Airport.

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who engaged with my husband and I as well as my 2 children, who were extremely excited. The check in was quick, smooth and easy. It was 2pm and she advised that we go straight to the room and if we were hungry the restaurant would be open for another 30 minutes or alternatively we could go to the Pelagos Pool Bar and eat there until 5pm. The porter arrived within 2 minutes, loaded our cases into a car and took us all to our room. The hotel is built into a cliff, absolutely stunning, sea views from practically everywhere on the complex.

The porter showed us around the room, how the air con worked and how to operate the door (electric key card system) etc. The room was superb. We booked a family 2 bed maisonette and were very happy. Downstairs was the double bed, bathroom, fridge etc, with large patio doors which opened out onto a balcony (where we sat many evenings with a bottle of wine whislt the children were sound asleep). The children had twin beds upstairs.

The children were hungry so we went straight to the restaurant. The choice was excellent, no complaints.

The Pelagos Pool is where we spent our time, the animation team were there in the morning and then again in the afternoon. They do have a siesta, so the pool does become quieter for a while. We did not find them annoying though, they asked if you wanted to join and if you said no they left you alone (unlike other hotels we have been to). I really do have to mention Dali, Chris and Uta. Dali is a lovely man, so enthusiastic about his job; he makes you want to join in.

Both the children went to the kids club which Midhi ran. The girls absolutely loved him. He was so friendly, funny and a lovely man. He spent many evenings with my husband and I talking in the bar. Both Dali and Midhi helped make our holiday special.

Christina served us drinks all day long at the Pelagos and she was so friendly and great with our girls.

The food was really good, the choice was exceptional. There was something for everyone. But we met people with usual moan ‘it’s not like English food’. Well quite simply if you want English food, stay at home. The hotel caters for such an array of nationalities and we think they really pull this off. The selection is amazing. There is a pizza station, where they make you a freshly made pizza with toppings of your choice. There are always 2 choices of pasta and sauce. A grill, where we found 2 meats and 1 fish option every evening. A Cretan corner every night. Fresh salads, bread, soups, vegetables, stews, fruit, desserts, cold meats and cheeses.

We also tried the Jasmine China one night and found this to be really good too. The soups were amazing; I had chicken and sweetcorn, my husband hot and sour. We had spare ribs and vegetables spring rolls. The spare ribs fell off the bone. We also had egg fried rice, chicken noodles, beef schezuan and satay chicken. All very good.

The evening entertainment in the main bar started with a mini disco for the children, which our girls loved. Then the main showtime, this was different every night (music quiz, caricature quiz, bingo, menVwomen etc) but something for everyone. The animation team do a great job.

We did eat out a few of times not because of the food at the hotel but purely because we like to get out also. Once we got a taxi into Agia Pelagia (10 Euros each way). We ate at Zorbas; the food was ok, but nothing special. The other night we got a taxi into Heraklion (45 Euros each way), we walked around the town and the square and ate at a typical taverna (not one English person in sight, which was good). We also had lunch at Stelios (on the beach right by the hotel) and had a phenomenal meal. The family actually live above the restaurant, they grow their own veg and make their own desserts etc. Would highly recommend a visit there.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, no complaints at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank to all everyone at the Seaside Resort and Spa, but special thanks to Dali, Midhi, Chris, Uta and Christina.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank GreenieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
1.0 km away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
2.6 km away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 173 in Hersonissos
3,210 reviews
45.7 km away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#15 of 175 in Rethymnon
736 reviews
67.7 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Side Resort & Spa

Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: RM667 - RM2,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
Sea Side Resort & Spa Agia Pelagia, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing