We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Swan Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$430
US$416
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,767)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
1,006
441
185
95
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,006
441
185
95
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomafternoon teagallery restaurantfeature roombrown toiletriessix course tasting menusconesmarket squarelovely hotelevening mealbar areawedding partyrestaurant staffmarket menubottle of champagnespecial occasionlamb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I called in for a light meal in the tea room. Sophie and Catherine looked after us superbly. The menu selection was excellent; food was served quickly and was very tasty.
Definitely worth a trip.
GT

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review both of our tearoom and team. I will certainly pass your comments on to Sophie and Cat and am really pleased to hear they made your visit such an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in the suite with a little sitting room. It was very old worldly in furniture but fitter the hotel.
We had evening meal on the Sunday it was from what they call the market place menu which none of us thought much of it. The menu for the main course was not very good.
But we enjoyed the breakfast. The service was very good.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank susaneLs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit with us. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find anything to your liking on our market menu. We do have a number of menus available to offer our guests variety and choice as well as a bar menu for those wanting a lighter option to our restaurant offering. If you visit with us again please do ask about further menu options.
I will pass your comments about good service onto our team and we do hope to be welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As the title indicates we have known this hotel through many iterations for a long period of time. We went because of its friendliness, cosiness, comfort and food. It retains the friendliness; the local staff are superb at engaging with you, responding to requests and giving you a warm welcome. Last time we came the dinner was poor so on this occasion ate out in an evening. On this occasion breakfast also had deteriorated. The buffet table on day 1 was very poor. For example just a few pieces of fresh fruit swimming in syrup for the fresh fruit salad, insufficient for one serving and unreplenished. No natural yoghurt etc etc. This at the beginning of breakfast. The restaurant wasn’t busy but it took an age to take an order. Second day poached eggs cold. Toast not brought when requested. The maitre’d gave the impression he couldn’t be bothered whether people were served or not. He displayed little of the attention to detail we were used to previously. And a small point, table linen abandoned at breakfast. Not a necessity of course but a symptom of regression, and just makes the experience less special.
The room was one of the superior rooms and spacious. Entering a warm cosy room has always been a highlight of a trip here. However the bathroom was freezing, the sole towel radiator insufficient for the size of the bathroom. Extra heating was needed to keep the room warm, and it was appallingly situated on the ground floor, it’s only window completely overlooked by the new houses 8 or so yards away not to mention the main passage to the back door. All for £184 a night! Just to finish off, after a long walk in chilly weather you were normally greeted by a roaring fire in the entrance lounge. Not this time. Cosinesscomfort and good food were the Black Swans usp and it needs to return to that in my view.
This is poor value. The management needs to get a grip - the staff deserve it as well as guests.

Room Tip: Avoid room 41
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mark, I am genuinely disappointed to read your review and see how many areas you feel we fell short of the high standards we set ourselves. As I'm sure you will see when reading other reviews, this is very far from the norm, however we have clearly not delivered the stay you should expect. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in person, if I could trouble you to call the hotel and ask for the manager at your convenience as I would very much like the chance to restore your faith in us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The afternoon tea was of very good quality and had a good variety. Very tasty! The staff were very friendly, attentive and welcoming. I would definitely recommend to a friend and would visit again soon!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated. I will certainly pass your comments on to both our tearoom and kitchen teams and we look forward to welcoming you back with us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

100% recommend this place to eat. The food is fantastic and the staff are so warm and welcoming.
With me been a new Mum and unsure of breastfeeding in public Mandy one of the waitresses found us a table out of the way, where I was able to breastfeed with out worrying about other people.
The service was brill didn’t have to wait long at all.

Overall a fab day. Fab staff especially Mandy.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis_Rickelton, Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. I will definitely pass on to Mandy how helpful you found her and we are really pleased she helped to make your visit such a pleasant one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews