We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
113
42
14
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
42
14
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase for touringwine tasting experiencesan gimignanoperfect placeyogurtolive treeshill townspastatuscan countrysidehammocksagriturismopievevirginiacontextheartpropertycypresses
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016

It was now for the third time we spent our Holiday in tuscany in Pieve Sprenna.
The rooms a generous and beautiful and the Restaurant is amazing: all meals are tipical tuscan style and very tasteful because freshly cooked.
What I do have to mention is that the owners are very friendly and helpful. We came there - as usual - with our bicycles and the weather became so awful that we could not go on. They brought us to the station and took care f our bicycles.
Thank you very much for your help !! We`ll see again next year !! Carina and Friedbert

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friedbert2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginiaconeri, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pieve Sprenna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Thank you for these beautiful words, and we hope that the next time is a better time!

A kisses , from Pievesprenna !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We had 10 days here, with our son, and daughter, husband and their twins, plus our dog.. We had a separate cottage away from the main building and restaurant, which was ideal. The pool is large and good for swimming, but not great for the 2 1/2 year-old twins, as it is not heated and was very cold. Lovely once you got in!

We ate in the restaurant a few times, and the food was local, so not sophisticated, but fresh and relaxing if we had been out for the day and didn't want to drive again.
The Agriturismo is a mile up an un-made track, which generates a lot of dust, but there are good restaurants in Buonconvento if you want to eat out.
We did barbeque one evening, (there is one provided) but the outside lighting is not great - we could have done with some candles!
The cottage itself was also quite dark, and the kitchen equipment left a lot to be desired, but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms good. We had a garden outside, so fine for the dog, and there were plenty of walks up beside the vineyards, olive groves and endless hills.
Altogether a lovely holiday spot and base for touring the area.

Room Tip: If you are a family group, go for one of the apartments away from the restaurant and pool..
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Perfect place , well run in a magic setting .
The owners are very friendly and helpful .
We spent three nights there but could have stayed much longer with my friends .
They also have a very nice trattoria attached to the place where we had to book
and the food was very nice and well prepared with some very good ingredients ,
much better than some other places in the area . Compliments to the chef who also served me a stunning salad of wild mushrooms ( cucchi or ovuli ) picked by himself !!!! We shall return !!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pensatoio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

It would be hard for Pieve Sprenna to suffer poor reviews for the location. This can be said for any property in Tuscany. Many have swimming pools and many have views. This one is very lovely indeed, and the gardens with plentiful tree coverage allowed for good shelter from the sun, a picturesque aesthetic and some well-needed peace and quiet together with my Italian partner.

The first night we decided to try the fixed menu as recommended by others. We were sat and served in silence. Upon asking what the courses actually were, we were stared at as if having just battered one of the many cats which also inhabited the Agriturismo. The food was OK. The wine was rough - go elsewhere for this.

On the subject of service, there was almost never any member of staff to be found. Requests for the purchase of food and beverage were accommodated, but not without feeling as if we had inconvenienced the owner. Having ordered a mixed platter around 1.30pm, this order was passed to the other (responsible for the kitchen) sister but then ignored while she ate lunch with the rest of the family. Only upon querying the progress of the food order in the absence of any other information did she start to prepare it. We then had to query whether we should wait on the spot, return, or expect delivery?! The bottle of wine became half a bottle, the water was flat instead of sparkling. Just impossible.

However, the other sister did kindly offer to organise a horse trek for us with a daughter of the family - this was very much appreciated and enjoyed and she was much more accommodating.

Our room was, as others have reviewed, old. Do not expect hotel facilities. One out of three lightbulbs in the centre of the room was missing. We only noticed this because we needed the lights on in the middle of the day. Hardly the "bright and light" experience promised on the website. Our room did not have a view of anything except the entrance gates, despite web promises that all rooms benefit from a view. No air conditioning; the fan provided on the table did not reach the electricity socket. A pretty well-used shower that my fairly average apartment wipes the floor with.

So, try not to be too disappointed with all this. This is realistically more of a self-catering family place rather than a young couple's romantic getaway. If you want to come and lie by the pool, without hassling the owners for anything, this is the perfect place. Come and enjoy the beautiful Tuscan countryside and keep to yourself. Use the house as a home away from home. Enjoy any glimpses of the nice hospitality that we saw, but be sure that they are the exception rather than the rule. And while you are staying there, go to visit Maddalena Cordella at her vineyard near to Torrenieri. She will show you food and drink that will perfectly complement the view from Pieve Sprenna and put it all in to context.

Room Tip: Probably ask for the room up in the tower - better views than our cell window had.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andywright_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Beautiful farmhouse with charm. Location superb on hill top with fantastic views over vineyards and olive groves and rolling hills with sunflowers blooming in nearby fields.
Gardens and pool maintained well. Room was cleaned every morning and towels changed regularly.
Lots of shade to sit under when too hot (38C in July). Sun loungers and hammocks were great and nice having plenty of space to to relax with scattered chairs and tables too.
Restaurant outdoors was lovely. Great choice of food at breakfast with homemade cakes.
Evening set meal was very good at 25 euros for starter, pasta course, meat course, dessert , wine and water. My husband loved the T bone steak for two himself.
We bought the home made olive oil and wine which we have yet to try.
The owners were friendly and we must try and learn more Italian so we can communicate better next time. Wish we had booked a week instead of 5 days.
Hiring a car was needed to get around.
Having a gazebo with lovely Maurizio offering massage in the corner of the garden overlooking the hills was bliss and so relaxing.
Siena is worth a visit. Florence, easy to get to by train from Siena, but was too hot to appreciate the day we went. On way back to Pisa airport we stopped at a little town called Piccioli for a wander which was nice.
Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: 'Panse' room on ground floor looked onto pool and had good views. Simple decor and quite dark but okay as very hot outside.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews