We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A splendid gem in a rural setting!!!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Bob M
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A splendid gem in a rural setting!!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have visited many places and must tell you that Liliana di Bartolomeo
and Francesco are simply the best hosts and enormous fun to be with as well.

Their stunning villa is extremely well appointed and the facilities appear never ending. They have thought of absolutely everything, even a sturdy cot, baby bath and high chair, things for children and also adults to play with too. What more could anyone wish for?

We ran out of superlatives to describe their superb taste, style and design in furniture and appliances.

Every time we glanced at one object in their astonishing home and garden we noticed yet more wonderful items. We appreciated what an accumulation of thoughts and time must have gone into planning everything to satisfy their guests’ needs, they have provided everything to enhance people’s enjoyment.

Their subtle attention to detail is outstanding and second to none and everywhere is so well maintained and well equipped that they cannot be faulted in any way. We have never seen a pool kept so clean and Francesco’s ‘submarine’, albeit Blue and Grey and not a Yellow one, is a tremendous tool to keep it pristine!

We entirely agree with their other guests’ comments and we had a fantastic holiday, very many thanks to them. Our many cycle rides gave us an insight into the superb peaceful rural countryside that exists and surrounds the villa.

We are amazed and truly grateful for the kindness and support they extended to us, it is something we will never forget.

Sincere thanks for the privilege in allowing us to stay at Polignano Villa Resort.

PS:- We did not have one bad meal there, that’s Italy and Puglia for you…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's central location near the coast and countryside
Liked least: Hardly anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
We are very pleased to know you have had such an enjoyable stay. You have been wonderful guests. and we thank you so so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
420fletch
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous, spacious, relaxing”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Better than it looks on the website - a long driveway takes you to this modern, architect designed villa set in it's own grounds with all the entertainment needed for family and friends. The problem is trying to drag yourselves away from the pool, tennis courts, table tennis, crazy golf, hammock etc for long enough to visit the surrounding area! The house is spacious and stylish with different areas inside and outside designed for relaxing and making the most of the cool of the shade and the gentle breezes no matter what time of day.

The service
The owners were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. From meeting us on arrival and guiding us to the the villa (which is a little tricky to find first time), to daily pool cleaning and immediately responding to a problem with the water pressure. The relaxed and friendly attitude of the owners helped us to settle in and make the most of the holiday.

The house
Approx. 45 minutes easy drive from Bari airport. Clean, stylish, spacious, well equipped. It had everything we could think of plus more (eg a printer for printing boarding pass). The kids loved exploring all the different spaces in the house and garden and the adults loved all the different sofas, sun loungers, hammocks strategically placed in cool shady spots perfect for book reading while "supervising " the children

Amenities
The best thing was the pool, which is cleaned every day and is beautiful with a diving board. We spent most of our time in and around the pool when not cooking/eating.

Location
Good location for exploring the wider area and accessing the smaller, local towns of Monoploli and Polignano. It's worth driving further afield and visiting other places such as Matera which is magical. Do it the Italian way and go for the evening when the heat of the day has died down and the streets are packed with families walking the streets and eating gelatto.

Spend your days lazing at the villa and your evenings wandering towns that are, baroque, packed with trulli or carved into rock and eating the wonderful local food and drinking local wine for the perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The mosquitos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. Happy that you enjoyed your stay while discovering this beautiful region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect family villa”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This villa is perfect for a large group/family or 2 families wishing to share. The facilities are excellent. The pool has a diving board and is a great size (12m x 6). Our 4 kids spent most of the days in the pool. There is also a tennis court which doubles as a basketball court. Racquets etc are all available. There is also a mini golf area and excellent table tennis table.

The barbeque area is really nice too with a parasol to shelter from the sun and seating area beside to rest yourself whilst the food is cooking.

A car is a must for exploring this beautiful area of italy. It is circa 40 mins from Bari airport.

The hosts Liliana and her son Francesco are very accomodating and will answer any queries you may have.

I would certainly recommend this villa to anyone no matter what expectstions they had as they will not be disappointed.

We hope to comeback.

Ciao - the Lynch family

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinMitc...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family villa in the real Italy”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great family villa with Lilliana and Francesco great hosts. We spent 2 weeks with our 3 young children. Best equipped villa we have ever stayed - nice to arrive with salt / pepper, oil etc already stocked. Good sized pool with diving board, tennis court and the kids sent hours on the crazy golf course. Great location for exploring the area, whilst being away from the tourist area. I think the only downside was we seemed to have to travel a long way for a good beach. But that didnt spoil what was a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great amenities
Liked least: Along way for beaches
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winsheepe...
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Polignano Villa for 10 days at the end of September. We were thrilled when we arrived to find how beautiful, clean, and welcoming it is. The interior is exquisitely designed and decorated. The kitchen is well-equipped and we were able to prepare many meals with no problem. The bathrooms are luxurious and the bedrooms are wonderfully comfortable. The outside is also heavenly. Lots of space, places to eat al fresco, a huge sparkling pool, lounges, tennis court, fruit trees, olive grove, and on and on. This villa is idyllic. But even more important than all of these amenities was the friendliness and warmth of Liliana and her son Francesco. They went way, way far out of their way to be sure we had everything we needed. They showed us where the best shops were, and gave us tips on places to see and good restaurants. They took us to an electronic store to help us purchase a needed GPS because they knew we'd have a hard time with our extremely limited command of Italian. They also dealt with the phone store for us when we needed to purchase an Italy sim-card. (Both Liliana and Francesco are fluent in English as well as Italian.) They were extremely generous with their time and with their care for us. In short, they were the best hosts one could ever want. They made our stay at this wonderful villa even more wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was gated, quiet, and close to the town of Castellana Grotte.
Liked least: We hated that we had to depart and say goodbye to our hosts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing