We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
298
118
19
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
298
118
19
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak piecoffee machinemarket squarefriendly pubtraditional pubfull english breakfastclean roomsexcellent locationate herewould stay againgreat place to staycleveland waywarm welcomegood sizesunday lunchgreat roomvisiting helmsley
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, we stayed in rooms 1,2,3&5. The rooms are lovely very comfortable. The food was good, breakfast very nice. The staff very friendly a really nice pleasant stay.
Plentiful coffee and tea in the rooms.
Lovely fluffy towels in eat room.
Very tastefully decorated all original sash windows.
Originally a coach House and Inn on the main market square of Hemsley.
Excellent value for money.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Visited Helmsley on a coach and was wondering around when we wanted sorting to eat.So end up in The Royal Oak where we had a bite to eat and a beer. The food is tasty also the beer.Its a lovely old Pub well worth a look in.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mickyp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Situated in the main Market Place in Helmsley puts you in a good position to explore the County.
Pickering and the North Yorks Railway gives you good access to the coast by steam train. Well worth a day trip. The hotel itself is in the centre of the town but exercise caution when parking and take note of the hours of permitted parking. The hotel served good food both evening and at breakfast.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website and select the room most suited for your needs.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ebilli591377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Did not stay here put had two meals there. One was lasagne,the day after steak and ale pie. Lovely food, very tasty and the meat in the pie was excellent.well worth every penny.having said that it wasn't really expensive to start with. If in Helmsley again will certainly go here for food

Room Tip: Did not stay here
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ElaineJEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stayed for one night with my husband, the room was ok, clean and the coffee machine was nice but the bed was very hard and it was over priced for what it was. Unfortunately we couldn't go to bed till after 1am due to the loud music from the bar. The food was delicious, the parmo and pizza were very good and the staff were lovely. I wouldn't stay over again but I'd definitely go for food and drinks.

Room Tip: Room 5 is right above the noisy bar.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mandywalker2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews