We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience.”
Review of Wookey Hole Caves

Wookey Hole Caves
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A series of caves that sheltered Stone Age people.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My friends and I drove into the muddy and wet car park. We struggled to find a parking space. Then we walked over to the entrance, which was very poorly sign posted. Then we paid £68 for 4 people which was outrageous. After that we queued for 30 minutes to get into the caves themselves. When we eventually got into the caves, there were screaming babies ruining the experience. We could not hear the tour guide at all, so we left after the first stop. Then we got some ice cream while my friend argued for a refund, which we got. Astonishingly, the man behind the counter who was serving the ice cream somehow cut his finger on it which we found astounding because of course we did not know you could cut yourself on a dairy product but we were proved wrong. Overall i would not recommend this place to anyone, especially under the age of 7 because you will ruin the experience for others.

1  Thank katym1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Katym1213,
Thank you for your review. Our beautiful caves are normally the highlight for our visitors, with the 40 minute guided tour, spectacular rock formations and informative experience. During peak times families do of course visit us, and love to expose their children to the wonders of our caves, this is a great experience for children and adults alike and one we feel does not need an age restriction. We do understand that sometimes noise can be frustrating on a tour, however this is at the discretion of the Guide and we do encourage visitors to listen and engage them as much as possible. You’ll be pleased to hear our staff member survived their injury, our staff are only human and accidents can happen. Your comments have been passed to the Operations Manager for consideration. Thank you once again for taking the time to give your review.

Wookey Hole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"circus show"
in 323 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 388 reviews
"penny arcade"
in 408 reviews
"paper making"
in 271 reviews
"dinosaur park"
in 110 reviews
"other attractions"
in 199 reviews
"soft play"
in 170 reviews
"local children"
in 36 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 51 reviews
"ice cream parlour"
in 67 reviews
"great family day"
in 58 reviews
"guided tour"
in 129 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 56 reviews
"year olds"
in 36 reviews
"cave aged cheese"
in 44 reviews
"arcade machines"
in 36 reviews
in 620 reviews

244 - 248 of 3,657 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Left feeling cheated, tired and just plain fed up. Dis-heartened is an understatement! We planned a fun filled day out and landed on going to Wookey Hole! Arrived, guide who gave us our tickets said the next tour of the caves would be ina5 minutes so if we headed up we would be just in time, only to find there's a giant queue that doesn't move... queued for ages is cold miserable weather. When we finally got in we were at the back of a large crowd and stood in the darkness for ages wondering what was going on. Couldn't see anything! Then as we walked slowly and awkwardly behind the crowd further into the caves realised that we were on a tour we just couldn't hear anything and had missed about 10 minutes. Tour was absolutely rubbish I'm sorry to say! Tour guide wasn't load enough and you could feel the tention building in others around you who began shouting "we can't hear you!" .. all the kids got bored so they began playing and making more house which made it harder again. I can see why they do a tough though.. it's to slow you down! Because if you were free to walk to the caves you'd be from start to finish in 10 minutes! They aren't very big!! Which makes you feel so conned spending £50 for a family of 3 for entry!!

Weird 4D show! What is that about?? Build up into about a bat and witch who's spell had gone wrong.. you go through to cinema to "escape" the witch.. the cinema plays .... Ice Age??? What???

On then to an exploitative horrible little cafe with machine coffees that are £2.40!! Cakes in packets that are £1.95 and sausage rolls that don't look that nice and are £3.15 each!!! Two people in front of me in the queue had 3 coffees and 3 sausage rolls and spend £17!!! Ouch!

By the time we got through that the circus showing had finished for the day.. but no one at any point said to us that if you do every attraction from the start, the circus would be over by the time you get there.. stupid!

Soft play was ok but then.. could have done that at home for 1/3 the price!

Weird actress witch goes around wearing cheap Halloween costume. If you've been to Disney then this will just feel tacky!

Everything is pretty warn and run down.
Gift shop had nothing cave related in it!! So weird!! Person who served us in the shop with red curly hair was really grumpy! Had a short temper and attitude problem!

If you want to see some good caves that you are free to explore go to Dan Yr Ogof! These are amazing!

We left, cokd, wet and £60 poorer... None of us wanted to go out for a nice dinner like we'd planned after we all just wanted to go home!!

Thank Siannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Siannie W,
Thank you for your recent review but what a shame you didn’t enjoy your visit, it is most unusual for visitors not to like anything at all. The cave tour is approximately 40 minutes, they are large caves and the tour takes in many chambers, including our newly opened chamber 20. We are sorry if you felt you did not enjoy the caves as you had expected, during holiday periods the tours are larger to accommodate our visitors, but this doesn’t usually compromise the quality of the tour. Our Guides are experienced and trained and normally receive such praise. The 4D cinema starts with a pre-show (Harold the Bat and the Witch) followed by our new film Ice Age ‘Dawn of the Dinosaurs’. This film is in keeping with our dinosaur theme in the Valley and we are very proud to be able to show case this. Our Restaurant is competitively priced and offers a range of refreshments, including home cooked dishes such as pies, lasagne, jacket potatoes, salads, sandwiches and more. We also have our Witch’s Kitchen serving snacks and drinks next to the play area.
When you visited, on arrival all visitors were given an information sheet with timings and a map – giving details of times of attractions including the circus show. Visitors usually head to the caves on arrival, but it is left to them to choose what they want to do and see and when. The ‘weird actress’ you refer to is our renowned Witch of Wookey Hole – a character who meets and greets families and ensures children are having a good time. We agree that Dan yr Ogof caves are amazing too. We also believe that we offer great value for money with over 20 attractions included in your ticket.
It would seem that whatever we have to offer here at Wookey Hole you would find something to complain about, but we understand that we cannot please everyone – everyone has a choice, and we strive to give as much information as possible on our website and leaflets so people can make an informed choice about where they choose to go.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give your review.

Wookey Hole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

website made the caves look amazing. In the middle of a very pretty village and plenty of free parking. Queue for tatty paper tickets then a ridiculous queue to get into caves. You can hire buggies for £10 but the caves are completely inappropriate for buggies you'd spend longer clipping the kids in and out of the buggy for them to be worth it. We came early on Good Friday and were probably the 2nd tour of the day so "only" queued for about 20 minutes to get in. When we came out the queue was ridiculous. Tour was too slow and very tedious. People chatting (not the guide's fault) but if they wan't people to listen they need mics. The information they gave could have been on plaques or a guidebook rather than a tour. I was bored out of my skull. Cost us nearly £50 for two adults and a 4 year old for the day. You can spend less than that and get a year's membership to SS Great Britain. The 4D cinema show was a whole world of weird. It's themed as a witches spell gone wrong but after a long introduction involving a witch and a bat you go into a cinema where they show Ice Age in 4D??? WTF? Our 4 year old loved the soft play and as we visited on a miserable rainy day it was a godsend. We had 2 sausage rolls and 2 cups of tea and it cost us over £10. The Victorian arcade is charming but I am sorry we came here. Filled a day but I'd have rather gone back to another museum in Bristol paid the same and had a better time. Don't go.

Thank alisonbielecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Alisonbielecka,
Thank you for your recent review and sorry to learn you felt your visit was boring – Wookey Hole is not normally described as boring, with over 20 attractions to make your way around, there is something for most age groups and interests, including the circus show, adventure golf, paper making demonstrations, caves and cave diving museums, mirror maze, new animatronic dinosaurs, dino dig and more. We hope you got to see and do all of these things. Our caves have over 200 steps throughout the tour, with uneven and sometimes slippery surfaces. We provide this information on our website and on arrival at the ticket desk. For those with young children and pushchairs, further details are given when purchasing tickets. We try to make the experience as accessible and easy as possible for all visitors, with the option of hiring a light-weight buggy or leaving their own buggy in a designated area. The 4D cinema is a huge hit with visitors, who welcome the chance to see different films through the year on repeat visits. We are sorry if you felt there was no link from the pre-show to the film, however the pre-show is linked to our caves and witch theme and the film is linked to our dinosaur valley. We are glad you enjoyed the wizard’s play castle, and also hope you saw the pirate zap zone too. We pride ourselves on the fact we offer something different – caves and a whole host of exciting attractions. We aim to introduce something new each year to keep the Park fresh and alive. Thank you once again for taking the time to give your review.

Wookey Hole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The kid's have always wanted to visit the cave's at Wookey Hole, so a trip was planned. After trying to get through small village of Wookey we were greeted with the start of our day. The sign at Wookey looked like it had been there since the day someone found the caves.

After being pointed in the direction of the friendly parking staff we started our day. As expected we were in a que straight away, this must be the smallest entrance booth I've ever seen. Supplied with what seems like the most incompetent staff ever, the attitude and lack of fun coming from the staff was a sign for the rest of the day.

Sit down a second before I break the worst part, 'IT'S SO EXPENSIVE' for a family of 4 it cost us £60.00 WTF. This better be amazeballs for this kind of entrance fee, so our journey began after I finished looking at the receipt that should be made of gold.

One thing I noticed was the lack of signs and structure around the complex, we walked around and around for what felt like the time it took to form the caves. Oddly I felt like I had seen nothing other than someone make a bit of paper and a load of crappy mannequins on a bit of string. Then there's the amusements, what a waste of time, what does this have to do with the caves, it just looked like a load of old crappy games. The kids thought the mirrors were fun but that was it.

The shows we wanted to see were rammed, or so we thought until we realised it was everyone who thought it was going to be good and then realising its not and trying to leave. Then there was the 3d cinema, this seemed like a good concept, bit of a long way of getting to the actual cinema but its tolerable. Until we were given the glasses which looked like they were from the 50s, dirty and scratched so bad you were lucky to see anything.

Which brings me to the caves, the first thing we were greeted with was the longest que ever. This is fine for me but the amount of Kids that were getting shouted at to stand still was shocking, this was pointless and could be thought about a bit more. I'd like to have seen someone chat to you on the way in or some form of entertainment to help pass the time.

Once inside the caves we loved it, seeing all the colours and the detailed speech from the staff was great. What i never understood though was the tour was quite quick, so why were we stood in the que for so long.

Other than that, if you want to look around some duff old amusements, have some old crappy signs lead you the wrong way and see a few caves after spending 3hrs in a que listening to parents tell the kids to shut up. Then this is the day out for you, or go to the beach and enjoy the sand.

1  Thank realreactionsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The caves here maybe in my top few favourites, me and my dad have been to most of the main show caves in Britain.
Definitely wear boots, or trainers, it is a bit of a steep walk to the cave entrance and inside can be slippy.
Do bring your camera, you will be amazed. I would say maybe 3 hours for the caves and other attractions, of which there are Dinosaurland; a mirrormaze; Victorian pier games; a caving museum; 4d cinema; and a crazy golf. A brilliant time to be had.

2  Thank fayesviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wookey Hole Caves also viewed


Been to Wookey Hole Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing