We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Buganvillas Apartments
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Don't know why people are complaining....We had a lovely stay, staff were friendly and the rooms were nice, our only complaint is that the beds and pillows were uncomfortable but apart from that we had a lovely time. whilst we were there the apartments were being renovated so we look forward to going back and seeing them and hopefully they will replace the beds and pillows.

The gardens and pool area were kept clean and as for the facilities around us we couldn't have wished for a better location. Taxis right outside the apartments which take you into Puerto Rico for about 3 -4 euros, the shopping centre across the road caters for everyone, full of bars, restaurants, shops couple of arcades, mini fun fair and crazy golf.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016

No reception staff if you arrive after 8pm just a note on the door. Appartments very shaby and tired no kettle but a coffee maker ! No clean sheets and towels only changed once during the 7 night stay. Bar independantly owned clearly has regulars who stare very unwelcoming ! Pool area tatty paint peeling off in many areas, cockroaches found in the pool toilets and one of our two rooms. Rooms not cleaned at all during our stay. Definately has been star rated incorrectly !
However the complex opposite made our holiday. Plenty of reasonable restaurants and bars with superb entertainment. Summary you get what you pay for, it was a cheap holiday.

Room Tip: As far as we could gather from other travelers all rooms are tatty and worn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lindajhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Arrived at complex late afternoon, and upon entering the gates hadn't a clue where to go for reception but noticed by the bar there stood a kiosk style building which turned out to be reception. We were given keys to an apartment and pointed in the direction where we'd find it, the receptionist stated clearly to be careful on the stairs leading up to the apartment as they were 'dangerous' and in the middle of having edging put on them, and yes they were bad.
Once in the apartment my heart just sank, the general condition of everything was poor and clearly not well maintained. I was soon shocked even more so to see hair all over the living space floors, pubic hair on the toilet seat and once I looked in the shower area and seen the state it was in my mind was made up that I wouldn't be staying there. Back down to reception, told her about the condition of the room and I wasn't happy (she seemed shocked to hear it!!) we were then given another set of keys and told to go and see if it was any better!! If it wasn't she wasn't sure what she could do as that was the last available apartment. Better?? If only, it was cleaner but still below standard and condition of furnishings was poor with everything needing renewed. I sat on a plastic garden chair the whole week. Shower never had hot water that lasted duration of showering time, and still could of been a lot cleaner and more presentable. Went half-board only to find you go to a different hotel altogether for your food, not ideal. Traveled as a single parent with my teenage daughter for the first time on this holiday and felt we both endured unnecessary stress and disaoppointment, and that was the resort never mind the location!!!

Stayed: October 2016
2  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We had booked this holiday in January and 0n the 29th September we arrived at reception to find we had been given a room in the Las Buganvillas apartments due to over booking instead of a 1 bedroom apartment which I found unbelievable due to the length of time it had been booked.I had already reviewed these apartments and a lot of comments were not good. As we booked for half board due to the inconvenience caused they upgraded us to AI with free TV and Safe.
On arrival in the apartment which was on the 2nd floor about 12 steps to climb with broken steps halfway up it was like a sauna with no ceiling fans that were available in the 1 bedroom apt.in the Eden which we had booked.All the furniture was badly chipped and fit for the tip with brackets holding the settee together,there was no kettle or coathangers which we had to request next day.The dining table had food stuck to it from a previous occupant the mirrors in the bedroom were filthy the clothes dryer on the balcony had to be cleaned before we could use it.The parasol was held up with a knife.The complaints were given to the receptionist but on the day we left nothing had been done.The aforesaid TV did not work until the 6th day of our holiday after numerous requests .They seem to spend more time keeping the outdoors clean than inside beds only changed once in 10 days and the only time they were made up.
Finally where we were situated just 5 mins from the Europa Centre you had music playing till 3am every night very irritating as we couldn`t leave a window open for any air with the noise.
The only good side to the holiday was the weather,People we spoke to had a similar thing happen to them with their choice of apartment so it must happen quite often.A couple who turned up the day before we came back were disgusted with their room with food being left under the table and various other things the wife was crying it is such a let down when you look forward to a holiday and don`t get what you have booked.
Food was very repetitive and entertainment poor although the centre opposite has loads of pubs and restaurants which we used and found to be good.The area itself is at the top of a hill but there are loads of available taxis outside and a supermarket on site.I would go to Gran Canaria again but give this place a wide berth as I previously mentioned this overbooking seems to happen quite often.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We had booked a self catering holiday at The Eden apartments with Travel Republic and on arrival we were told by the receptionist that unfortunately our booking had been passed onto another company and we had would be staying in Eden Annex also known as Las Buganvllas. The receptionist was very sorry about it as we have stayed at Eden apartments many times but we said we were OK with it as we had also stayed in Las Buganvillas many times, the last time being about 8 years ago.
We arrived about 9.30pm to the Buganvillas and we were in an upstairs room with a lovely big balcony that catches the sun all day. We walked in the apartment and it was exactly as we had left them 8 years ago so as you can imagine.....very dated. The bed settee and tables have very badly chipped paintwork and on closer inspection we noticed the bed settee had very badly stained covers on it and it was also broken.....it was propped up with a brick! Curtains were hanging down in every room. We started to unpack, plenty of hanging space in the mirrored sliding door wardrobes but not many hangers but I always take extra myself. A bedside cabinet with two drawers at the side of each bed, great! My husband opened his drawer to find a cockroach in it, he then looked in the one below and was also one in there. He didn't bother using the drawers!
Lovely comfy beds. Bedding was changed once during our two week stay.
The bathroom has a shower cubicle which most days when showering water leaked onto the floor and the hot water doesn't last very long so don't hang about in the shower. Towels were changed every other day during our stay and the apartment cleaned every other day.
No kettle or microwave and not much cupboard space for food when self catering.
The next morning I went to the reception at Buganvillas to ask for a kettle and the friendly receptionist gave me the last one which to be fair was only fit for the bin and she did seem embarrassed about it. I also reported the cockroaches in the bedside cabinet and she said she would have the room fumigated which she did. The settee was also fixed but that should have been done before we entered the room. Also the batteries had gone in the safe so the receptionist also had to get someone out to sort that.
We were passing the Eden reception and the receptionist there asked how we were getting on. We told what had been happening and within 5 minutes a brand new kettle was delivered to our room. Also someone who looked rather important came and looked at our propped up settee.
A few days into our holiday I was closing the balcony window and and part of the metal window frame fell off nearly hitting me on the head. I went to reception to report it but it had already been reported by the pool bar owner. I think everyone heard it by the pool as it dropped with a right clang onto the tiled floor.
The complex has a pool bar which plays a good range of music, not too loud either. The only loudness comes from the pool bar owners, especially Myra who does seem to like the sound of her own voice. We didn't use the bar as it does seem to be very clicky.
The first week we did struggle for sunloungers. A lot of people put their towels on them and would then disappear till late afternoon. The second week was much better.
TV and Wi Fi has to be paid for but we didn't bother so not sure on the price. Plenty of bars and restaurants across the road in the Europa Centre have free Wi Fi.
The Buganvillas has a good sized pool area with well kept grounds. The apartments themselves are a decent size. Its just such a shame they have had no money spent on them.....all they need are a bit of TLC!
We feel we were ripped off and no way are these apartments worth what we paid for them.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back so didn't hear noise from Europa Centre we were near the pool bar so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 km away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,264 reviews
0.5 km away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#21 of 67 in Puerto Rico
487 reviews
0.5 km away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#26 of 67 in Puerto Rico
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#31 of 67 in Puerto Rico
337 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Altamadores
Hotel Altamadores
#14 of 67 in Puerto Rico
909 reviews
0.6 km away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#24 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Buganvillas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Buganvillas Apartments

Address: Avenida Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range: RM153 - RM248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Las Buganvillas Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Las Buganvillas Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing